Customer Reviews for

The Next Best Thing: A Novel

Average Rating 3
( 124 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(29)

2 Star

(16)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Summer reading must!

After reading "Swim," I had to know the whole story. I really enjoyed this book. Great characters and plot. I can't wait to read what comes next.

posted by 18086035 on July 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

What a disappointment

I have read all of Jennifer Weiner's novels. The Next Best Thing was not worth the read. The author repeated exact lines and characters from other novels she has written. It was like a re-read. In this novel, I felt that the author "pushed the envelope to the edge" with...
I have read all of Jennifer Weiner's novels. The Next Best Thing was not worth the read. The author repeated exact lines and characters from other novels she has written. It was like a re-read. In this novel, I felt that the author "pushed the envelope to the edge" with soft core pornography, which was not in previous reads. Not worth the money or the wait!!! Jennifer seems to be recycling.

posted by 10625979 on July 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Summer reading must!

    After reading "Swim," I had to know the whole story. I really enjoyed this book. Great characters and plot. I can't wait to read what comes next.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Good

    Good

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    I love Jen Weiner books, and this was no exception. I especially

    I love Jen Weiner books, and this was no exception. I especially loved the fact that she used her own experience from her TV show. Revenge is sweet! I was disappointed that she decided to include such graphic sexual scenes. They certainly weren't necessary. Forced on her because of 50 Shades of Gray?

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    Fun and light

    Not my fave jennifer weiner but fun quick read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    This is the second book by Jennifer Weiner that I have read. A c

    This is the second book by Jennifer Weiner that I have read. A co-worker recommended her books to me. I loved the book. Ruth is a wonderful character. She knows she is flawed physically and in other ways as well. She is a 'real' person trying to be successful in the 'fake' world of Hollywood where everyone is beautiful. From the moment Ruth gets the call telling her that the television show she created is going to be made though the process of making the show to the final outcome of the show we ride the Hollywood roller coaster with Ruth. Ruth is frustrated at every step as she sees her show changed by the powers-that-be in Hollywood until it is no longer the story she created. Along the way she also copes with her grandmother's impending marriage and the ups and downs of her own love life. I loved the end-no spoilers. It is an entertaining book with a main character that you want to see find success and happiness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    One of my faves from her!

    I enjoy most of her books but this is my favorite in a while. Enjoyed thoroughly!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book touched me in many ways┬┐the bond between grandmother &

    This book touched me in many ways…the bond between grandmother & granddaughter, heading out west for a new adventure. That it is set in the snarling hills of Hollywood only adds to the fun.
    Ruthie finds herself at 23 wanting more out of life. When she was very young her and her parents were in a terrible car crash, she survived but with disfiguring scars on her face and her heart. Her beloved Grandmother has always been there for her so the two of them decide to head to Hollywood and see if Ruthie’s love of the written word can make them rich. Six years later she gets a sitcom and what follows is a romp through the silly, selfish and so very shallow world of actors, producers, directors and rewrites. Ruthie finds love, heartbreak and grandma finds another husband and through it all they never lose each other. A fun, tender & very real look inside the not so very real Hollywood
    I have enjoyed all Jennifer’s books and I resent them being called “chick Lit’” as a derogatory term. Do we call books on sports or cars “dude lit?”…. just saying

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2013

    Great story!

    This was a great story. I loved the ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Mind blowing

    One of the best books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    Good read

    I love Jennifer Weiners books. I've read five of them and two shorts stories. This one is not my favorite but still a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Really enjoyed it!

    It had been a while since I'd read any book by J. Weiner. I don't know why I let so much time pass. I always enjoy her books and there's always more than meets the eye to them. This one was no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2012

    I am a fan

    I decided to read this after reading Good in Bed which I loved and the short story Swim that was the precursor to this book. I have become a fan and will probably read all her books. Weiner writes about average women, which I can relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Good book especially if ur tv person

    Good book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Entertaining easy read

    The story is fun and entertaining in this quick and easy read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2012

    There's a slow start here, but this book picks up and reminds yo

    There's a slow start here, but this book picks up and reminds you why you enjoy Jennifer Weiner. By mid-book, I couldn't put it down.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed Ruth's story. She is a strong female character


    I really enjoyed Ruth's story. She is a strong female character who has had a run of bad luck, both professionally and romantically, but she does not let it get her down. The supporting cast of characters are just as refreshing as Ruth herself. First there is her Grandma, then there are her bosses, "The Daves" and of course the interesting cast of actors that will be starring in the Ruth's television show. The "romantic" part of the story is just as sweet and fresh as you would expect from Jennifer Weiner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    Must read

    Im on a Jennifer Weiner kick right now so if course I had to check this one out! GREAT summer read, I coouldnt put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2