Customer Reviews for

The Nightmare Affair (Arkwell Academy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Nightmare Affair made me smile all the way through this fant

    The Nightmare Affair made me smile all the way through this fantastic novel. Mindee Arnett didn't hold back on the fun with these wonderful characters, or the intriguing, mysterious supernatural storyline. I fell in love with the main character Destiny (Dusty) Everhart, who is a Nancy Drew mystery solver of the supernatural kind. Dusty is head strong and a little klutzy with a quick, sassy mouth always ready with a sarcastic remark. And I also love her for not taking crap from the other snotty upper class Magickind. Arnett as a writer has awesome writing talent for humor and wonderful characters. She sucked me into this suspense mystery of who did it, and a swoony romance. I’m so looking forward to the sequel!

    Dusty is a dream-walker. She’s the one who feeds off your dreams and gives you scary nightmares. And she just started school for the Magickind at Arkwell Academy after she came into her dream-walking power. Dusty has enough problems in her sixteen year old life, and they just got bigger after she dream-walks into Eli Booker's dream and sees Rosemary (a girl from school) dead. Now the Magickind council is saying Dusty also has the dream seer power and it only works with the gorgeous hottie human Eli who is to be her partner, after his dreams are the only ones she can feed on to try to find the killer. Dusty’s best friend Selene, who's a tough-girl tomboy, is rebelling against her beautiful, alluring siren’s life. Dusty and Selene are great together as best friends, but add hottie Eli and, oh yeah, one more gorgeous guy Paul, and you got one heck of a lot of fun with teenagers trying to solve this mystery and some great romances.

    The Nightmare Affair is a hilariously fun mystery with teenagers who can solve crime with supernatural magic powers and have a gushing romance on the side. I highly recommend The Nightmare Affair as must read!

    My Favorite Quotes:
    "I must say, Dusty, one of these days your tongue is going to dig its way right into your grave," said Marrow.
    I sighed. " I know. I don't mean to. My mouth just works independent of my brain sometimes."

    I'd been sitting here trying to visualize myself a Veronica Mars, all smart and badass. But in reality, I felt more like Inspector Gadget with my go-go button stuck in neutral.

    "I think it's time for you to go." He drummed his fingers on the table, a scowl on his face. "Why? You afraid your date is going to see us and get mad or something?"
    "No, but your is."
    Eli looked over his shoulder. "Crap."

    "Geez," I said, looking back at Selene. "Is being at the top of the social food chain like a universal birthright or something?"
    She grimaced. "I think there's a national registry. It's online at eatcrap-dotcom."

    Okay, so mouthing off to the sheriff wasn't my smartest decision of the night, but I couldn't help it. Smartassitis might not be a clinically defined disease, but it should be.

    Paul came over and gave Eli a hard look before fixing his gaze on me. "Are you all right? I was worried when I couldn't find you. Let me help." He reached for my arm.
    Eli pushed him off. "I've got her.
    Paul glowered, his hands curling into fists, but before he could do anything, Marrow and Brackenberry came over to us.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2014

    I loved this book!

    That's it. Read the book to find out. Its definately worth the small amount of money, if you like unscary supernatural books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    Good book that reminds me a mix of........Monster High (a school

    Good book that reminds me a mix of........Monster High (a school with wizards, faeries, sirens, etc) and Harry Potter (how they take classes to learn spells and history while having students who are half or  'ordinary'/ kids who dont have magical powers,  legacy families and their influence on their magical community ) and the adventure how the main character and her friends are trying to find out the killer of the murders at school, kind of that adventure you get from Harry Potter. Def. recommend this book if you want that kind of mystery and adventure!. Did not know this is a trilogy, cant wait for more! :) 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Great story

    A wonderful read. It takes supernatural YA stories out of the norm with a really great twist.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I have a certain fascination with mythical creatures, re-telling

    I have a certain fascination with mythical creatures, re-tellings and unique plot lines. 'The Nightmare Affair' was a book that met all of the above. There has been an influx of the same, familiar mythical creatures in many of the books I have read and it was nice to read one that I had never imagined being in existence.

    Imagine knowing that you had to sit on the chest of your crush and suck his dreams from him, turning something sweet and innocent into something nasty and horrible - and very awkward. Especially if he knows you're there. Dusty was a Nightmare who faced that very situation and her 'victim' was Eli, the crush she'd had at her previous school. 

    Dusty was a likable character. She was down-to-earth, friendly and courageous when she needed to be. She didn't have a hero-complex and knew how to work in a team. She wasn't a success at everything and she had her faults. She reminded me of a teenager, albeit one with rather unique abilities. Her relationships with people seemed to work, although I would have preferred a closer mother/daughter bond. I know the reason why they couldn't have one though - it wouldn't haven't worked for the plot.

    Eli was rather special to me too. He was resentful that he had been drawn into a situation that he never signed up for, but I liked that. I liked that he didn't immediately accept what had happened to him. He was a steadying influence, and despite his attraction to another girl, he was always there when he needed to be. He was a normal character in a mystical world. 

    Dusty's world was compelling and exciting, with that undertone of realism. It's based in a school, but I honestly think that for this novel to work it had to be. I really loved that there was a mixture of mythical creatures there. And the legend that unfolded the further I read on was fantastic. If it hadn't been for a v-log review I'd seen on this book I wouldn't have realized it was there until I'd read it. It's an action-packed fantasy complete with a murder mystery. If you're a lover of both these genres then it really is the best of both worlds.

    I also enjoyed the character voices, writing and the flow of the book. It was a book that I couldn't put down and I went through wide range of emotions while I was reading it. I loved books that can do that to me.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who likes the above - a paranormal book that has a lot of murder mystery action.  

    Book review by Sandy at Magical Manuscripts

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2013

    I really loved The Nightmare Affair. This is a very unique and n

    I really loved The Nightmare Affair. This is a very unique and new topic of Nightmares and I think it was very well done. I loved all of the characters and I especially loved Eli's character. The plot of the story was very good and I liked that there were so many twists and turns. I hate when you can solve mysteries before the end and I didn't figure out the bad guy until the characters did, so it was great and well planned. I absolutely loved the cover. It played a very key role on why I decided to request this novel. Overall very well done book and I highly suggest everyone check it out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 19, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Dusty Everhart is half human and half magickind, more specifical

    Dusty Everhart is half human and half magickind, more specifically, she is half Nightmare. She feeds on nightmares in order to survive. Other than that she is your typical 16-year old girl with school work and a crush on Eli Booker who ends up being her next nightmare to feed on. But, Eli’s nightmares of murder start to come true. Even worse, he is dreaming of Arkwell, a place for magickind, and a place Eli should not know about. Now Dusty must figure out how to help solve the mystery, help Eli without giving away who she is and hopefully get the boy. 
    The book is face-paced, original and fun! The author has a great voice that holds humor and a wonderful cadence and imagination. This is a young adult novel, but no doubt adults will enjoy this book as well. 
    The author herself has a website that shows off her imagination and sense of humor as well.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I absolutely loved this book.  It is one of the funnest books I

    I absolutely loved this book.  It is one of the funnest books I have read lately.  Destiny "Dusty" Everhart is 16 years old and she is a Nightmare, well half Nightmare and half human.  Nightmares are magical people who feed on others dreams.  Actually they feed on the fictus - the things dreams are made of.  Her mom Moira was a Nightmare and her dad was human. After her powers appeared, she began attending Arkwell Academy, a school for the magickind.  There are all sorts of magickind at Arkwell - sirens, werewolves, demons, witches, warlocks, etc.  All the magickind are controlled by "The Will," a spell that has been set in place for a long, long time that keeps them from using their magic to harm others and to have them do what is required/expected of them.  One night as Dusty was going to dream-feed, led my "The Will," she just happened to climb in the window of a boy from her old school, Eli Booker.  Eli Booker is the hottest of all hotties from Dusty's old school, with the whole bad boy vibe and everything going on.  When Dusty dream feeds, she sits across the chest of the person she is feeding from, puts her fingers on their forehead, and enters their dream with them.  Needless to say, Eli's hottie status had her a little "anxious" though she wasn't sure if her heart palpitations were coming from fear or something else, as she sat across his chest.  One important rule that must be followed when Nightmares dream-feed is that they must not touch or be touched in the dream by the person whose dream they have entered.  It immediately kicks them out of the dream and the person wakes up.  

    As I said above, this was one of the funnest books I have read in quite a while.  I was sucked into the story from the very beginning and completely absorbed in it until the end.  I loved the plot, which was original, entertaining and creative.  I especially loved the characters.  Dusty was a hoot.  She is funny, sarcastic, very strong-willed, and very stubborn.  I loved Eli to, he is definitely a hottie and I loved seeing the way his and Dusty's relationship grew from hate, to friends, to more, and how protective he was of her.  The secondary characters were just as entertaining, and there were quite a few, all of which were well written and fun to get to know.  The Nightmare Affair has magic, mystery, conspiracy, danger, fun, and romance.  This combination sets the stage for an entertaining and captivating read, which I thoroughly enjoyed and would definitely recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2013

    Thanks Tor Teen for providing me with this ARC in exchange for a

    Thanks Tor Teen for providing me with this ARC in exchange for a honest review.
    I wanted so badly to love The Nightmare Affair. A pretty and unique cover – paired with a synopsis boasting mystery, humor and romance – how could I not be intrigued. Unfortunately The Nightmare Affair‘s outer appearance turned out to be deceiving. Yes, there was mystery, humor and romance, but these elements correspondingly felt flat, overdone and non-existent. I knew this book would be supernatural through-and-through with the setting taking place at a school for magic-folk. In the beginning I welcomed this new world. I was excited to see Arnett’s take on what it seems to be a pretty popular YA setting these days. You’re given a lot of world building info in the beginning, which I found hard to digest. There was just too much too soon. Werewolves, hags, dreamseerers and moody electronics, are but the tip of iceberg when it comes to The Nightmare Affair‘s world. Every time a new concept was introduced or revelation produced, my memory struggled even more to keep up. Although it takes place in the real world with “ordinary” folk, The Nightmare Affair pushes into the high-fantasy category by integrating so many new magical concepts, places and events. This world was too complicated for me to keep up with, especially with the constant flow of new info. I enjoyed Dusty’s witty sarcasm, but that’s about it. She had a very contradicting personality that I found grating. Both Dusty and her mother are nightmares – a rare, powerful and despised race. Dusty’s mother is practically famous for her reputation of out-of-control, dangerous and rule breaking stunts. Most, if not all students and adults are afraid of and loathe Dusty’s mother. Dusty was very fickle when it came to her mom. Sometimes she hated her mother’s reputation, other times, she used it to her own advantage. I personally never formed an opinion of Dusty’s mom, because she never stuck around long enough for one to get a feel. The same can be said of the rest of the characters. Their appearances were flighty. The Nightmare Affair is very much a murder mystery, having started with the mysterious death of a popular and pretty girl. Very cliched, I know. Dusty’s Nancy Drew habits could have turned this book towards the road to awesome, unfortunately a lot came over to blatantly obvious. Everyone appeared too suspicious. There wasn’t any “out of left field” surprises. The big reveal came and went with little to no exclamation from me. To be quite honest, I don’t believe I would purchase the second book in this series. It wasn’t really the firework I was looking for. I would however contemplate borrowing or checking it out of the library just to curb what’s left of my curiosity.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    A magical read that will capture the imagination despite its flaws!

    I was really happy to read The Nightmare Affair because the idea of boarding schools, murder and paranormal entities gets me excited. I sort of figured that this would be a cross between The Raven Boys and Harry Potter and for the most part, it was. But while Arkwell Academy is like Hogwarts for all manner of paranormal beings, the book lacked that certain mystical aura that Rowling and Stiefvater both managed to create in their series. It's not to say I didn't get a kick out of the book, because I did, I guess I was just hoping for something with a little more oomph. What I liked most about this book was the overall concept and the fact that Arnett was not afraid to go to a darker place with it. The murders were gruesome (to a point) and the action was weirdly suspensful. Arnett manages to blend reality and magic in a fairly seamless way so that the reader is able to get a clear vision of world she's created. She takes liberties in using just about every mythical creature you could want or need, from sirens to witches to fairies and oracles. She even took a gamble in making nightmares a magical being--- one that paid off. Her world-building is a lot of fun, especially the part where inanimate objects take on a life of their own and develop their own interesting personalities. But where I think the world-building excelled, there were some parts about how the magic worked in this world that could've been a bit more clear. I think my biggest issue with the book, though, was that the big twist at the end could have been stronger. It was frustrating because Dusty didn't pick up on all the obvious hints throughout and by the end, I was a little let down. It's disappointing when you guess who the bad guy is and, in this case, what type of creature they are before the intended reveal. Overall, I really did think The Nightmare Affair was an enjoyable albeit predictable book with a solid plot and some serious series potential.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1