Customer Reviews for

The Oath: The Obama White House and The Supreme Court

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

An important book for Americans who want to understand today's Supreme Court

I just wanted to point out that the other person submitting a review of this book didn't even read the book! She said she read THE REVIEW of the book!!! So, without actually reading the arguments presented in the book, she comes to a conclusion based on ideology. Iro...
I just wanted to point out that the other person submitting a review of this book didn't even read the book! She said she read THE REVIEW of the book!!! So, without actually reading the arguments presented in the book, she comes to a conclusion based on ideology. Ironically, this is exactly the problem with the Roberts court Mr. Toobin addresses in this book. Instead of thoughtful judges who evaluate cases based on precedent, asking questions, and considering arguments, the ideologues on the Court, particularly Thomas, Scalia, and Alito, already have their minds made up, so don't bother them with the evidence or the arguments.

Many Republicans and traditional conservatives today are distressed at the shift to radical right-wing ideology within that party, particularly over issues of civility in political discourse, individual privacy, and corporate responsibility (environmental regulations, etc.), and Toobin compares TRUE conservatives w/ the *right-wing ideologues* on the Court today. (I hope I can add to this review later b/c I tend to be verbose, but I don't have time right now for a lengthy review!) For now, I'll just say that I found this book very enlightening about the current relationship b/t the Judicial and Executive branches of our government, and I recommend that people read it before the 2012 election. You might be surprised at the evidence Toobin presents and the arguments he makes!

posted by CrossroadsDB on September 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Supreme court?

It seems about right that the right would praise the fascists on the court and denigrate the president. The court has done everything possible to destroy our civil liberties beginning with the citizens united decision and your so called God only knows what they will t...
It seems about right that the right would praise the fascists on the court and denigrate the president. The court has done everything possible to destroy our civil liberties beginning with the citizens united decision and your so called God only knows what they will try to do to take away even more freedoms. And yes I read the book.

posted by 9514759 on September 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    An important book for Americans who want to understand today's Supreme Court

    I just wanted to point out that the other person submitting a review of this book didn't even read the book! She said she read THE REVIEW of the book!!! So, without actually reading the arguments presented in the book, she comes to a conclusion based on ideology. Ironically, this is exactly the problem with the Roberts court Mr. Toobin addresses in this book. Instead of thoughtful judges who evaluate cases based on precedent, asking questions, and considering arguments, the ideologues on the Court, particularly Thomas, Scalia, and Alito, already have their minds made up, so don't bother them with the evidence or the arguments.

    Many Republicans and traditional conservatives today are distressed at the shift to radical right-wing ideology within that party, particularly over issues of civility in political discourse, individual privacy, and corporate responsibility (environmental regulations, etc.), and Toobin compares TRUE conservatives w/ the *right-wing ideologues* on the Court today. (I hope I can add to this review later b/c I tend to be verbose, but I don't have time right now for a lengthy review!) For now, I'll just say that I found this book very enlightening about the current relationship b/t the Judicial and Executive branches of our government, and I recommend that people read it before the 2012 election. You might be surprised at the evidence Toobin presents and the arguments he makes!

    28 out of 31 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2012

    Toobin does a great job in deciphering what is going on with the

    Toobin does a great job in deciphering what is going on with the Court, which is under a cloud of suspicion following the 2000 election when they ruled against the will of the people, and Citizens United, when the justices again ruled against the people. The landmark health reform ruling will stand for many generations as a time when this Court finally ruled in favor of the people. Like Roe vs. Wade, the Court ruled for reality rather than fake ideology, and we have to applaud them for that. In my world, a conservative is a selfish person who lives just for themselves, and believes that it is OK to let people die because they cannot afford healthcare - and I thank God that we have a government standing up for all the people, not just the ones who happen to be rich (riches come and go, humanity and decency live forever). A good book, highly recommended.

    10 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Fascinating Read

    Toobin does a largely good job objectively covering the rrlationship between President Obama and the Supreme Court Justices. The narrative is entertaining and fairly well written. Definitely a recommended read to those interested in the subject matter.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2012

    Supreme court?

    It seems about right that the right would praise the fascists on the court and denigrate the president. The court has done everything possible to destroy our civil liberties beginning with the citizens united decision and your so called God only knows what they will try to do to take away even more freedoms. And yes I read the book.

    8 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2012

    I also have a problem with "commoner" who disses a boo

    I also have a problem with "commoner" who disses a book he/she did not read. This is a good book to read and gives insight to the workings of The Supreme Court and this Administration. Hopefully people will read it to learn of another opinion and not read it to have their opinion validated.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2012

    It is arithmetic!

    When I looked at these reviews I saw two stars and a '1' in parentheses indicating there was one review. However there are 2 -- the second was a five star review. Now three reviews - I hope the problem corrects itself.

    2 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2012

    Intriguing and informative perspective

    Toobin's narration of recent Supreme Court decisions provides an interesting (and sometimes scattered) view of the various forces that impact these decisions that so often shape our culture and economy. One would expect that some predictable sources of influence, such as party politics, might be set aside at the doors of our magnificent Supreme Court building. Yet, the fascinating story that penetrates this book is that while our justices are bright legal minds who have sometimes found their way to the Court by luck or circumstance, the justices are truly ordinary human beings with extraordinary power.
    The motivation of each justice ( if Toobin is correct in his analysis) is political, whether that is driven by the justice's personal need to wield influence, or to alleviate social injustice, or to create a historical moment, or even for party-driven policy goals. The deliberateness of party politics on this highest Court is surprising; it is shocking, at times, to realize how little the briefs or law matter when a political agenda is on the table. One might expect that justices would have political beliefs, but agendas should be left to the legislature and executive!
    Toobin reminds us of the human frailness of our justices, and of the very divided political forces that influence these justices. Perhaps the scales of justice which are prevalent in the Spreme Court souvenier gift shop in Washington should be adorned with donkeys and elephants. The impartiality and integrity alluded to the Court are illusory, but we knew this when Bush was appointed ( yes, appointed) President.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2012

    Oo shut up u damn rebublican

    OBAMA IS LIBERAL

    1 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    lvery interesting

    a good update on an important part of our governmrnt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2013

    Interesting Read

    Very interesting and well written, however it revisits a lot of info included in "The Nine".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    To Midnight

    50 or 99

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Sunwing

    ASPENFIRE! GET OUT OF GLIMMER'S DEN! IT WAS HERS IN THE FIRST PLACE! OR, AS DEPUTY, I CAN REMOVE YOU BY FORCE!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Mysterious human

    The man walks in, wearing a hood. His katana gleams. Touch aspenfire and DIE.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    To Glimmer

    She isn't trying to get YOU killed. You are trying to get HER killed. You just asked Katana.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Sugar

    Ugh. Copycats are lame

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Darkheart

    What about Jaguarkit? *he purred* ~Darkhear†•

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Glimmer

    Gtg to bed

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Jj

    Effbvvfnjiwbhigf

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    This book is interesting, but so liberally biased that I don't k

    This book is interesting, but so liberally biased that I don't know what part to believe and when to ask what is the rest of the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    Excellent read.

    Very interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2