Customer Reviews for

The October List

Average Rating 2.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

rating of three and a half

Very cleverly written....working backward toward the beginning, but was difficult to grasp until well into the story! an otherwise good plot.

posted by Midnight-readerJML on February 28, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Jeffery Deaver is one of the best authors on the planet and I al

Jeffery Deaver is one of the best authors on the planet and I always buy his books. I am sorry I wasted money on this one. I do not believe that writing a novel backwards works. I cannot follow it.

posted by 9796198 on October 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    Jeffery Deaver is one of the best authors on the planet and I al

    Jeffery Deaver is one of the best authors on the planet and I always buy his books.
    I am sorry I wasted money on this one. I do not believe that writing a novel backwards works.
    I cannot follow it.

    14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2013

    A waste of time and $$$$

    Backwards unrolling of the story is a pain! Have been a fan for years.....from a maidens prayer... Sorry I spent the $$$$

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 6, 2013

    Of all the brilliant writings of Jeffery Deaver I can honestly s

    Of all the brilliant writings of Jeffery Deaver I can honestly say I was so disappointed in this book.  It was very difficult to follow as he starts the ending at the beginning of the book.  I am attending a Q and A session this coming Thursday with Mr. Deaver in Michigan.  I wish he would stick with Lincoln Rhyme and Kathryn Dance novels.  

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    AWFUL!!!!

    I happen to love Jeffery Deaver's books. Couldn't wait to read this one because of it's difference. It was such a disappointment and actually would have been so much better had it been written in reverse. There wasn't even a completion to it. Would NOT recommend this book at all.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2013

    I BUY ALL JEFFREY DEAVER'S BOOKS, BUT I LOOKED AT THE SLEEVE AND

    I BUY ALL JEFFREY DEAVER'S BOOKS, BUT I LOOKED AT THE SLEEVE AND ALSO THE REVIEWS AND I AM NOT BUYING THIS ONE.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2013

    Anonymous

    This book is hard to follow and a lot of work to keep the storyline going. I love this authors books, but this one was not up to his usual great work. Sorry I spent the $$. Still not sure what happened to one character. My advice- read any of his other books- they were fast reads that you could not put down.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Just awful

    This book is just awful. The tale-told-backward format is not only confusing but actually disturbing and, dare I say it, boring. I didn't develop any interest in the characters at all. I wonder whether the story would be any good if the publisher re-worked it into a normal forwardly told format. Maybe not. Recommendation: don't bother.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    Extremely disappointing!

    A total waste of money. I did not like the format in which "The October List" was written. Starting the book from the end and working the story backward gave everything away. It did not take long before I had the whole plot line figured out. No surprise moments, no unexpected twists or turns in the plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Save your time & money

    Love this writer but hated this book. I read every night but this took me two weeks to get through I had to go back every night as had not a clue what was going on. Thought the book chapters were mixed up .
    Will never buy another book without finding out more about it

    Waste of time to read this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Sub-titled ¿A Novel in Reverse,¿ this book is literally unlike


    Sub-titled “A Novel in Reverse,” this book is literally unlike anything I have ever read.

    The author is apparently enamored of what he calls a fractured time line. In his newest novel, following the conclusion (really the beginning, although it appears at the end of the novel), that is, after the final page (actually page 1), there is, naturally, a Foreword. The opening chapter, which, one soon discovers, is the dénouement, is Chapter 36, labeled “6:30 P.M., Sunday,” and is marked as page 297. The final chapter in the book, which naturally is Chapter 1, takes place on the Friday morning prior to that.

    Sound confusing?

    As for me, one could add the terms disorienting and, certainly, original.

    A more immediate appreciation of the novel would take minds perhaps more agile than that owned by this reader, but appreciation did certainly take place in the end.

    The crux of the novel is the eponymous document, something so valuable that Gabriela McKenzie, the protagonist, says of it “everybody in the world, it seems, wants the goddamn October List!” Indeed, such is its value that Gabriela’s six-year-old daughter is being held by a kidnapper until such time as Gabriela turns the List over to the kidnapper(s). The major problem being that she has to find it first. All the while being chased through the streets of New York, in eye-catching manner: a “homicidal auburn-haired woman and her actor look-alike companion.” She has of late been involved with one Frank Walsh, a knife fetishist in both the real and the virtual worlds.

    Anything more I leave to the reader to discover, in this mind-bending, and recommended, novel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    Disappointed

    This was just not his usual book. It took me a week to finish instead of an evening; because I just could not get into it. But I still like the author and will continue to read his novels.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    rating of three and a half

    Very cleverly written....working backward toward the beginning, but was difficult to grasp until well into the story! an otherwise good plot.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2013

    An Odd must read

    I had a hard time with the "backward" concept and keeping things straight,but it was an interesting twist,but not sure I would like to read many books like that..NOT one of his best.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2014

    this book is very boring. im little more than half way thru and

    this book is very boring. im little more than half way thru and I just don't think I can muster the effort to finish it. its story is written backwards which guess was supposed to make it more interesting, but it doesn't. I love the Lincoln/sachs stories but this isn't one of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    WOW

    Jeffery Deavers proves once again why he's the master of suspence. I thought it a little strange reading backwards. Best book ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    Intriguing

    This story is both novel and puzzle. The pieces are all in the beginning, but the key to their meaning is at the end. This novel seems to me to be what solving a crime is all about. The evidence is all there; you just need to work backwards to figure out what actually happened. Everything is spelled out clearly at the end (or the beginning). Or is it? I love the multiple layers revealed. No more can be said without putting in a spoiler alert.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2014

    Top of my list author never to read again

    Since have only read one five pages were enough remember you can library loan e books and save money if he was born in suburbs of chicago why not go to u of ill or anyother college right in the area chicago/northwestern/roosevelt/u of ill chicago campus/loyola/community colleges?
    page counter (lakeview h s chicago)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    Back to front, great

    Jeffery Deaver proves again that he is a great writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2013

    Not for everyone.

    This format was a bit too strange for me. I was about 80% through the book before I decided that the format was "interesting" enough to keep going. In the end I liked it, but would not knowingly do it again. After finishing the book, I went back to re-read the "first" chapter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Short, confusing, a very different Deaver.

    Did not like the style of the writing. Deaver is an excellent writer/ storyteller so I see how this writing was a challenge for him. When I read a book, I want to be taken to a different world, but one I won't have trouble following the story. I'm glad that I've read all his other books (excellent) and know how great a writer he is, otherwise I probably would not read them based on October List.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 86 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5