Customer Reviews for

The Nymph's Labyrinth

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Auger to all

    EVERYONE LISTEN UP! FIRST STEP IS TO HAVE S??????????????EX, SECOND IS TO GET PREGGO AND SPEND THE REST YO LIFE ON HERE! HAVE A GOOD DAY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    &Omega Camp Jupiter Rules and Map &Omega

    &starf 1- No godmodding in battle.
    <p>
    &starf 2- Keep your powers to one your godly parent would have.
    <p>
    &starf 3- Only 3 children each of the Big Three
    <p>
    &starf 4- No cussing what so ever. Some people don't like it.
    <p>
    &starf 5- Children of Minerva are rare, and they wouldn't be soldiers.
    <p>
    &starf 6- Pegasus are only for the Praetors
    <p>
    &starf 7- You must be promoted in rank. Only 2 Praetors at a time. The first two people of each Cohort will be the Centurions.
    <p>
    &starf 8- Only 1 Augur will be allowed
    <p>
    &starf 9- The unicorns are for healing purposes only. Do not rise them.
    <p>
    &starf 10- Don't make up prophecies or come to camp fataly wounded. Every so often, it is fine, but no one likes an attenion hog. Or a drama queen. And only the Augur can give prophecies.
    <p>
    &starf 11- Vesta and Diana are virgin goddesses. Don't be their children.
    <p>
    &starf 12- I would prefer you be an OC. You can be a book character, though, if you must.
    <p>
    &starf 13- After you join, make a bio. If you don't have a bio, you will never be promoted.
    <p>
    &starf 14- You can join any Cohort you wish, but if one is too full, the Praetors have the ability to place you in a less-full one.
    <p>
    ~~~
    <p>
    MAP-
    <p>
    &starf Res 1- Rules and Map
    <p>
    &starf Res 2- Camp Jupiter Main Area
    <p>
    &starf Res 3- Bios
    <p>
    &tau&lambda&epsilon Pr&iota&eta<_>c&iota&rho&iota&alpha
    <br>
    &starf Res 4- 1st Cohort
    <br>
    &starf Res 5- 2nd Cohort
    <br>
    &starf Res 6- 3rd Cohort
    <br>
    &starf Res 7- 4th Cohort
    <br>
    &starf Res 8- 5th Cohort
    <br>
    &starf Res 9- Baths
    <br>
    &starf Res 10- Mess Hall
    <br>
    &starf Res 11- Armoury
    <p>
    N&epsilon&omega &real&sigma<_>m&epsilon
    <br>
    &starf Res 12- Colosseum
    <br>
    &starf Res 13- Forum
    <br>
    &starf Res 14- Circus Maximus ( I am unsure of the purpose and name of this building. My map was tiny. )
    <br>
    &starf Res 15- Senate House
    <br>
    &starf Res 16- Lake
    <p>
    &tau&epsilon<_>m&rho|&epsilon H&iota||
    <br>
    &starf Res 17- Temple of Jupiter Optimas Maximus
    <br>
    &starf Res 18- Temple of Mar
    <br>
    &starf Res 19- Temple of Pluto
    <br>
    &starf Res 20- Temple of Bellona
    <p>
    O&tau&lambda&epsilon<_>r
    <br>
    &starf Res 21- Field of Mars
    <br>
    &starf Res 22- Aquaducts
    <br>
    &starf Res 23- Caldecott Tunnel
    <p>
    ~~~
    <p>
    War Games-
    <br>
    Despite having the Field of Mars, the war games will be held at 'war games' res. The war games will be held every Friday. The actual game will be voted on every Thursday at 'war games' res 1. More information there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Arros and sids locations

    Arros daughter of cupid- curantly at result two. Sid daughter of luna-curantly at result six.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    I've never read a book by Ms. Winters, but I've seen this book a

    I've never read a book by Ms. Winters, but I've seen this book around for a while and it always tempted me, so I finally gave in to temptation and gave it a try. I'm glad I did. The choice of the Minoan culture and the nymphs was a great one. There's always plenty of study/interest in the Greeks, but the Minoans were a very separate culture, and I liked Ms. Winters' spin on them.




    Getting to meet Ariadne, the girl who helped in Theseus, see her POV/thoughts about that particular adventure was great. Ariadne's faced with the same curse that all nymphs have been since the time of Epione - if she loves a human, the human will sicken and die. So, obviously this puts a damper on all potential romances with anyone human. She's also one of the many nymphs still on the island and she's been charged with making sure that Dr. Beau Morris doesn't obtain his life's desire and prove the existence of the mythical Labyrinth. She goes to great extremes to do that, including planting a skeleton on the site to pull the archaeological dig to a halt as the authorities investigate.




    Beau has faced a lot of ridicule in the academic community because of his chase of the myth of the Labyrinth, but he senses he's getting really close. Unfortunately, time (and funding) is running out. Add in his ex-wife (a horrible piece of work, although her main crime is being a shallow twit, not anything truly heinous) dumping their kid off without any warning so she can go on her honeymoon and he's got his hands full. He's not looking for romance but ends up finding it with Ariadne, though he doesn't know she's not just named after the heroine from the Labyrinth tales but the actual heroine. I really liked the push and pull of the romance between Beau and Ariadne. They both had definite paths that they were trying to follow (Ariadne trying so hard not to fall in love because she doesn't want to make anyone die and Beau determined to redeem his academic name), but that didn't completely blind them to finding love.




    There were some interesting secondary characters including Stavros (the governor of the territory, immortal, and long-time lover of Ariadne), Kat (acknowledged leader of the nymphs and not a very nice person), Kaden (Beau's son who's drawn to a nymph of his own), and Tammy (a witch). The story moved quickly and had a lot of humor in it, along with some great tension filled moments. I definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants paranormal romance without fangs involved. 4 stars and Ms. Winters' other books will find their way onto my already overly full TBR list (there are 2 others currently out in the Nymphs series with a fourth coming out in a few months).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My Thoughts - 4 out of 5 unicorns - I really liked it!!! ** Rece

    My Thoughts - 4 out of 5 unicorns - I really liked it!!!
    ** Received the ebook as part of the book tour for an honest review

    The cover is pretty with the Greek ruins in the back ground but doesn’t do anything for me.

    Okay, the story is wonderful written with tragic back stories for the main characters Beau and Ariadne.  This story is a great start to a series, but it was slow here and there.  This happens sometimes in new series to building its world.  Beau is sort of a diamond in the rough kind of man.  He has very admirable traits, but they are hidden because he tends to be selfish.  All he wants is to be respected by his colleagues and make a name for himself.  Ariadne is more of a puzzle because she lets people walk all over her….her sister and Stavros.  It is like she is hiding from life and true love.

    I love mythology and this story’s twist into mythology.  Everyone knows I love paranormal romance :)  It is my favorite genre.  This story has a little bit of everything…a goddess, a curse, death, nymphs, a temple, ceremonies, snakes, a dead body, a labyrinth and much more.  If this intrigues you, then you should definitely read this book :)  I can’t wait to start book 2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ¿Sometimes you run away from things, thinking it¿s better than f

    “Sometimes you run away from things, thinking it’s better than fighting.” Ariadne and Beau have both done their fair share of running in Danica Winters’ Nymphs’ Labyrinth. So Beau pursues his career in archeological studies, minus wife and son, while Ariadne pursues a loveless affair with the local politician. And others pull their strings.

    Nymphs’ Labyrinth is a nice combination of straightforward romance, set in a pleasingly exotic location, with paranormal mystery. Ariadne has secrets that no-one would believe, and a haunting sense of guilt that keeps her obeying rules instead of following her heart. Meanwhile Beau has no room in his heart until his son appears. Then he reveals himself as the guilt-ridden father who ran from things rather than arguing.

    Still, if there really are gods and goddesses, perhaps there’s hope these two will find each other. And a goddess who values love higher than obedience, and honesty more than the letter of the law, is certainly appealing.

    A tale of love that overcomes boundaries, doubt and cost, and a story of relationships rebuilt on true communication, Danica Winters’ novella offers a nicely enticing twist on Greek mythology, with sexuality as powerful and real as befits all those sensuous Greek statues.



    Disclosure: I was given a free ecopy when I offered to be a host on the author’s blog tour.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    This novel is brilliantly written with a fun undertone that make

    This novel is brilliantly written with a fun undertone that makes you want to keep going.  I couldn’t put this brilliant novel down for one second.  Winters paints a very vivid picture of the world surrounding her characters.  I feel like I’ve been to a dig site on Crete, without ever leaving the comfort of my living room.  She also develops a brilliant romance without resorting to a multiplicity of bedroom scenes as a substitute for writing with and about emotions.  

    Although Winters gives Greek mythology a bit of a twist to make it her own, for the most part she is spot on.  As a reader you become completely immersed in the history and mythology of this brilliant tale.  Winters ensures that her audience has all necessary elements to be able to follow the story, without bogging anyone down in long history lessons.  She explains what needs an explanation in the context of the story and leaves the rest be.  I also appreciate the fact that the dig site was portrayed in a fairly accurate light.  She never makes anything out to be more than it is in the real world.  She also portrays the reality of archaeology (and life as a whole) without glorifying the nitty gritty elements of the job.  It makes the story much more realistic and easier to identify with.

    Winters has created characters that talk and act like real, modern people, regardless of their true age.  It was so neat to see how she showed the difference between the nymphs who were able to assimilate into the present day as well as those who were still struggling to do so.  The supporting cast of this novel was split into 2 groups:  those who were verging on becoming main characters, and those who rounded out the story.  All were developed to suit their roles in the story without over or under development.  There was a unique sliding scale of character development based on their roles in the novel and how well they knew the main characters.  it was very well put together.

    As a whole this was a brilliant novel that I couldn’t put down.  I fell in love with so many different aspects of this novel and can’t wait to read more by such an inspiring author.

    Please note that I received this novel free of charge from the author in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    What a great book. I've only recently gotten hooked on the paran

    What a great book. I've only recently gotten hooked on the paranormal genre, but The Nymph's Labyrinth isn't your typical paranormal. Here you enter a world where Greek Mythology meets contemporary Greece. I truly enjoyed learning about it when I was younger--and it seems my oldest boys have sparked my interest again while reading the Percy Jackson series--and I enjoyed returning once again.

    Ariadne Papadakis isn't your typical paranormal heroine, this gal has some deep-seated issues she needs to overcome, you know like finding guys who don't want to use her for their nefarious means. Give this shape-shifting nymph some credit though. When the going got tough, she pulled it off, and watch out.

    American archeologist, Beau Morris has seen better days in his life, and upon meeting Ariadne his luck runs out--completely. He just can't cut a break, and when it hits the fan, Beau finds he's dug into something much deeper than he thought. He might actually have to be someone he never dreamed of being.

    Danica Winters takes you on a journey not many get to experience. Almost makes you wonder, did she really visit Greece? Because you can taste the local flavor and feel the Mediterranean Sea breezes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 14, 2013

    I have a thing for authors that step outside the norm and try so

    I have a thing for authors that step outside the norm and try something different. So when I saw a new series featuring Nymphs I was all in and I'm really glad I gave The Nymph's Labyrinth a try. The writing style hooked me right away and had me reaching for my Nook every chance I could during the day. With intriguing characters and an interesting take on mythology Winters created a fun world that easily pulled me in.    

    The gist? Archaeologist Beau has put everything in his life, including his son, on the back burner as he tries to make a name for himself uncovering an ancient mythological Labyrinth. The very Labyrinth that Aria, and her sisterhood of Nymphs, has spent thousands of years keeping hidden and protected. Oh yes, drama abounds ;) But these two are good together. There's a little bit of steam to the relationship (some very yummy time spent in the ocean) and a nice addition of humor between them which I always enjoy.

    One of the things I loved most about this one was that you can really see Aria and Beau changing along the way. Meeting each other really turns each of their lives around and they become better people because of it. I wanted to just cheer for Aria as she finally stood up for herself and what she believes after centuries of being more or less bullied by her &quot;sisters&quot;.

    I had mixed feelings about Beau in the start. I loved his absolutely determination where his work was concerned but at the same time he's been an absentee dad and hasn't seen his son in 10+ years because of it and that, for me, is not a quality I look for in my heroes. But he really surprised me along the way and in the end I found myself very proud of him and the person he became. He manned up after his son landed on his doorstep and I absolutely loved watching their relationship evolve and how hard he worked to make things right.

    I thoroughly enjoyed watching these two being pulled in different directions as they fought between what they thought they wanted or had to accept and what they found they truly desired and needed in their hearts.

    With likable characters overcoming all sorts of hurdles thrown in their path, a fresh paranormal twist and a nice plot touched with action The Nymph's Labyrinth was a delightful start to a series that left me wanting to read more from Winters. I'm really curious about how the series is going to play out. If each book will focus on Aria and Beau or if we'll meet some of the other Nymphs. Regardless of which way it goes I'm hooked and can't wait to see what happens next.

    *A copy was provided in exchange for an honest opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  The writing was quick and clear

    I thoroughly enjoyed this book.  The writing was quick and clear, the story line inventive and clever, the characters compelling, full of dimension and captivating. To be in Greece, if only through words on a page, is a gift, but this author gave me a desire to go back, to look more deeply at the ruins, and to care about the lush history that still lives in that blessed place. Much of what Ms. Winters has brought so vividly to life is rooted in truth – that history is never as far removed from the present as we think. The characters she has created, the story she has told, will linger and bring a smile for some time to come. Well done. 
    This reviewer received an ARC from the author in return for an honest review, which is given as a professional courtesy and without monetary compensation.
    - Cary Morgan Frates

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    Once more Danica Winters astounds with another unique concept, c

    Once more Danica Winters astounds with another unique concept, characters from settings straight out of historical myth. Her imagination takes characters and runs with them, into ever more intense danger and through encounters and traps that would kill lesser mortals. Or immortals! Loyalties are tested, but no more than true love in this fast paced adventure within an intriguing archeological context I found very engaging and interesting. The juxtaposition of ancient cults over modern science continued to hold my fascination, and I fell for the characters, flaws and all, big time. If you like your romance out of the ordinary, The Nymph's Labyrinth will thrill and entice you. And tweak your imagination long after the story ends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Such a wonderful, Greek mythology inspired  book! The Nymph's La

    Such a wonderful, Greek mythology inspired  book! The Nymph's Labyrinth was fantastic.

    I LOVE Greek mythology, so I delight in reading books inspired by it. And this book did not disappoint.

    Ariadne, yes the one from the Theseus myth, was a lovely heroine. However, at the beginning, she's kind of a door mat. There was a
    reason for that, so it didn't bother me too much. Especially toward the ends when she toughened up and refused to let anyone run all
    over her. She's a likable heroine. I felt that she was easy to relate to. Because of the curse on the nymphs, she can't fall in love without
    putting anyone in danger, but, after millennium of never being able to be in love, she longs for the one thing that she can't have. That
    element made her a sympathetic character that anyone can support. 

    Beau was just as wonderful. His life's dream is to find the labyrinth and prove to everyone that all his research is real and not just some
     fantasy. Of course, that puts him at odds with Ariadne, whose job it is to make sure no one ever finds the labyrinth. But that doesn't stop
    either of them from falling in love, though neither admits it at first. Their relationship was complicated, to say the least. But I love how it
    ended for them-and I won't say any more on that subject :)
    Beau was also a very sweet father to his son and it was absolutely adorable to watch. Honestly, he was just all around amazing. A truly
    lovely hero.   

    Kaden, Beau's son, was a rather important secondary character. Though he was resentful at first because he hadn't seen his father
    since her was 10-and he is now 18-he changes during the course of the book and becomes a lovable boy. I can't say too much about
    what happens with him without giving away some important parts of the book, but I will say that Kaden will definitely win your heart.

    The plot was a little slow at first, which made me knock off a point, but it picked up after the first quarter or so and kept me hooked.
    There are definitely a few surprises along the way the keep things interesting. And the ending was brilliant.

    Once again, a wonderful, romantic take on Greek mythology! Any lovers of romance will love this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2012

    My recap: Long ago, the nymph goddess Epione denied Zeus her be

    My recap:

    Long ago, the nymph goddess Epione denied Zeus her bed. In retaliation, he cursed all nymphs. If they fell in love with a human, then that man would die a tragic death.

    Fast-forward to present-day Crete. Archeologist Dr. Beau Morris believes that he has found the site of a mythical Labyrinth. His colleagues think that he is a crackpot, but he is determined to prove them wrong. Ariadne Papdakis, a millennia-old nymph and member of a sisterhood of nymphs, is tasked with sabotaging and shutting down his dig. Unfortunately, she is drawn to Beau. But she can't fall in love with him, or she will be the death of him.

    Beau's ex-wife drops off his surly, estranged son, Kaden. Kaden falls in love with a nymph, and becomes mortally ill. The only way to save him is for Ariadne to stand up to the sisterhood and betray its secrets. Should she save Kaden and gain her own chance at love? Or should she keep the sisterhood's secrets?

    My analysis:

    Danica Winters has written a book that stands out from the crowd due to her imaginative use of Greek mythology and snake-shifting nymphs. (Snake-phobics, fear not. Not too much is made of the snake-shifting.) The Nymph's Labyrinth is like no other.

    Beau and Ariadne are both likable characters that you'll pull for.  You'll want Beau to save his reputation and reconcile with his son. You'll want Ariadne to kick some butt and stand up for herself, and that's her journey. You'll want them to circumvent the curse and find their HEA. They both have much to lose, but they belong together.

    There is much suspense as Beau and Ariadne face jealousy, grief, and danger together. You'll find yourself reading &quot;just one more chapter&quot; again and again.

    The Nymph's Labyrinth is an original, strong start to The Nymph Series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 13 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1