Customer Reviews for

The October List

Average Rating 2.5
( 86 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(28)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

rating of three and a half

Very cleverly written....working backward toward the beginning, but was difficult to grasp until well into the story! an otherwise good plot.

posted by Midnight-readerJML on February 28, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

Jeffery Deaver is one of the best authors on the planet and I al

Jeffery Deaver is one of the best authors on the planet and I always buy his books. I am sorry I wasted money on this one. I do not believe that writing a novel backwards works. I cannot follow it.

posted by 9796198 on October 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    WOW

    Jeffery Deavers proves once again why he's the master of suspence. I thought it a little strange reading backwards. Best book ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2014

    Intriguing

    This story is both novel and puzzle. The pieces are all in the beginning, but the key to their meaning is at the end. This novel seems to me to be what solving a crime is all about. The evidence is all there; you just need to work backwards to figure out what actually happened. Everything is spelled out clearly at the end (or the beginning). Or is it? I love the multiple layers revealed. No more can be said without putting in a spoiler alert.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    CHARACTER APPS!!!

    Sarah Danials- younger sister of Rasha's. Is 4 years younger than her. Light brown hair in a buzz cut. Wears a black and teal jacket sweatshirt with green kakkis and black and teal boots. Best friends with Allison and Sally.<br>
    <p>
    Allison Jace- dirty blonde hair . Same age as Sarah. Wears a yellow tee with jeans and suspenders and sneakers. Is best friends with Sarah.<br>
    <p>
    Max Jace- Has dirty blond shoulder length hair curled at the bottom. Wears a red teeshirt jeans and sneakers. Doesn't talk much. Older than Allison's sister by 3 years.<br>
    <p>
    Sally Rare- curly brown hair. Wears a fancy tee shirt with a skirt and boots. Same age as Sarah and Allison.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    If you like the movie Memento...

    then this book is for you. Maybe the best thriller/mystery I've ever read. The construction was amazing. Kept me turning the pages to the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    2 Character apps

    Name | Amalianna McDrummond&hearts<p>Age | 17&hearts<p>Looks | six feet tall, calf length red hair, emerald green eyes. Is obssed with animal print clothes & acessories in any color combination. In fact, she wont wear or carry anything that isnt animal print&hearts<p>Personality | she is very snobbish, like her twin Shandra & loves to walk past people & whirl suddenly, causing her long hair to whip up in thier faces. She enjoys bullying & picking on Reyna & others like her&hearts<p>Crush | she has a crush on Peirce, the brother of Reyna's pen pal&hearts<p>Nickname | Amali&hearts<p><p>Name | Shandra McDrummond&#9825<p>Age | 17&#9825<p>Looks | six feet tall, ankle length red hair streaked with black, emerald green eyes. Loves anything goth & refuses to wear anything non-goth&#9825<p>Personality | like her twin she is very snobbish & annoys people with her long hair. She too enjoys bullying & picking on Reyna & others like her&#9825<p>Crush | none, yet&#9825<p>Nickname | Shan&#9825

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    3 charecter apps

    Raylyn Rare- hair: violet and curled at the end. Eyes: saphire blue. Pers: genorus, sassy, fashionable, but kind to those who are kind to her. Nickname: Rarity. <p> Sean Spikes- hair: spikey blonde with purple and green tips. Eyes: green. Pers: sarcastic, playful, caring, and has a crush on Raylyn and will do anything for her. Nickname: Spike. <p> Faith Sky- hair: pink. Eyes: cyan. Pers: shy, kind. Nickname: Flutter. <p>

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Pierce

    He is 16. He has brown eyes and is shy. Not in the popular clique. Has dirty colored blonde hair. He has a power only currently Reyna and him knows. He can control plants.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2013

    Much better than previous reviews!

    I was a little nervous to purchase this after I read some of the other reviews. However, I really enjoyed the reverse story and thought Deaver did an excellent job at throwing the reader a curve ball on who did it. I would highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 26, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1