Customer Reviews for

The Next Best Thing: A Novel

Average Rating 3
( 127 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(29)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Ruthie has her own body image issues, owing to a horrific child

 Ruthie has her own body image issues, owing to a horrific childhood car crash that left her orphaned and scarred in more ways than one. Fortunately, Ruthie was raised by a loving grandmother that saw her through years of painful reconstructive surgeries, during which t...
 Ruthie has her own body image issues, owing to a horrific childhood car crash that left her orphaned and scarred in more ways than one. Fortunately, Ruthie was raised by a loving grandmother that saw her through years of painful reconstructive surgeries, during which the two of them found comfort in television shows like The Golden Girls.  Like most Wiener novels, there's a delectable romantic subplot. Jennifer Weiner writes protagonists you want to be friends with, and perfectly imperfect men you could absolutely fall in love with. Along the way, she pokes plenty of fun at Hollywood, and several well-known and loosely-veiled celebrities. Personally, as a childless reader, I always enjoy the novels that DON'T deal with motherhood the most, and The Next Best Thing was a big hit with me. The Hollywood fantasy of it all harkened back to her blockbuster debut, Good in Bed. And the ending was just perfect! I think this latest novel is one of Jennifer Weiner's very best.        

posted by XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX on September 29, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

What a disappointment

I have read all of Jennifer Weiner's novels. The Next Best Thing was not worth the read. The author repeated exact lines and characters from other novels she has written. It was like a re-read. In this novel, I felt that the author "pushed the envelope to the edge" with...
I have read all of Jennifer Weiner's novels. The Next Best Thing was not worth the read. The author repeated exact lines and characters from other novels she has written. It was like a re-read. In this novel, I felt that the author "pushed the envelope to the edge" with soft core pornography, which was not in previous reads. Not worth the money or the wait!!! Jennifer seems to be recycling.

posted by 10625979 on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    It's clear that this book is at least partially autobiographical

    It's clear that this book is at least partially autobiographical - Jennifer Weiner created, wrote & executive produced the ABC Family show State of Georgia. It featured Georgia, a young aspiring actress & her oversexed great aunt Honey who raised her after Georgia's mother died. Georgia was played by Raven Simone, who underwent a huge weight loss just prior to the show's airing. I enjoyed TNBT a lot more after this realization, but other than that not Weiner's best work.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Not as good as Weiner's Past Books

    A sitcom showrunner finds the road to her first series launch much rockier than expected. When Ruth Saunders gets "the call" from the network telling her that her original series, The Next Best Thing, is a go, at first she is incredulous. Although she's served her time in a writers' room, she never expected to sell her autobiographical concept about a young woman, Daphne, and her grandmother, Nanna Trudy, who move to Miami to seek their fortunes. Ruth moved to Hollywood with her grandmother, Rae, and they've both enjoyed success, Ruth as a comedy writer and Rae as an extra. Rae raised Ruth from toddlerhood after a car crash killed her parents and disfigured Ruth. (Even after multiple surgeries, one side of Ruth's face is badly scarred.) After Ruth is hired as an assistant to two writer-producers, Big Dave and Little Dave, they help her develop and pitch her own show. I enjoyed the first part with the grandmother as humorous; however, as the book moves on, not a lot of substance and a let down from Weiner's previous books. "

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2012

    Quick read, entertaining. Interesting to read how a sitcom can

    Quick read, entertaining. Interesting to read how a sitcom can get made and ruined. Felt like the book could have been about 100 pages longer. Maybe a sequel to let us know how everything turned out?!?!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What Could Be Better Than Creating Your Own Show? What would you

    What Could Be Better Than Creating Your Own Show?
    What would you do if the network finally offered you your own show? Ruth Saunders found herself about experience the highlight of her career.
    Synopsis:
    Ruth Saunders is a television writer who has decided to go west with her grandma to write for television shows in Hollywood and maybe create her own? The move proves to be a good one for both of the ladies. Grandma finds work as a bit actor on many different shows. Ruth is moving her way up the ladder working on various shows. This work leads her to the Daves who offer not only a job but help to move forward with her ultimate goal her own show. Ruth has an idea which the Daves help her to foster and make it to the network. She thinks she has hit it big until the network comes forward with all these changes. Will Ruth acquiesce or make stand for her show? Could the show play a bigger role in her life than what she thought?
    My Thoughts:
    I will say that I liked this novel. I felt that there were some great moments but I occasionally found myself losing interest. I loved how she contrasted the characters of Ruth and Little Dave with the Hollywood actors that appeared on the Next Best Thing. The author in subtle ways compared the glamour the actors to everyday norms. Jennifer wrote this novel during time of developing The State of Georgia. I wondered how much of her experience might have made it into the novel. Overall this novel is enjoyable and I loved the ending!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Emerald Arbor

    I enjoyed the overall storyline and getting to know the characters but I felt it lacked some umph...especially at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    Just okay...

    This book was chosen by my book club. I was excited to read it because the other women in the book club had read many of her books and said that she was great!! I was a little disappointed... but I plan on giving Jennifer Weiner another chance!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2012

    Good book

    Not my favorite, but certainly worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    Poor Author

    I feel bad for Her. Her last name is WEINER. Ouch.

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    Fair

    Not as good as Good in Bed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Fun, easy read

    If you are looking for a book that is a fast read and not too thought-provoking this should be a contender. It's about a girl who is a writer in Hollywood--interesting mix of show-biz and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    This was better than her last book.

    This was better than her last book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 29 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2