Customer Reviews for

The Navajo Code Talkers

Average Rating 3
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(11)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Brief and valuable !

EXCELLENT short (38pp) account ofthe who, what, why and how of the Codetalkers. Good solid start on this topic; I plan to share excerpts with my 4th graders.

posted by 18266028 on September 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

book or Article

I was surprised to see that the "book" was only 38 pages. subject was only partially covered and didn't satisfy. Big ripoff. Shame on B&N for charging for this "bbok"

posted by 263961 on September 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2012

    Brief and valuable !

    EXCELLENT short (38pp) account ofthe who, what, why and how of the Codetalkers. Good solid start on this topic; I plan to share excerpts with my 4th graders.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Words of War

    Compelling account of the code created by Native Americans that the Nazis could never break. This is a short eBook - what B&N calls a Snap. Recommended.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    highly recommended

    great read for the history buff.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    book or Article

    I was surprised to see that the "book" was only 38 pages. subject was only partially covered and didn't satisfy. Big ripoff. Shame on B&N for charging for this "bbok"

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Page Turner This article tells the story of the Navajo Code Tal

    Page Turner

    This article tells the story of the Navajo Code Talkers, who created a secret code the Germans were unable to break. Highly recommended, especially for readers who know nothing about this topic. Also, I'm a high-school teacher, and planning to use this book in one of my classes. It's well written, too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2013

    Just a pamphlet

    This is not a book; it is a brief pamphlet. No wonder B&N won't list the number of pages.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Very disappointing

    Too short. There was not enough detail. I thought it was an introductory chapter and it was the entire -- I can't call it a book -- the entire whatever it was. I don't know why the person wrote it the way he did. It was not worth the effort. Don't waste the 99 cents. It could be a very good nonfiction work for whomever wants to put the effort into it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    one star

    35 pages of nothing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    surprise

    Had no idea it was only 40 pages long

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    Should have readthe reviews first

    The history of the Code Talkers was well written but SHORT! What I thought was the introductory chapter was the whole book. Worth reading, but not paying for it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    EVERY ONE SHOULD READ THIS INCLUDEING STUDENTS

    VERY WELL WRITTEN. TO BAD IT MORE IN DEPTH

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2014

    Kate

    Hola. Anyone on?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Jill

    Appears

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2014

    Too short

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2013

    CLICK HERE, BOY!!!

    YOU LISTEN HERE AND YOU LISTEN GOOD OR ILL KICK YOUR FAT #%$ !!! Hi

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Click here to die

    Fuman

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Good Read

    interesting

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    A nice piece of work on a fascinating subject

    Well-written though pretty short. It comes a little closer to being an essay than a book. But I enjoyed it and would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2013

    Recommend.

    Very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    excellent book

    I had seen the movie awhile back but this goes so much more in depth

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2