Customer Reviews for

The New Mediterranean Diet Cookbook: A Delicious Alternative for Lifelong Health

Average Rating 3
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great purchase

Although I'm not usually a fan of cookbooks without illustrations, this book makes up for it with excellent detailed directions plus a great history behind many of the recipes. Some take more time than I'd like but the wait is well worth it. The book puts a healthier,...
Although I'm not usually a fan of cookbooks without illustrations, this book makes up for it with excellent detailed directions plus a great history behind many of the recipes. Some take more time than I'd like but the wait is well worth it. The book puts a healthier, Mediterranean twist on American favorites such as pizzas, pastas and breads. In my opinion, a good purchase for anyone who loves to cook; seasoned chef or not.

posted by chefkrazz on May 15, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

One very important thing missing for this cook...

Cookbooks without pictures are a very unfortunate thing. I used to work in a bookstore and 9 out of 10 people I sold cookbooks to wouldn't buy one without illustrations. I ordered this one online, without even thinking of this aspect and was terribly disappointed when...
Cookbooks without pictures are a very unfortunate thing. I used to work in a bookstore and 9 out of 10 people I sold cookbooks to wouldn't buy one without illustrations. I ordered this one online, without even thinking of this aspect and was terribly disappointed when I received it. Just a note for those of you who, like myself, are visual cooks.

posted by vivagarlic on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    One very important thing missing for this cook...

    Cookbooks without pictures are a very unfortunate thing. I used to work in a bookstore and 9 out of 10 people I sold cookbooks to wouldn't buy one without illustrations. I ordered this one online, without even thinking of this aspect and was terribly disappointed when I received it. Just a note for those of you who, like myself, are visual cooks.

    23 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2009

    Great purchase

    Although I'm not usually a fan of cookbooks without illustrations, this book makes up for it with excellent detailed directions plus a great history behind many of the recipes. Some take more time than I'd like but the wait is well worth it. The book puts a healthier, Mediterranean twist on American favorites such as pizzas, pastas and breads. In my opinion, a good purchase for anyone who loves to cook; seasoned chef or not.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Excellent!

    I gave this cookbook to a friend as a gift and she loves it. She has cooked over 30 recipes from the book and she hasn't even had it for 2 months.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2009

    not worth the money if you are looking for recipes

    i expected a cookbook with a lot of recipes, but this book has fewer recipes and a lot of talking

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    Don't buy...

    Not consumer friendly. Recipes contain ingredients that are hard to find, or nearly impossible to find. This book doesn't contain recipes that you would want to repeat more than once. Not a book of recipes that is for the whole family.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 24, 2009

    Quite Pleasing

    It's been a long time since we have hosted a large-group dinner party, but it was now our turn to host. I was asked to pick a theme, I chose "An Italian Evening," knowing that it would NOT be spaghetti and meatballs, with a Caesar salad! I prepared the Gratin Seafood (using Salmon) with a risotto side dish. My friends were impressed with the meal's simplicity, its uniqueness AND its divine taste. I have truly enjoyed browsing through the book and learning new things. BON APPITETO!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 9, 2011

    Excellent cookbook

    I have thoroughly enjoyed this cookbook. The recipes are well written, and I have yet to try one that wasn't delicious. I have had no trouble finding ingredients, and many are right at the farmer's market. The recipes go beyond Italy & Greece, and encompass North African countries' cuisines as well.

    This is slow food at it's best, although it has quickly-prepared dishes as well. If you enjoy clipping recipes from your grocery store women's magazines, and are a frequent user of canned soups and convenience foods, this will be a real game changer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2010

    Gave as a gift

    My sister's doctor recommended that she start eating a Mediterranean diet. He told her that the Mediterranean diet is a healthy way to eat. The fats used in the Mediterranean diet are "good" fats. My sister was very pleased to receive this book. The cookbook is a combination cookbook and education about eating in the Mediterranean area. As my sister had no prior information on Mediterranean cooking, she has enjoyed the education portion of the cookbook. I wish it had included more illustrations. The book puts a healthier, Mediterranean twist on American favorites. In my opinion, a good purchase for anyone who loves to cook.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2010

    Not a Good Choice

    This book didn't deliver what I expected. I found it contained information that was unnecessary and not enough of the information I wanted. He definitely needs more practical everyday recipes. Certainly not worth the money.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    Good solid book for the Med diet

    I actually read it cover to cover, it is a combination cookbook and education about eating in the Mediterranean area. We have made several of the recipes, her description of them is easy to understand and use.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2010

    Excellent Cookbook

    Overall, a very unique and healthy cookbook.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2