Customer Reviews for

The No Spin Zone: Confrontations with the Powerful and Famous in America

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2010

    Caution You Are About to Enter the No Spin Zone

    "Caution! You are about to enter the No Spin Zone." Over the years, influential journalists have begun or ended their broadcasts with a signature. It could be anything from Edward Morrow's farewell wish of "Good Night, and Good Luck" to Bill O'Reilly's warning, when he looks straight into the camera, as if he, himself, could see each and every one of his viewers and says, "Caution! You are about to enter the No Spin Zone." The Emmy winning Fox News analyst, explains in his second of eight novels,The Zone is a place where spinners are not welcome. "It's a nightmare for charlatans and deceivers," a place where liars, cheaters, stealers, and fakes are exposed and only the honest man remains to get his beliefs across to the American public. On his TV show The O'Reilly Factor, the No Spin Zone is a place where free debate is welcome and both sides to every issue are shown. O'Reilly is a fierce debater and loyal to his beliefs, but he is respectful as long as what his opponent says is not said in a manner of deceit. In his book O'Reilly discusses over a dozen different issues facing America today. From the death penalty and sexual education to censorship in journalism and taxes O'reilly has "confrontations with the powerful and famous in America." His views do not reflect the beliefs of a sole party, corporation, or organization; they are soley his In this fair, but blunt novel on the common man's view of America, both sides to every issue are represented, O'Reilly's most common saying being, "you decide." The No Spin Zone is an educating, fun, easy read on what O'Reilly feels are our country's most pressing problems. The book is for both independent voters and republicans alike, O'Reilly supporting issues from both sides and, through interviews, allowing his opponent to share the opposing side leaving democrats and liberals represented but often contradicted. The big issues facing America today do not all have to do with politics and scandals. In fact nearly half the issues in this novel have to do with issues concerning families and children. O'Reilly discusses the impact drug abusing celebrities have on today's children, and how music that contains drugs, sex, alcohol, disrespect and hate is tainting the views of the young listeners. He debates on the influence the television media has over the youth as well as the war on drugs and substance abusers. He speaks up for working mothers and discusses the worries parents have, "about their children being abducted or abused," O'Reilly also discusses "spinners" in a few of his chapters. He shares his disgust of Bill Clinton over his in-office affair as well as the fact that he lied on national television and his wife Hilary who throughout her election, "refused to participate in any of the tough interviews." He discusses Jesse Jackson, the charity founder whose funds are being misreported and who has only given slivers of his fundraised money to the proposed cause of education. He opposed Al Sharpton who frequently felt the need to boycott and protests over race issues such as the amount of African Americans Burger King employs. These people would be classified under both "powerful and famous" and "charlatans and deceivers", the combination O'Reilly is the most disgusted with. Although the book was not solely about hot political issues, O'Reilly did include two he

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2007

    a simple fix to secure our border.

    The fairest solution to this over publicizeded debate. But since it is based on common sense it has no chance to be seen by the Congress. I suggest you put it in the form of a petition, downloadable off your web site, with a printable list of people to send it to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2004

    Enter at your own risk

    Bill O¿Reilly lets people enter the No Spin Zone and discuss their side of an issue. If they have a valid point Mr. O¿Reilly may offer some suggestions or simply agree with the opinion. If the person in the Zone offers a line of B.S. Mr. O¿Reilly will respectfully disagree and give the facts for the reader to make the correct decision.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2004

    From a True Conservative....

    Mr. O'Reilly's book was indeed a slow read, I also feel that it portrays the angray bitter out of touch side of the American conservative, also since he has never served in the military some of his words ring a little hollow on my ears.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2004

    He forces you to say 'yes' or 'no'

    Sometimes I agree with O'Reilly and sometimes I disagree with him. The same is true with the topics in 'The No Spin Zone'. He outlines his position and forces guests to give a straight answer. Probably one of the weakest qualities of today's society is the inability [or unwillingness] to give a straight answer because someone may not like us. There will be reviewers who spew venom because they are pre-disposed to doing so, but if you SAY you have an open mind, then you will be challenged, as Bill's guests are, to answer the question at hand.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2003

    NO FOOTNOTES OR ENDNOTES

    this book really is not worth the money, much less the paper. O'reilly has a way of speculating and telling his spin the way he percieves it. He shows NO ACTUAL FACTS, other than the fact that he loves to talk about himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2003

    And the truth shall set you free!

    What O'Reilly does for us, is to shine the light of truth on our lives and sometimes, a few of us would rather be left in the dark. Wait, maybe more than a few would like the lights left off. No one becomes a hero for telling truth, in fact most are hung for their trouble. Watch your backside Bill and good luck. Also, buy and read ( nightly ) Keshner's COCKPIT CONFESSIONS OF AN AIRLINE PILOT, which is far more than the title suggests... this guy is a combo of Hemingway and Faulkner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2003

    O'Reilly does it again

    Great Book! I enjoyed his last book (The O'Reilly Factor) and I actually enjoyed this one just as much. He tackles some big names in Hollywood and in Washington and he holds nothing back. I give him credit for the courage he has. I enjoy hearing his arguments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2003

    A Great Read

    After reading O'Reilly's first non fiction book, I can't imagine a better follow up. His views on everything under the sun were addressed in his first book, The O'Reilly Factor. The No Spin zone singles out those he feels are some of the biggest culprits in the political world today. He takes no sides with anyone but himself and even singles out Presdent Bush concerning his views on capital punishment. As with his other book, he backs up everything with statistics and makes things interesting by including excerpts of interviews from his television shows in the past. This is a great read and I anticipate his next book will be just as good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2003

    Short and Satisfying

    It is one of the few and the greatest nonfiction books that I have read in a long time. Though it didn't keep me up at night turning pages. I watch the No Spin Zone somewhat avidly, and respect his no nonesense attitude. I like how he said that he doesn't care if the person disagrees with him or not, but if he can have the guts and the intelligence to support what he says. (Alec Baldwin anyone...)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2003

    Truth be Told

    Whether you are a Bill O'reilly fan or not, there is no denying that only truths are in this book. Every bit of information is indeed able to be backed up, you just have to take the time to find the truth. Mr O'reilly has done it again and I can't wait for his next book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    In three words, A Great Book.

    Bill O'Reilly is a no-holds-bar kind of guy and thats what you get from this book. Exceprts from his interviews with the powerful and corrupt of America along with his commentary about the issues. If your sick of hearing liberal whines and cries, this is your kind of book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2002

    Yawn...

    This book, like O'Reilly's TV program, is nothing more than a bunch of simplistic, paper-thin unsubstantiated assertions, supposed quick-fix solutions to complex issues, holier-than-thou finger-pointing and typical right-wing prejudice disguised as fact-of-the-matter reasoning. O'Reilly does a good job of selling his little "I have no political bias and I deal with just the facts and how things are" approach, but people who aren't naive enough to go for the no-spin marketing gimmick see he's a conservative in moderate's clothing and what calls he calls "dealing with the facts" is just opinionated, and often extremely personal biased political spin. For example, he basically called for a crusade against the big, bad evil monster Bill Clinton for the Mark Rich pardon, yet he only casually makes a passing negative reference to Dick Cheney and his secret Enron dealings. O'Reilly's a guy who loves to call for investigations of various people and organizations such as the Catholic Church, the Red Cross, and Gary Condit. If Clinton had secret dealings with a billion $ corporation that lied on its records, collapsed and left thousands of people screwed, you KNOW O'Reilly would call for his head, yet Dick Cheney gets a one sentence light scolding. There's a million other examples of O-Reilly's "spin," take your pick. Unless you're naive, sheepish, and like to be told what to think, save your $

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2002

    First Book I've Finished in 5 years!

    I used to read all the time. In the past few years I've picked up a book only to start it and put it down - never to be picked up again. This is the FIRST book I've read from front to back in over 5 years. The chapters are SHORT and to the POINT. I busted out laughing a few times too at O'Reilly's wit. I was also very much saddened and disgusted by people who are suppose to be our 'so-called' leaders. I recommend it highly. It's an eye-opener and a quick read for those of you with little patience like me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2002

    He Does it Again

    This book was as good if not better than 'The good the bad....' I asked for it on Christmas just as I had with the previous. I read both twice and still refer to them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2002

    No Spin Zone: Confrontations with the Powerful and Famous in America

    Do you watch O'Reilly's show? If you do so with any regularity, YOU'VE ALREADY READ THE BOOK!! Absolutely nothing new here. Plus it's short. It would be better priced at $15 than $25. Save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2002

    No Spin Zone: Confrontations with the Powerful and Famous in America

    If you watch O'Reilly's show, you've read the book! Absolutely nothing new here. Save your money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2001

    Big Letdown

    I enjoyed the 'O'Reilly Factor' book but this one is a major letdown. In reading it, i got the impression O'Reilly is overextended and pumping out material while the going is good. O'Reilly seems to be losing some of the aggressive individualism he had a few years back.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2001

    The way it is!

    Excellent book! Bill tells it like it is and the way it should be... I wish we had more Bill O'Reilly's in the world. A great book for the college student as they prepare for their future into the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2001

    And the truth shall set you free!

    What O'Reilly does for us, is to shine the light of truth on our lives and sometimes, a few of us would rather be left in the dark. Wait, maybe more than a few would like the lights left off. No one becomes a hero for telling truth, in fact most are hung for their trouble. Watch your backside Bill and good luck.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 40 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2