Customer Reviews for

The New Encyclopedia of Modern Bodybuilding: The Bible of Bodybuilding, Fully Updated and Revis

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(46)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    If the info inside doesn't make you bigger, just start lifting the book!

    This book is exactly what it says it is- an encyclopedia. It is divided into no less than five "books." Measuring in at about one and a half inches thick, if the info contained inside doesn't help you get bigger, just try lifting the book! <BR/><BR/>A quick rundown of each chapter. The first book is basically an introduction to bodybuilding, covering a lot of miscellaneous, but important topics. The second book covers the training programs, the third the body part exercises, and the fourth book competing. The fifth and last book covers nutrition and diets. <BR/><BR/>As you can tell, there's really only one word to describe this book- comprehensive. Would have liked to see a little more on injuries, for example there only about a half page on shoulder injuries, but then again this isn't exactly a sports medicine book either. Weightlifters who have a shoulder problem or rotator cuff tear might also want to take a look at Treat Your Own Rotator Cuff.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2007

    If the info inside doesn't make you bigger, just start lifting the book.

    This book is exactly what it says it is- an encyclopedia. It is divided into no less than five 'books.' Measuring in at about one and a half inches thick, if the info contained inside doesn't help you get bigger, just try lifting the book! A quick rundown of each chapter. The first book is basically an introduction to bodybuilding, covering a lot of miscellaneous, but important topics. The second book covers the training programs, the third the body part exercises, and the fourth book competing. The fifth and last book covers nutrition and diets. As you can tell, there's really only one word to describe this book- comprehensive. Would have liked to see a little more on injuries, for example there only about a half page on shoulder injuries, but then again this isn't exactly a sports medicine book either.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    Amazing!!!!

    Iv always been into working out. After a while I noticed I haven't really gained anything. It the growing and getting stronger stopped. Then I came across this book and changed my whole workout program. Before I weighed 150. benching 235, dead lifting 360, and squat 315. Now with the guidence of this book I weigh 170. Benching 295, dead lifting 405, and squat 405! I feel amazing and love working out! This book is a must have for everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Best book ever

    These are the tried and true methods of the greatest bodybuilder of all time.. They work for him and many other great bodybuilders. Even if youre not into building huge muscles this book is still a must buy for all kinds of fitness knoledge. It worked for me, itll work for you too!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Good reference piece

    I workout for fitness not as much bodybuilding but this book has so much knowledge in it. I lways find myself referring to it when i hit a plateau or need to get those small muscle areas that are hard to hit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    The obvious choice book

    I have this book on paperback actually used to have it worked two jobs and went down hill trying to find the energy but when i used it with the right diet (that works for me) it was an awesome book a six pack in just a few months arms getting bigger and pumping my chest... it was just awesome supplements also helped everyone isnt built genetically the same so supplements can help take you a long way love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    If all else fails, not on this book!

    I've the first unrevised copy of this book as a guide to my first entry in bodybuilding. Now that I have the revised and updated version, this is one complete meal for a bodybuilder.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2008

    Very important reading

    After much trial and error with my own workout programs, I read this book and developed great technique and overall performance to get the maximum benefit of my workout. If you even 'think' that you are into bodybuilding or just to get ripped I recommend this book highly to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2006

    from a guy who loves to lift

    im not usually for reading books about getting bigger and having better workouts but my brother told me to pick this book up. when i finished this book i came out with a whole new program and perfected my diet. this book gives great advise on flexing,how to progress during workouts,and how to work on your diet so that ur muscles have to fuel they need to grow. since ive read this book i moved from 165 to 190 and went from benching 195 to 225. this book has really helped me to take my workouts to a new level of bodybuilding. for anyone looking for great ideas on how to take ur body to the next level this would be the book to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2005

    Very deep book, everything about the sport

    I originally bought this book because i enjoy weightlifting. This book appeared helpful, but as i read it i learned soooo much new stuff about bodybuilding and lifting in general. Its a very good book no matter who you are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2004

    Great Book All you Want to know and more

    This book is AWESOME! everything you need to know about weightlifting and fitness you could want. This book teaches you about every muscle in your body and how to work it out. Alot of the ideals are geared towards bodybuilders but well... look at the title. All the excercises can be adjusted to work for you and your level of dedication and strenght. There are routines already laid out for you or you can take the knowlage Arnold drops on you and create your own fitness and dieting routine. Great book. My friend has a copy of the original print from 1980 something and once I started reading it I had to have my own copy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2003

    The Culmination of all that is Great in Bodybuilding.

    I cannot tell you how much I use this amazing manuscript. It truly is the ultimate authority on bodybuilding. This book is an outstanding resource for all bodybuilders, young to very experienced. I would suggest this book to anyone who is even the least bit interested in building the human body. Arnold, you did well. Thanks

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2003

    A great book for a serious bodybuilder

    This is a great book for a serious bodybuilder. I have been training off and on for some years now. I decided to devote my full time to improving my health and physical look. This book ,without a doubt, has done wonders for me and my training.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2003

    What was expected.

    I believe the book was well writtin.It has great pictures, history of the sport, different meal plans as workout plans leveling them out.I'll agree the programs are a little more on the heavy side for advanced lifters but if you are serious about lifting your going to get to the advanced point sooner or later. It's a great motivation to any1 who is serious about lifting. And for anynone whos concerned about nutrition it gives plenty of info from vitamins@suppliments, to meal planning and more! All in all I was pleased money was well spent and its a good book for beginer or advanced lifters. It has enough information to satisfy you're hunger!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2003

    Believe whatever hype you want to believe

    ok scott, i agree with what most of what you have to say, but every other person who gave a review up to my entry here gave this book a 5 star rating, and obvioulsy no one else who reviewed it agreed with your statement about over training. just worry about yourself and let everyone speak for themselves, okay? thank you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2003

    This book is great ...a great read too

    I dont know what that steve systems analyst guy is talking about and he has no right to even say what hes saying he isnt an expert on the subject. I am no expert but i have used this book and am currently using the programs and they are working perfectly for me. Everything in this book is great....if u get a chance buy it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2003

    The Best

    This is the best workout book ever, thank you arnold.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2001

    DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE!

    Unfortunately, a great deal of what is wrong in the bodybuilding field can be found in this volume. It never ceases to amaze me just how little so-called professional bodybuilders actually know about building real muscle, as opposed to functionally useless pumped-up tissue. Although genetics play a vital role in the physical development of the pro bodybuilder, this subject is given short shrift in Ahhnold¿s book, and the rampant use of illegal steroids isn¿t even mentioned. Can anyone seriously look at the pictures of the bodybuilders working out and honestly claim that these men weren¿t on steroids when photographed? The saddest part of it all is that the general public will adhere to the ¿workout routines¿ given in the book as gospel, and fruitlessly work themselves into a state of over training as a result (you can refer to the other reviewers as my proof.) I can recommend this book for the sections on posing, and bodybuilding history, both of which I liked. The instructions describing how each exercise is performed are, for the most part, very good as well. Bottom line: The book is mainly useful to elite, genetically gifted and/or drug-assisted bodybuilders, and not the general public. If you¿re looking to build muscle the natural (old-fashioned) way, you¿d be much better off checking out the writings of Stuart Mc Robert.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2001

    From Beginner to Pro, Arnold sets it straight!

    This book is the best I have ever read on the subject, and for the price just can't be passed up! After going through this book I would pay four times as much for it. No other reference will be needed. I also was impressed with suggestions on how to improve weak spots as well as how to improve given my body type.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2001

    Best bodybuilding book I have read

    This book has everything need to know how to build muscle naturally. EXCELLENT, definitely money worth spent! Order it and try it out, and just skim through it. I don't know what else to say, but I am on the program in the book and works for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3