Customer Reviews for

The Night Is Alive

Average Rating 4
( 37 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

For anyone that knows me they know I love Heather Graham's books

For anyone that knows me they know I love Heather Graham's books and while this one is no exception it is also one of my favorites so far. I think all the Krewe books are great and interesting. But this one drew me in more than the others. I loved the backdrop and ba...
For anyone that knows me they know I love Heather Graham's books and while this one is no exception it is also one of my favorites so far. I think all the Krewe books are great and interesting. But this one drew me in more than the others. I loved the backdrop and background she included and the setting was well detailed and described so it almost became its own character in the story. Along with pieces of the history that has taken place in Savannah you could really envision the locations where the story took place.

The mystery was intriguing and kept me guessing. I thought the main characters had a great history and development. And watching them learn to trust each other and learn to get along and work together provided a great piece to the story. The secondary characters as well were interesting and some played a key part in the story. Also it was nice to see some of the other Krewe members make an appearance.

As I said the mystery was well developed and played perfectly with the setting. We were kept guessing with the characters as to who did it all the way up to the end. And it was definitely a complete surprise.

The Krewe books are some of my favorites and I look forward to the next one. Anyone who hasn't read them yet should definitely start. And you can start anywhere with them, while characters might reoccur, the current story is completely contained in each individual book.

posted by donnas1 on July 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Disappointed

Am I the only one who is confused? I keep waiting for the next Krewe to be put together, but we are only getting one or two characters per book. I enjoyed the story and the two leads, but kept wanting the whole new Krewe. Maybe the next book will have what I'm lookin...
Am I the only one who is confused? I keep waiting for the next Krewe to be put together, but we are only getting one or two characters per book. I enjoyed the story and the two leads, but kept wanting the whole new Krewe. Maybe the next book will have what I'm looking for. :'(

posted by 2361250 on August 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    For anyone that knows me they know I love Heather Graham's books

    For anyone that knows me they know I love Heather Graham's books and while this one is no exception it is also one of my favorites so far. I think all the Krewe books are great and interesting. But this one drew me in more than the others. I loved the backdrop and background she included and the setting was well detailed and described so it almost became its own character in the story. Along with pieces of the history that has taken place in Savannah you could really envision the locations where the story took place.

    The mystery was intriguing and kept me guessing. I thought the main characters had a great history and development. And watching them learn to trust each other and learn to get along and work together provided a great piece to the story. The secondary characters as well were interesting and some played a key part in the story. Also it was nice to see some of the other Krewe members make an appearance.

    As I said the mystery was well developed and played perfectly with the setting. We were kept guessing with the characters as to who did it all the way up to the end. And it was definitely a complete surprise.

    The Krewe books are some of my favorites and I look forward to the next one. Anyone who hasn't read them yet should definitely start. And you can start anywhere with them, while characters might reoccur, the current story is completely contained in each individual book.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2013

    I enjoy Heather Graham Krewe of Hunters series. They are a myst


    I enjoy Heather Graham Krewe of Hunters series. They are a mystery with FBI agents that all have extra senses to solve their cases. So they have romance, murder mystery, ghosts and in this story pirates.
    The Night is Alive is a good mixture of history of Savannah, pirates, ghosts and a modern day problems.
    There was a few love scenes that I skipped over. I enjoyed reading it.

    Abigail is a strong female character. She just finished her FBI training and is waiting to be assigned to where she will be working. Her grandfather Gus called and asked her to come home. He has a problem he does not want to discuss on the phone. Since Abigail was young she has seen her family ghost when their is a problem the famous pirate Blue Anderson.
    Gus is her last living relative. She can't find him in his bar or in the apartment of above it. She does see Blue and follows him down to the underground tunnels and finds her 90 year old grandfather dead. She tries to convince local police it was murder. No one believes her so she emails FBI Agent Krewe and tells him that there is a family ghost, murder victims and asks for help.

    Malachi Gordon has been sent by Krewe to see if their is a case that the FBI should be working especially one with their talents. Malachi is thinking of joining the FBI and becoming on of Krewe's Hunters. Malachi can see and talk to ghosts. He used to be a policeman and quit and became a P.I.
    because he does not have to explain how he knows extra stuff. Malachi has been a widower for 5 years.

    The cop in charge of the murders just happens to be ex-partner of Malachi's when they both worked in New Orleans police department. He knows the extra that Malachi comes up with and is willing to work with him.
    Abigail's family have lived and owned the tavern Dragonslayer since 1750s. The kidnappings and murders seem to be around her area. The latest missing female was last seen at the bar. The bar is a pirate bar wearing costumes and on weekends pirates fights. The tunnel is supposed to be locked but Abby found it unlocked.
    A lot of the story happens on a pirate ship, in tunnels under Savannah and in the tavern. I really like the fun and scary mixture of the story settings. I was still guessing who the murder was till he revealed himself.
    A couple of scenes with the ghost of pirate Blue Anderson and other ghosts were moving or funny. The ghost characters were fun to read about and learn about the history and what is going on now and in the past.
    I was given this ebook to read and asked to give honest review of it by Netgalley.
    publication: July 30th 2013 by Harlequin MIRA 384 pages ISBN:9780778315070)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2013

    Another great book from Heather Graham!

    I loved it! Finished it in one sitting! It has the perfect mixture of romance, the paranormal and history that Graham does so well! I have the next book in this series on pre-order and can't wait to read it! Thumbs up to you, Ms. Graham!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Great

    Love this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Heather Graham's The Night is Alive

    I love Heathe Graham's paranormal books!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2013

    Disappointed

    Am I the only one who is confused? I keep waiting for the next Krewe to be put together, but we are only getting one or two characters per book. I enjoyed the story and the two leads, but kept wanting the whole new Krewe. Maybe the next book will have what I'm looking for. :'(

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2013

    A awesome book

    By the cover of the book i wont say tht it looks good and by the comments the is going to be awesome

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Mystery, suspense and ghosts. Savannah is one of my favorite pla

    Mystery, suspense and ghosts. Savannah is one of my favorite places.  The book is set in the city with ghosts from the past. The FBI has a paranormal investigation division seldom known about.  The well rounded character of the granddaughter meets up with a stranger who is a consultant to this division. Both have paranormal experience that help them solve the crimes being actively committed, and at the same time, getting to know each other well. The loyalty to each other and the department plus their attitudes is honor bound and compelling. A refreshing new look of trust to co-workers and working together in that environment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2014

    Good read

    Love the addition to the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Awesome

    I absolutely loved it.....Heather Graham continues to write literary works of art with her latest Krewe of Hunters novels.... I am never disappointed with her novels...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    Great read

    I really enjoyed this book and went back and purchased other books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Great read

    This for me was a great read....couldn't put it down....it had all the elements i love in a book....exciment, mystery and romance....nice work by the author.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2013

    Great Book !! True Heather Graham Style

    Couldn't put book down . Love the "Krewe of Hunters ". Can't hardly wait to get my hands on the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    Good read

    I love Heather Graham books and i love this series. I like how she adds people from story to story and then they always come back. Its a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Highly recommend !

    Great story! A page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Paranormal? Of course!

    This book falls right in with the rest of the series. It is a quick and fun read. Good for a rainy weekend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    great read!

    I love heather grahams books, especially the krewe of hunters book. This book was a really great read. I loved the story and the history mixtured.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    Excellent as usual

    This is excellent background description, drama to the end,tasteful romance. Great as all the kreweof hunters have been

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Good,but not her best

    I usually love her books, but this one didn't quite measure up......ending was a bit strange.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2013

    Great addition to Krewe

    I will freely admit that I'm a huge fan of all the Krewe books and Heather Graham in general. Like all of the previous Krewe books the ghosts are interesting but not nearly as terrifying a the living. The villain is one of the most terrifying because you really aren't sure who it is till the end and the reasons behind the killings are never fully worked out which to me makes it terrifyingly real. The characters are all interesting and it looks like this is the beginning of another group of Krewe members. I loved the main characters but I feel the romance was a little rushed. Abigail comes off as a little immature at first but you have to remember she is by far the youngest Krewe member to date. Fortunately, Malachi balances her out and it will be fun to see these two build another great series of books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2