Customer Reviews for

The Night Is Mine

Average Rating 4
( 52 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend. The story is wonderful!

I can't even say why I bought this book...OK maybe the cover...but I am sure glad I did. The story was GREAT. Not good, GREAT! From the first chapter you will love Emily who is a dedicated army aviator. You'll root for Mark, her CO a tough guy, cracker Jack pilot, a...
I can't even say why I bought this book...OK maybe the cover...but I am sure glad I did. The story was GREAT. Not good, GREAT! From the first chapter you will love Emily who is a dedicated army aviator. You'll root for Mark, her CO a tough guy, cracker Jack pilot, and loyal protector.

The other characters in the book are well developed and enjoyable. I found myself laughing and crying during the book. Witty interactions, enough intrigue too keep my turning the page on my nook until I was finished.

I can't wait for the next book!

posted by TKsBaskets on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

So-so

I loved the plot. And i loved the heroine. She was badass. Those are the sole reasons i gave this book 3 stars. It's the writing style i didn't like. It did not flow. Much of it was difficult to understand. Not the military speak, that was enjoyable. It was just the sty...
I loved the plot. And i loved the heroine. She was badass. Those are the sole reasons i gave this book 3 stars. It's the writing style i didn't like. It did not flow. Much of it was difficult to understand. Not the military speak, that was enjoyable. It was just the style of writing i couldn't get. The love/sex scences were lacking, i never knew if they had completed the task (so to speak). I will not be reading the next one.

posted by 9394860 on March 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    So-so

    I loved the plot. And i loved the heroine. She was badass. Those are the sole reasons i gave this book 3 stars. It's the writing style i didn't like. It did not flow. Much of it was difficult to understand. Not the military speak, that was enjoyable. It was just the style of writing i couldn't get. The love/sex scences were lacking, i never knew if they had completed the task (so to speak). I will not be reading the next one.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Highly Recommend. The story is wonderful!

    I can't even say why I bought this book...OK maybe the cover...but I am sure glad I did. The story was GREAT. Not good, GREAT! From the first chapter you will love Emily who is a dedicated army aviator. You'll root for Mark, her CO a tough guy, cracker Jack pilot, and loyal protector.

    The other characters in the book are well developed and enjoyable. I found myself laughing and crying during the book. Witty interactions, enough intrigue too keep my turning the page on my nook until I was finished.

    I can't wait for the next book!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Boring!

    I bought this book based on all the glowing reviews. I found the heroine Emily to be stretched on the imagination. The story hopped around so much and way to much helo detail. I definetely will not buy the other in the series. Take my advice don't go by just the reviews.....some could be planted.....read the sample first!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Magnificent

    Reviewed By~Desere
    Review Copy Provided By~Netgalley

    This was one really hot action packed military book! Really adored it, I have a strong love for military novels and this one did not disappoint. The secrets, the suspense and the romance just all rocked in every sense of the word.

    The explosive feelings between Mark and Emily blew me away. I would never have expected the book to have such a awesome twist I really did not see it coming. I loved that Mark is this really scary but at the same time a to-die-for hot hero, where as Emily is your not to screw with heroine (even Mark learns that the hard way).

    I particularly liked learning about the flying side of the missions, the author incorporated the details of the aircraft. I have read too many military books where they focus so much on the characters and tend to leave out the interesting parts like types of aircraft, weapon details and location details.

    I would recommend The Night is Mine to any fan of romance and military action!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    The Night is Mine is a fast paced thrill ride of action and roma

    The Night is Mine is a fast paced thrill ride of action and romance taking readers from the sweltering deserts of Afghanistan to the dazzling glitters of the White House.

    Emily Beale is the first woman SOAR pilot and she is determined to prove that she has what it takes. Not shying away from the risky missions, she gets her crew in and out of tight situations with a cool head quickly earning the respect of her fellow soldiers and her hard-ass but sexy commanding officer, The Viper. When she is shipped out and away from her unit for a covert mission in the White House though, her world is turned upside down. Masquerading as the First Lady’s chef and personal bodyguard, Emily must find the traitor who is after the First Lady. But what she finds instead could be even more dangerous; deception, intrigue and betrayal run rampant through these gilded halls and not everyone will make it out unscathed.
    Major Mark Henderson, a.k.a. The Viper, is a top-notch pilot and runs his unit like a well oiled machine. With his cool attitude, mirrored Ray Bans and sparse compliments, Mark has strived to treat Emily like any other of his soldiers, pushing her to be her best and has never been disappointed. He knows the attraction he feels for her can never be acknowledge unless he wants to see himself court marshaled. When Emily is sent packing on a mysterious mission though Mark refuses to sit idly by while one of his own gets thrown to the dogs. Pulling in every favor her can, Mark takes a leave and follows Emily D.C. Posing as her boyfriend, he has no clue to what he’s about to wade into but Mark refuses to leave Emily floundering by herself. Little did either of them know that they’d see more action state side then they ever saw in Afghanistan.
    Passion flares and danger ignites, can Emily and Mark discover the supposed traitor before they succeed in taking the First Lady’s life? And if they can make it out of this mission alive, a relationship with her commanding officer if still against the rules, will Emily even be able to return to the unit she thinks of as home after all is said and done?

    The Night is Mine is my first read from a male romantic suspense author and I have to say, I loved it! The story kept me hooked the entire time; the author provided plenty of action to keep my excited, twists that kept me guessing and romance that had my heart pounding.

    The characters of the story were in depth and endearing. The hero and heroine, Emily and Mark, were both kick ass characters that balanced each other perfectly. I enjoyed all of Emily’s dimensions; she was a well developed heroine with a solid history that plays into the current plot. With an F.B.I. director for a father, a socialite mother and a childhood crush for the boy next-door who turns out to be the President of the United States of America and husband to the woman she is assigned to protect, you can imagine how all those little points can come into play in this story of political intrigue. Throw in her amazing chopper flying skills as well as her knowledge of weaponry and hand-to-hand combat, good looks and culinary skills and you have someone who will give even Lara Croft a run for her money!

    And then there’s Mark, the alpha in charge with a surly attitude that surprisingly let’s Emily do her own thing without getting in her way. That’s not to say he’s happy with it all but he supports her no questions asked. But he also has this super sweet side that you get a first glimpse of when Emily is injured. Strong, sexy and swoon worthy, this hero is sure to capture female reader’s hearts. The relationship that unfolds between Emily and Mark was smoothly written and captivating and the love scenes were good but lacked detail. The kind of detail that smutty girls like me crave! I think that would be the only difference that I found from reading a male romance author versus a female one.

    I would have liked to see more from the SOAR unit in the story, and yes, the main plot and eventual villain was unrealistic but nether-the-less entertaining. Like I said, it kept me hooked. And the cover? That adds a star all its own. Haha, just kidding. The Night is Mine was a fun action-packed read and as long as you don’t put too much into the actual realism of it and just enjoy the ride, you’re sure to love the romantic suspense. After all, this is fiction. I’m looking forward to the next installment, I Own the Dawn. (August 2012)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    Loved the strong female character. Great dialogue! Can't wait fo

    Loved the strong female character. Great dialogue! Can't wait for the next in the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I am thrilled to have found this author. Great plot, great char

    I am thrilled to have found this author. Great plot, great characters, and great writing!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    Great action scenes; nice pace

    Loved it. It moved at a good pace and kept my interest the entire time. Great series! Highly recommend if you like military romance with an actual plot to follow.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    The Night is Mine

    4.5 stars only because I wish the romance scenes were a bit more detailed and I wish I understood half of what was being talked about.
    With that I'm not saying the book was written poorly or was too confusing (it was very well written, a bit choppy tho), I just wish I knew more about the military, politics, and planes/helicopters now. Along with being pretty informative (like I said I have no idea what most of those planes and procedures are), the action scenes were very descriptive. My favorite scene had to be when Emily was sparring with the head of the Secret Service. It was awesome, I was on the edge of my seat the whole time!
    Like previous reviewers I was pleasantly surprised that this was written by a male author. I feel like the male characters' POV was better written than what you get from most female authors because you're actually seeing inside a male mind. He also did an awesome job with the female characters. Emily is an absolute badass, yet he was able to capture rare emotions from her that made her human and made her female. I would definutely read more from this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Fantastic

    Very reviting...kept me awake, did not want to put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    really good

    loved the strong characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 28, 2012

    very interesting book. Check it out, you will enjoy it.

    This book was very entertaining and an excellent read. The writer has a great imagination and put through a positive story line. I would buy more of her books. I hope you will check this book out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2012

    I enjoyed this series. Loved the characters and thought it was

    I enjoyed this series. Loved the characters and thought it was a great story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    Engrossing story - well-developed plot, wonderful characters and

    Engrossing story - well-developed plot, wonderful characters and great dialogue. While fairly technical, that information doesn't overwhelm the story and makes for interesting reading about the war in Afganistan. Look forward to upcoming books in the Nightstalkers series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Enjoyed the story line of this book. It is the first book in the Nightstalkers series. This story is a little different for most military romance/suspense stories. The main character is a woman. She is the first female to fly and command the Army's newest Special Ops helicopter. Good character development for all characters . A lot of action and a good love story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Hard to follow....

    I found the sequence of events extremely hard to follow...i would walk away from the book and found it hard to return to. I like main characters I only wish the author wrote more clearly......honestly very disappointing.... my worst read this summer.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Loved it!

    Based on the descriptions, I thought I'd like the 2nd book in the Night Stalker series better, however this is the one I'd read again. Really fun suspense, action and romance. I loved the characters and the unbelievable plot. My only complaint, the author uses too many words to tell us what the characters are thinking/feeling...makes the dialogue a bit choppy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Slow going

    It doesn't suck, but it reads more like a military instruction manual and it was slow going on action and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2012

    What a great book! I loved the twists and it was suspenseful wit

    What a great book! I loved the twists and it was suspenseful without
    being overly so. The romance was really sweet and it was nice that there
    was not just sex without relationship and build up in the story. I also
    liked that the love scenes were very tasteful and not so explicit. The
    physical part of their relationship is more implied than directly
    spelled out - which is nice, IMO. Great Book and I have already read
    the second. Will keep an eye out for further releases from the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2012

    Ok, first off the plot was highly unlikely and the heroine somew

    Ok, first off the plot was highly unlikely and the heroine somewhat unbelievable. And it's a romance written by a guy. So few guys do it well. And yet I have to admit I enjoyed the book, improbable or not, and am looking forward to the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 52 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3