Customer Reviews for

The Oak Leaves

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(50)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2007

    Love Is Stronger Than Fear

    With her book The Oak Leaves, Maureen writes a compelling tale that most women can relate to. We're nurturers. We want children. Healthy children who will one day give us healthy grandchildren. I know a family who had a daughter who was deaf. Everyone but the parents knew it for years before they had her tested and got her hearing aids. One of my son's didn't talk until he was three. He was my fourth child so I didn't think anything about it until his grandfather started worrying about it. So I understand when Maureen's character Talie denys that her precious son, Ben is anything but just a little slow. I understand how she wants to protect Ben, her husband and herself from reality as long as she can. And when she reads her ancestor's diary and learns about the Kennesy legacy, she can deny the truth no longer, I understand why she wants to protect her sister from the Kennesey 'curse.' The story leads us though the present day with Talie and takes us back to 1849 as she reads Cosima's journal, making this a parallel story. Cosima wisely writes '. . .love is stronger than fear.' This, I believe is the message Maureen would like us to take with us as we finish reading this inspiring book.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2007

    When The Past Teaches YOur Present

    Oak Leaves By: Maureen Lang This story is as beautiful as the rich gold of oak leaves on an autumn tree. This book is almost like two in one. Maureen mastered the art of telling family history within a modern story in such a way that made all characters, both present and past real. Talie Ingram found a family treasure, the journal of her great-great grandmother. She discovered within the pages a history of her family. As she began her journey into the past her heart thrilled at the chance to find out about her Irish heritage. But the joy was short-lived. Within the pages she discovered a sad family history which unraveled the very fabric of her life. She and Luke had the perfect marriage and a beautiful son and another baby on the way. But what she read within her ancestor Cosima Escott¿s journal threatened to destroy her world. Was it possible that she passed the frightening genetics to her children? Maureen Lang has written a story from her heart directly to yours. It is written to the place in every heart that looks to God with doubt and frustration when life does not go as planned or expected. And within this story that crosses generations and enters its precious message into the reader¿s heart that with God we can grow through all and whatever comes our way. Chandra Lynn Smith

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2007

    A reviewer

    In a clever flip-flop of storyline, Maureen Lang has effectively demonstrated the concerns and fears that face this generation are not new nor without a champion for our cause. The reader is shown Cosima¿s story through the eyes of Talie Ingram, whose idyllic life is shattered with the growing realization that her beautiful toddler son may have a developmental disability. And as the reader is drawn into Cosima¿s story, that of Talie¿s nineteenth century ancestor, the reader begins to identify with Talie¿s growing horror that her son is developmentally delayed. The author herself has a child with fragile X syndrome, a debilitating condition affecting the developing child and causing mental impairment resembling autism. And it is this personal experience that gives the book a feel of authenticity. The condition is passed on through the mother¿s gene. Each child conceived by the carrier has a fifty-fifty percent chance of having fragile X syndrome. The story educates the reader sans medical jargon and terminology, simply drawing the reader into the lives of these two women. Each must overcome the fear of conception and the risks to the unborn child. Each must learn to trust in God¿s purpose and design even in the face of such disappointment. This book gives the reader a double header both in contemporary and historical flavor. Maureen Lang has woven a powerful story and demonstrates her skill, not only as an expert storyteller, but as a student of the human condition. She is to be applauded for her willingness to draw from her own pain and suffering to provide the reader with such a warm portrait of this affliction. I highly recommend this read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    poignant tale from Ms. Lang's soul to ours

    Talie Ingram finds her great-great-grandmother¿s journal written in the 1800s. Initially fascinated by her find, she begins to read the entries until she comes across an item that frightens her. She realizes what her ancestor called 'feeble-minded' that ran in the family is actually a genetic disorder. --- Overwhelmed and frightened that she, her daughter and her sisters might have Fragile X Syndrome, she wants to throw away the ledger without finishing it. However, for the sake of her child and to inform her sister in an intelligent manner, she must find courage to learn more from the journal and other sources including God. --- This is a deep family drama that focuses on Fragile X Syndrome and its impact on people. This reviewer never heard of this particular genetic condition until Maureen Lang¿s powerful character study that grips the audience from the moment that Talie begins to understand her family Victorian Era history and its implications today. Empathy will go out to her as she struggles with accepting a terrifying prognosis that her son has this condition while wondering why God allows bad things to happen to good people. Extremely deep and haunting, Ms. Lang provides a tale from her soul to ours. --- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Warriors

    Cut it out with the warriors stuff please im looking for the Actual reviews not warriors. Question about the actaul nook not warriors: Is this book good?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Loved it!

    Spoke tome several times.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Excellent!

    I had no idea what "Oak Leaves" was about when I began reading it. I haven't read such a moving book in such a long time. I look forward to when the Lord will put someone in my life going through a similar situation so I can share this book with them. After having read it, I believe I received a very special gift from the author's heart. Thank you, Maureen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2011

    Very enjoyable

    This was the first book I have read by this author. Although it was a bit slow in the beginning, I soon became engrossed and involved with the characters. As someone interested in genealogy myself, I found it fascinating how Ms. Lang connected the past and the present through the parallel stories of a current day mother and her great-great grandmother. The reader empathizes with each of these women as they struggle with the effects that the Fragile X Syndrome has on their lives, but, at the same time, finishes with the message that through God and His love, all can be overcome.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2007

    A reviewer

    The Oak Leaves is a gripping story of two women, separated by 150 years but joined by a family tree. Maureen Lang artfully weaves between the two stories in a way that kept me flipping pages because I couldn't wait to get to the next chapter in each woman's life. The author pulls from her experiences as the mother of a child with Fragile X Syndrome to weave a story that engulfs the reader. I felt Talieâ¿¿s emotions: the rage, the fear, the guilt, and finally the willingness to accept. Through Cosima, we see what society used to do, and are challenged to avoid those stigmas and see the blessing that each person is. 'All and whatever.' Those words form the backbone of the book. All our love, commitment, faith, hope whatever the circumstances. When life throws us a curveball we didn't anticipate, we can dig in and commit to sticking 'all and whatever,' or we can run. This book is a beautiful example, in two generations, of sticking 'all and whatever.' I loved this book and am already looking forward to the next.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    A very moving, heart-warming story. I love how the author weaves

    A very moving, heart-warming story. I love how the author weaves the present day story with the past.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Marjorie

    I was very impressed with this book. I enjoyed the suspense and the real story. Very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    Goldblaze

    She spys the rabbit scrunches down waiting...waiting. then she pounces scaring the ravit into a dead run she chases after it and catches up lands on it slitting its throat. She brings it back to result two.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Great book!

    This book was surprisingly wonderful. Definitely an eye opener. Highly suggest :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2012

    Nvm

    This book looks good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2012

    Seeing Gods blessings

    Good read. A family diary is found among family stuffed away. It reveals members and stuff they encounter. With this in mind, it helps a the family many years later to explain other issues and relize it's all in Gods hands. Life has its ups and downs, but no matter what.....u see Gods many blessings unfold. Sry don't want to give out too much info......lol. Enjoy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 29, 2012

    To oaktail

    Where is the part four

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Seedpelt

    I will go get help from skyclan *runs to get med cat*

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Everpaw

    Oh dogs

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    That is a different horseclan

    Yur clan with Servaljump is at silver dolphin. May starclan light your path...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Owlfeather

    It seems that lilystars days are numbered and whites and tails will kill her. I wonder who they are.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5