Customer Reviews for

The October List

Average Rating 3
( 99 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(13)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(30)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

rating of three and a half

Very cleverly written....working backward toward the beginning, but was difficult to grasp until well into the story! an otherwise good plot.

posted by Buckwheat1 on February 28, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Jeffery Deaver is one of the best authors on the planet and I al

Jeffery Deaver is one of the best authors on the planet and I always buy his books. I am sorry I wasted money on this one. I do not believe that writing a novel backwards works. I cannot follow it.

posted by 9796198 on October 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted August 29, 2014

    Extremely disappointing!

    A total waste of money. I did not like the format in which "The October List" was written. Starting the book from the end and working the story backward gave everything away. It did not take long before I had the whole plot line figured out. No surprise moments, no unexpected twists or turns in the plot.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    rating of three and a half

    Very cleverly written....working backward toward the beginning, but was difficult to grasp until well into the story! an otherwise good plot.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2014

    Back to front, great

    Jeffery Deaver proves again that he is a great writer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 20, 2013

    Very odd to read but enjoyed it!

    Deaver never disappoints. He really pulled off another surprise here!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    Highly recommended

    A truly unusual and great read. The format goes from the present backwards in minutes and hours. The ending will come as a great surprise!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Jeffery Deaver has been on my must read author's list from the v

    Jeffery Deaver has been on my must read author's list from the very beginning. But with The October List, he's challenged both himself as an author and the reader.

    For you see, The October List is written backwards. Yes, a novel in reverse. The last chapter is the first one in the book So we know the outcome - or do we? - from the very beginning.

    Gabriela is waiting in an apartment with a man, hoping that the other two men who have set out to rescue her kidnapped daughter are successful. The door opens and .....

    Okay, that's the end. Now who is Gabriela, who are the men helping her? Why was her daughter targeted? What does she have that they want?

    You must read carefully, paying attention to details. With every chapter (remember, counting backwards on the clock) more connections are made, more characters and motives introduced. And with each new chapter there seems to be another twist, another piece of the puzzle, another 'no way!' as Deaver carefully manipulates the reader. You'll be completely unable to predict what will happen by the last (which is of course the first) chapter. I loved the fact that I had no idea where the story was going - it was refreshing to be completely clueless! I know, it's hard to wrap your head around. I can't even begin to imagine the detailed notes Deaver must have kept to write the book. And when you finally reach that last (first) page, you absolutely have to go back to the beginning (the end) and reread that last chapter. It turns around 360 degrees! I wonder if anyone has gone back and read it from last page to first?

    I absolutely loved The October List - I thought it was a brilliant and bold premise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Very unusual! Goes from the ending to the beginning just the reverse of most books.

    Enjoyed the reverse order of events. Kept my interest as it unraveled. Different!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Francis Ripper

    I forget where my bio is. Wait, I remember. :D :D :D<br>It's at "faith river" fourth result. I would like to be an antagonist in the story, please.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    A BROKEN ECLIPSE need characters!

    I will post the first chapter tonight sometime but first I need characters. A hit cute boy nasty posh girls a couple friends and Raynas little sister (Reynas 15 base ages around that)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2