Customer Reviews for

The Newcomer (Thunder Point Series #2)

Average Rating 4
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I read and adored The Wanderer, book one in the Thunder Point se

I read and adored The Wanderer, book one in the Thunder Point series, when I read it earlier this year. So when I learned that the series was to be continued in The Newcomer, I was so happy to be able to jump back into this series. What I loved most was that the story w...
I read and adored The Wanderer, book one in the Thunder Point series, when I read it earlier this year. So when I learned that the series was to be continued in The Newcomer, I was so happy to be able to jump back into this series. What I loved most was that the story was much bigger than I expected. So not only did I get a story about Coop (The Wanderer), but also a diverse and great cast of characters.

The Newcomer continued in that same vein. The Newcomer was not only about, well, the newcomer, but also revolved around the characters who made up book one. Which to be honest, I'm not sure how well this title represents the story because I'm not even sure "who" the newcomer was. Was it still talking about Coop, who by this point is an established member of the community? It's certainly not Mac, who by reading the synopsis, you would think it's about, and so maybe it's a character who came into the story later in the book, but wasn't a central character. I don't know, and I guess it doesn't matter because I adored the story. I just wanted to point out that the title doesn't really fit the story.

The Newcomer still centers around Coop and Sarah, who are still in love, but also establishing their relationship. Things are tough for the two in this book. Sarah is still raising her teenage brother, with a lot of help from Coop, who has a HUGE surprise in this story. The two also must make big decisions about their future. Along with those two, are Mac and Gina, whom I adore. These two have not allowed themselves to have love for so many years, and I loved seeing their relationship move forward while also dealing with the struggles of parenthood and former relationships.

What really surprised me about The Newcomer was that the teens of Thunder Point played a huge part in this book. I personally liked this for the most part, but I'm guessing that some readers who are looking for a more straightforward adult romance won't. I loved the prominent teen characters: Landon, Eve and Ashley. Landon is pretty dreamy and such a good kid. He's a great boyfriend to Eve and I loved their relationship. Ashley, pooooor Ashley. This girl had such a rough time in The Newcomer, but I appreciated the journey and it was an important message.

I admired how realistically Carr portrayed teen lives and relationships, particularly breakups and sexuality. One of the teens goes through a really bad breakup in the story, and the fall-out was pretty brutal. Mental health, sexting, online bullying, and the importance of teens having their own identity while being in a couple were all touched on, and rather well. And although the scenes were never in the story directly, these were teens who were either already sexually active or considering it in the near future. This brought up the importance of comfort in making decisions about the body, safety, knowledge, and communication. I kind of loved that this was all handled in a very even-handed manner. I will say there were times when the conversations between the characters about the topics did become overdone at points, and seemed a bit unrealistic. It was literally like a PSA.

I really enjoyed revisiting Thunder Point. The Newcomer was a good addition to the series, and definitely worked to move all of the characters and their stories ahead. The Hero is about a character introduced in The Newcomer, and I have a feeling his story will be another great Thunder Point book.

posted by Andreat78 on June 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

If this is your first Robyn Carr series, you'll probably enjoy i

If this is your first Robyn Carr series, you'll probably enjoy it very much, but it doesn't grab you the way the Virgin River series does. I very much appreciate the strong message about teen bullying in both books, but I just can't seem to get a handle on the characte...
If this is your first Robyn Carr series, you'll probably enjoy it very much, but it doesn't grab you the way the Virgin River series does. I very much appreciate the strong message about teen bullying in both books, but I just can't seem to get a handle on the characters, and there are a hell of a lot of 'em. Was this book about Coop and Sarah? About Gina and Mac? With the VR books, each was pretty clearly about one couple and you were treated to updates on the couples you'd met in previous books. A little frustrating in so much going on with everyone.

posted by Tracy_St_Davids on July 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Awesome!

    This book was just so profound to me! It had so many interwoven characters with their own stories to tell and to learn from their experiences. Everyone has a story to tell... some good, some bad. But it builds the character of who we really are inside. I truly loved this book! I highly recommend it. Just like the Virgin River series, this is shaping up to be another award winning series! Congrats to you Robyn for writing another true treasure!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    One of my favorate authors.............5 star.......Looks good;

    One of my favorate authors.............5 star.......Looks good; must read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2013

    Good story exciting

    The characters are so real

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Bio of sunclaw

    Name: Sunclaw. Gender: Male. Age: One year. Current position: Warrior. Appearance: Bright orange with white face, paws, and tail tip. Green eyes. Crush: Why should I tell you? Ask me yourself. Mate: None. Kits: None. History: At first, deputy of Stormclan, quit when every one was inactive. Also was deputy of Eternityclan. Quit. Was clanless and survived on his own in the wild, before joining Thunderclan. Personality: Cheerful, good fighter, faithful to clan and warrior code, good leader. Signature: ~<Sunclaw>~

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Sparrowlily

    Sparrowlily• She-cat•• Warrior••• A light coffee brown she-cat with white dots sprinkled around her nose an don her paws and ankels, and a bit on her lower leg•• Loyal, nice, brave, careing, easy going, but, can put up a fight• No mate•• No crush••• No kits•• Mystery age••• Smiles for everyone :D

    •Sparrowlily•

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Primkit's bio

    &star &hearts Primkits bio &hearts &star<p>
    Age- 4 moons<p>
    &star &hearts &star &hearts &star &hearts &star &hearts &star <p>
    Looks- tourtisheshell shekit with pinkkishgrey paws, a black tail and blue/gray eyes.<p>
    &hearts &star &hearts &star &hearts &star &hearts &star &hearts <p>
    Personallity-shy, loyal, grumpy, and is easlyoffended.<p>
    Mate/kits- N O no<p>
    Crush- mabe<p>
    History- ask<p>
    Kin- MOUTHER - &hearts Rushfur FARTHER- &star Mouenose. SISTER- Rubykit Brouther- hawkpelt Aunts- Darkkit and Shadowkit (most of them are dead.)<p>
    &star &hearts &star &hearts &star &hearts &star &hearts &star &hearts &star &hearts <p>
    Theme song- raor by katy perry (?)<p>
    All done<p>
    &star Primkit &hearts

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Flintflame

    Name:Flintflame. Gender: tom Appearence: black fur with noticable bright green eyes. Mate/crush: nope. History: he's grown up in three different Clans. As a kit, he was in a prophecy that still hasn't happened. Other: He has a secret power.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2013

    Excellent Read!!!!  Recommend Highly!!

    Excellent Read!!!!  Recommend Highly!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 28, 2013

    I fell in love with Robyn's books with the Virgin River series a

    I fell in love with Robyn's books with the Virgin River series and wanted to move there and get to live with those people, now I want to move to Thunder Point and live there. What a choice mountains or ocean. The characters are so real that you want to meet them and sit down and just visit, the setting seems idyllic and it is hard to wait for the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    Love it

    I love this author and this series. I absolutly can't wait for "The Hero" to come out. I've got to find out what Cooper and Sarah decide, and how things work out for Mac and Gina, and do Ashley and Frank move past friends! I do admit that I keep hoping for a visit from Virgin River, though.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Many of our friends at Thunder Point are about to face unexpecte

    Many of our friends at Thunder Point are about to face unexpected challenges and The Newcomer gives us a front row seat. 

    Sarah is up for transfer and wonders how she will be able to transplant Landon in his senior year of high school or leave Cooper. Cooper has a life altering circumstance to face and his decision will effect his life forever. 

    Mac and Gina are in love but they are about to face old demons from the past and situations beyond their control. 

    First loves will be tested, some will make it and some end in tragic heartbreak. Can true love overcome? You're going to have to check out The Newcomer and find out, I'm so glad I did!

    Robyn Carr writes books that make you feel like you are coming home. Heartwarming, sincere, real characters that become friends from the moment you open the pages of her books. Emotionally captivated to every up and down in the character's lives, The Newcomer is a journey of love, heartache and growth. Brilliant writing Robyn Carr, you captured the soul of a small Oregon town and poured it into this fabulous book for us to share.

    This ARC copy of The Newcomer was given to me by Harlequin MIRA in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication June 25, 2013.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    I absolutely love Robyn Carr's stories about Thunder Point. I don't want them to ever end. Look forward to the next in the series. There is some romance, but so much of it is a story that wants a person to just keep reading. Look forward to the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    very good book!

    book was better than expected; i havent read any of robyn carr's books before and will start reading more of hers. the way she has the characters all intertwined and u can just feel the chemistry. must read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Must read!

    Robyn Carr has done it again! Another must read series. I can't wait for the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Newcomer is book 2 of Thunder Point series and you if you li

    The Newcomer is book 2 of Thunder Point series and you if you like Robin Carr's Virgin River Series you will love this series. Mac &amp; Gina have to decide when is the right time to get married and Mac is thrown for a loop when is ex-wife comes back in the picture after 10 years.
    Sarah and Coop are both having to make like changing decision and they wonder their love for each other will get them through.


    I liked that the book centered on the teens and addressed issues that our children are currently dealing with. Robin Carr's books make you want to curl up in front of the fire and read your day away. As always I finished The Newcomer wanting to move to the small town of Thunder Point. This book will leave you feeling warm and fuzzy and wanting to read more about the residents of Thunder Point. I am so glad I read this book and I highly recommend it to all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2013

    very good

    Love the book, keep writing like this love it!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    Cinderpaw

    "I'm going back to camp.." he mewed quietly. He padded away carefully.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Fawn

    She follows letting her lean on her sholder

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Still reading...

    Having a hard time keeping up with all the various trauma going on with the characters...hoping it will straighten out soon.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Fallowkit

    Name: Fallowkit Age: 2 moons Gender: She-cat Clan: Thunderclan Rank: Kit Kin: Unknown Mates/Crush/Kits: None Appearance: Light brown tabby with sapphire colored eyes Personality: Playful, Caring, Bold, Outgoing and Loyal Theme: Radioactive History: I lived my parents and two brothers close two moons when I wandered off in the forest and zi got lost for a few days before I stumbled upon Thenderclan who let me join....will be continued

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4