BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Novels of Gillian Flynn: Sharp Objects, Dark Places

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

good read thought you had it all figured out and then not so much....

started with her third book Gone Girl and enjoyed it so much i had to find out what else she wrote and was not disappointed. interesting characters, murders, blackmail it's all there. enjoyed all three books. will read any future books by this author.

posted by nerakKV on October 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

The Books Were OK

I read Sharp Objects and Dark Places after reading Gone Girl. I think that was a problem. I loved Gone Girl so much that these books were a letdown. I would definitely recommend Sharp Objects but I did not enjoy Dark Places. It seemed to go on forever and the story ...
I read Sharp Objects and Dark Places after reading Gone Girl. I think that was a problem. I loved Gone Girl so much that these books were a letdown. I would definitely recommend Sharp Objects but I did not enjoy Dark Places. It seemed to go on forever and the story just wasn't that interesting to me. On the other hand, Sharp Objects kept me guessing.

posted by Avid_Reader_PA on September 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted October 12, 2012

    good read thought you had it all figured out and then not so much....

    started with her third book Gone Girl and enjoyed it so much i had to find out what else she wrote and was not disappointed. interesting characters, murders, blackmail it's all there. enjoyed all three books. will read any future books by this author.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Great read! I couldn't put either of these books down!

    I truely enjoyed both of these books. I originally read "Gone Girl" and really liked that, but feel I even liked these better! (if that is possible). I highly recommend both of these books! Keep you on the edge of your seat!

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic Books. Read Gone Girl first and loved her writing styl

    Fantastic Books. Read Gone Girl first and loved her writing style so much I went straight for these two. I was not disappointed, these are great stories. Some very disturbed and raw characters in each. They keep you guessing and even if you figure out “whodunit” you are not at all let down by the reveal of the actual...highly recommend!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2012

    I really enjoyed reading these 2 books. They both held my inter

    I really enjoyed reading these 2 books. They both held my interest and kept me wanting more. highly recommend it you like thriller/suspense type of books.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    The language and flavor of the writing style is pretty conservat

    The language and flavor of the writing style is pretty conservative. But the main characters are wildly unorthodox. Enjoyed the first two very much. Now reading her 3rd.

    I hope she decides to make more humorous and mildly crazy conversational jokes. I think it's in her ;-)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2014

    Great Read.

    Both books were great. I felt they were better than Gone Girl. Moved quickly and had well thought out characters. I have recommend this book to my friends.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2013

    The Books Were OK

    I read Sharp Objects and Dark Places after reading Gone Girl. I think that was a problem. I loved Gone Girl so much that these books were a letdown. I would definitely recommend Sharp Objects but I did not enjoy Dark Places. It seemed to go on forever and the story just wasn't that interesting to me. On the other hand, Sharp Objects kept me guessing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Love this author!

    These are two books that once you start to read, you can't put down! Spellbinding.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    FANTASTIC

    I can't wait for more books from Gillian Flynn!!! She is dark which some people may not like.

    Amy

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2012

    Great reads. Chilling and Dark.

    Both stories tell hauntingly twisted tales that keep you guessing. The characters are very real. The details will make you grimace but you just have to keep reading. I cannot wait for more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2014

    must read!!!!!

    Loved Gone Girl so much I had to read her other books,so worth the time!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2014

    Ga

    I thought these two books were actually BETTER than her popular Gone Girl.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    twisty twisty beyond belief- great!

    twisty twisty beyond belief- great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2013

    Disturbing but good

    The first book delves into the hidden secrets in a small town and while it kept interest it was a bit disturbing. The main character has a history of cutting so if that or child deaths bother you, skip it. I just started the second book and it has to do with siblings with one in prison after being charged with killing the parents and other siblings. This author must like the unusual.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Great read. Couldn't put it down. Kept you guessing till the

    Great read. Couldn't put it down. Kept you guessing till the end. Highly recommend it.













    k

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Once I started reading, I could not stop

    Love the way Gillian Flynn keeps your attention. Character development is superb and such a breath of fresh air. I wish she had more books. A must read...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2013

    Sharp Objects and Dark Places

    Couldn't put them down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2013

    I am not yet done with Dark Places...

    But Sharp Objects was good, and so far I am also enjoying Dark Places. Her book, Gone Girl was also great I thought.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    QeasasassjqwqwqeXqqw

    AwzXqwqZXasqwzwwweZ…@# qzbqwo
    QwwZasqq"qpzas
    QmqqwXqtxas ZmqwasZZjqwas
    Yz
    Alqwalq

    0 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3