BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Nightmare: A Novel

Average Rating 4.5
( 33 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

It must be somewhat of a nightmare for an author to sit down an


It must be somewhat of a nightmare for an author to sit down and contemplate how to create a follow-up novel to one as successful as The Hypnotist. But that is exactly what faced the team writing under the nom de plume Lars Kepler. So they wrote “The Nightmare,” in w...

It must be somewhat of a nightmare for an author to sit down and contemplate how to create a follow-up novel to one as successful as The Hypnotist. But that is exactly what faced the team writing under the nom de plume Lars Kepler. So they wrote “The Nightmare,” in which they again feature the Finnish-born protagonist, Swedish Detective Inspector Joona Linna.

The novel is not only a fast-paced procedural, but an action-filled suspense story. The plot centers on the corruption of the system by the extreme profitability of selling arms and ammunition to troubled nations and warring factions. The story begins when Linna investigates the strange death of the director responsible for allowing Swedish exports of armaments.

A wide assortment of characters is portrayed vividly, with a truly evil mastermind behind the murders, kidnappings and crimes keeping Linnaand his police counterparts hopping. It is a riveting story, with an intensity forcing the reader to continue turning the nearly 500 pages. Written with passion, it is a book which is highly recommended,

posted by tedfeit0 on January 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not half as good as hypnotist

Improbable plot and long drawn out narrative. Couldn't wait to finish this dreck. Unsatifying ending that clearly sets us up for another book. No thanks. I'm not falling for it and purchasing the next book. Clearly The Hypnotist was a fluke or written by someone else.

posted by 8488179 on November 9, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    It must be somewhat of a nightmare for an author to sit down an


    It must be somewhat of a nightmare for an author to sit down and contemplate how to create a follow-up novel to one as successful as The Hypnotist. But that is exactly what faced the team writing under the nom de plume Lars Kepler. So they wrote “The Nightmare,” in which they again feature the Finnish-born protagonist, Swedish Detective Inspector Joona Linna.

    The novel is not only a fast-paced procedural, but an action-filled suspense story. The plot centers on the corruption of the system by the extreme profitability of selling arms and ammunition to troubled nations and warring factions. The story begins when Linna investigates the strange death of the director responsible for allowing Swedish exports of armaments.

    A wide assortment of characters is portrayed vividly, with a truly evil mastermind behind the murders, kidnappings and crimes keeping Linnaand his police counterparts hopping. It is a riveting story, with an intensity forcing the reader to continue turning the nearly 500 pages. Written with passion, it is a book which is highly recommended,

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    An author you won't want to miss

    I am not sure how I missed Lars Kepler but I certainly won't stop buying their books now. This is a man and wife writing under this name. Non-stop suspense and could not put down. I am a fan you can be sure. The Hypnotist is being made into a movie. I just wish it was in English. Both The Nightmare and the Hypnotist are a read until the end suspense. I can't wait for their new book, The Fire Witness due out in July. Explosive fiction at its best.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    Advid reader

    This has to be the most thrilling book I've read in a long time. Finished in one day.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2012

    Can't Wait for the Next One!!!

    This one's even better than The Hypnotist and think the series thus far is every bit as good as the Millenium series by Larssen!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    The beggining of the end chapter four-the exe war's effect

    Zay sat in his apartment thinking about the war...zay:*in his mind* zays father:dang!! Another soldier dead!! Scrave:time to give it up!!*stabs zays brother* zays bro:zay...*dies* zay:*cries* waaaaaaah bruber!! Zays dad:you son of a....you killed my son!!! Now ill kill you!!*kills a million out of the billion soldiers there* zay:*laughs and sticks his tounge out at scrave* scrave:pesky little runt! Zay:*plays with moonshadow* moonshadow:laughs at zay (present zay) i was just a kid...me and moonshad didnt know what was goin on until my father had thrown me onto tails lab...i had lost conciousness...i was awoken after a year by a drooling monkey...that turned into my first dinner...heh..(want to here more? Well too bad! Wait until tomorrow!)

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Two Worlds Clash: Chapter Two - Peach's Castle

    Nintendo- It was a perfect day in nintendo, the sky was flawlessly blue, the land was not burning, and there was no sight of Bowser. Mario was out checking for enemies, Peach and Toadeyte were cleaning the castle, Toad was with Mario Luigi was, well, he was just being Luigi. <br>
    Luigi had just picked up a fireflower amd was taking it to Mario. "Mario will just love this flower, i just know it!"<br>
    Toad had wandered away from Mario and was trying to find his way back to Mario. He was walking up the hill when Luigi ran into him. "Hey! Watch where you are going!" Toad exclaimed.<br>
    "Sorry. It's just that i found this fireflower and I know Mario will want it." Luigi said and he started up the hill again. Toad followed him. When they got to the top, Mario was already at the bottom. "Hey bro! Catch!" Luigi trew the flower at Mario and he caught it.<br>
    Mario turned around and started running. He tripped over a rock and got up. "Dumb rock," he mummbled as he kicked it. He started running again till he saw a 'crab'. "Wow. Bowsers henchmen are looking more and more mechanical." He looked closer. "Wait a minute. That is mechanical." He started running again. This time a 'hornet' flew past him. "This must be the strangest day ever."<p>

    (Like this please say so. I want to continue iit.)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Tails

    Go for it zay!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2013

    The rise of exe chapter 2:the solution?

    Behind him, a human, member of G.U.N., overheard him an walked to him. "Interesting. How far are you willing to go to get stronger?" Sonic looked at the two men "ill do anything to get strong enough to protect the people i love." The man nodded. "Good. Because we might be able to help." Amy gasped "really?" The man nodded. Sonic thought. Then he says "im listening." The man answers "the government was workin on a project. It involves chging computer data into dna and is possible to use it to give a boost." Snic grins "thats awesome!" He hugs amy in happiness. Amy blushes, clearly happy. Then sonic pulls away. The man says "well its not tested so there may be some problems, some glitches..." sonic laughs "who cares? Lets do it!" (Kinda short chapter, but it leads to next chapter. So keep following th story!)

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2013

    Very Highly Recommended

    If you like a mystery, you will love The Nightmare. Lots of twists and turns that come together in the end. I love Joona Linna's personality. Had a hard time putting this book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Selena

    May i join

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2013

    Fiona

    Can i join? Sorry i already posted in the first res cuz i didnt realize we had to ask here...

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    Cali

    Says really quiet......can u /feel/ flashbacks?

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    M

    Mistyfeather pads back to camp.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Mark

    Geez why didnt you say you had super powers. Btw mistyfeather ur kits are not left behind. Gtg sorry

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2012

    Starkit

    *she follows*

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Good read

    Loved both the hypnotist and this. Really kept interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    Great sequel to The Hypnotist! Characters well developed and plo

    Great sequel to The Hypnotist! Characters well developed and plot very intriguing. Not sure where the confusion comes in as per one of the reviewers post. Wouldn't be surprised if it's made into a movie like The Hypnotist is. Highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2