Customer Reviews for

The Night Ranger (John Wells Series #7)

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Another very good read in the John Wells series...

Another very good read in the John Wells series...

posted by tankinmd on March 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Snowpaw

Listen...i think its grt but it needs more action. It needs some BAM! The heartfelt parts are good too. Keep it up.

posted by Anonymous on February 14, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Another very good read in the John Wells series...

    Another very good read in the John Wells series...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    Excellent book. Nice plot, with the story taking place in Africa

    Excellent book. Nice plot, with the story taking place in Africa. I thought it was a great read. Can't wait for the next one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Night Ranger by Alex BerenĀ­son is a ficĀ­tional book in the J

    The Night Ranger by Alex Beren­son is a fic­tional book in the John Welles series. This is the sev­enth book in the series, how­ever it can be read as a stand­alone novel.

    Four col­lege grad­u­ates vol­un­teer at a refugee camp for Soma­lis in Kenya. After a few weeks they go on a vaca­tion and dis­ap­pear. The hijack­ers demand huge amounts of ran­som from the families.

    One of the kid­napped girls is a friend of John Wells’ son, as a per­sonal favor he trav­els to East Africa to track the four Amer­i­cans. Wells has to nav­i­gate com­plex African local pol­i­tics, com­plex Amer­i­can national pol­i­tics as well as deal with the thugs on the ground in order to try and res­cue the volunteers.

    I’ve been intro­duced to Alex Berenson’s writ­ing and John Wells char­ac­ter in the first book The Faith­ful Spy which I enjoyed very much. I haven’t read the other books in the series but I did get my hands on The Night Ranger which I also enjoyed.

    The book is a fast read with plenty of action (much of it plau­si­ble) and a great plot which man­aged to sur­prise me a few times. The story man­ages to weave both the com­plex­i­ties of pol­i­tics as well as every­day life in Africa into a smooth narrative.

    The book ended abruptly, not in mid-sentence but it’s almost as if the author was try­ing to wrap things up neatly as quickly as pos­si­ble. The end­ing did not deter me from enjoy­ing the book, but I thought I should men­tion it.

    I like the char­ac­ter of John Wells very much, he is a sim­ple man who is com­plex at times (much like many of us). Wells is not a super-man, he gets hurt, he makes mis­takes, has com­plex rela­tion­ship with co work­ers and has to make choices which are the lesser of two evils.

    Another excit­ing book from Berenson’s pen, the set­tings, descrip­tions and char­ac­ters make a great thriller with fast nar­ra­tive which is dif­fi­cult to put down. Slowly but surely Alex Beren­son is cement­ing him­self as one of the top authors in his genre.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2013

    Love all His Books

    I love all of Berenson's books...he can't write anything bad...have read them all!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    excellent

    excellent

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    For me Alex Berenson quickly joined the list of authors that are

    For me Alex Berenson quickly joined the list of authors that are must reads for me. The John Wells character that he created has grown in to one where I want  to know what is going to happen to him and that keeps me coming back for more.
    While there might not be as much action as in previous books, TNR is still a page turner that I couldn't put down and I also loved the free short story about the kidnapping that was released earlier. It got my juices flowing and when TNR was available, I was excited to dive right in.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    Kat

    As usual,just excellent. Keep them coming with this quality, and we will keep on buying. Great read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Jaysoar

    I will love to read more!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Cottondusk

    Bravo! On-core!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2013

    Ghost 6

    "What about the Beyond?" Night inquired.
    "Don't you see?" Ghosts voice was worried, "Tigerstar is going to recruit cats from the Beyond. We must warn the clans. And we must at least try to help the beyond," she glanced at Night, "you can contact them right?"
    "Well, um, no." Night admitted timidly, "you see the cats of the Beyond visit when they choose, i dont have power over them."
    Ghost hung her head in what looked like defeat but when she lifted her head to stare back at him her eyes were hard with determination.
    "We must still warn the clans," she said bruskly.
    "You do realize that i am not familiar with clan territory right?" Night asked.
    "And?" Ghost challenged, "you must at least know where the clans reside."
    "Well yes," he admitted, "they live over that ridge," he motioned with his tail,"and down by a lake."
    "Alright," she said, "lead the way."
    "Before we go you should know one thing," night warned her.
    "What?" Her eyes seared his pelt.
    "I lied, i know the clan territory, i dont believe in starclan, i still believe in the beyond, but i am the son of the clans' enemy. My father was a cat named Sol." PLZ REVIEW CH 7 WILL B REALEASED SOON!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Rider

    Lucy please forgive me im sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    Rider

    Okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Lucy

    It is fine." She walked out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2014

    Good

    Delivered another great Wells adventure

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    Must Buy, Must Read!

    I enjoy the John Wells series. I look forward to reading each new book as it is released. This is a series worth following.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2013

    good read

    Very good mystery, I will read some of his other books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    A must read for John Wells readers.

    Berenson's books keep getting better. John Wells comes alive, guns drawn, jaw set, out to rescue American volunteers kidnapped in Africa's dangerous Somalia/Kenya border region. Exciting, fast-paced romp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2013

    Fox &alpha

    U here squirt?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2013

    Welcome to....

    Saban's Power rangers Megaforce rp. Im Gia the yellow ranger. Bios at power res 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Night Ranger

    Plodding read, anticlimatic. Would not recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 41 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3