BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Odd Job

Average Rating 4.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Recommend

Nice touch of humor makes this tale of the gods a great read. Characters are good but not great.

Not sure the concept wil hold up thru the two sequals. Eventually the new and unexpected will wear off and so will that touch of humor. Then it's just another good gu...
Nice touch of humor makes this tale of the gods a great read. Characters are good but not great.

Not sure the concept wil hold up thru the two sequals. Eventually the new and unexpected will wear off and so will that touch of humor. Then it's just another good guy vs bad guy saga.

posted by bdancer on April 15, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Bored to tears

Sorry. I'm like 200 pages in and this book is so boring. Started out good and now the endless description of everything (pretty much nothing exciting) going on at the estate has finally done me in. Who cares about what all the gagets can do if he never gets around to us...
Sorry. I'm like 200 pages in and this book is so boring. Started out good and now the endless description of everything (pretty much nothing exciting) going on at the estate has finally done me in. Who cares about what all the gagets can do if he never gets around to using them. It's official. I giving up on this dull book and moving on. Sorry.....Zzzzzz

posted by 17369906 on December 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Recommend

    Nice touch of humor makes this tale of the gods a great read. Characters are good but not great.

    Not sure the concept wil hold up thru the two sequals. Eventually the new and unexpected will wear off and so will that touch of humor. Then it's just another good guy vs bad guy saga.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Bored to tears

    Sorry. I'm like 200 pages in and this book is so boring. Started out good and now the endless description of everything (pretty much nothing exciting) going on at the estate has finally done me in. Who cares about what all the gagets can do if he never gets around to using them. It's official. I giving up on this dull book and moving on. Sorry.....Zzzzzz

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    More please

    I read the series and am impatiently waiting for more to come (Book5).
    I won't spoil the story here but if you like books from Pratchett, Gaiman, Colfer or Butcher then this is for you.

    Please more...and soon!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    The Odd Job was really a lot of fun to read. It had me laughin

    The Odd Job was really a lot of fun to read. It had me laughing often. Pace was quick and storyline is good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2013

    I liked it

    Good, fun read. Looking forward to the next book in the series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    Great fantasy adventure story.

    I really enjoyed the story, it's nice to have a good fantasy novel for free. There are a few spelling mistakes but it doesn't confuse or take from the story. I would actually keep reading this series. I think that this is a book many who hate their jobs would love to come true. I have read other books kind of like this but not with all the gods in it. So thank you to the author for deciding to share your writing with us.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2013

    Just right

    Lets go on to sharp things

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2013

    I'm being vague here intentionally as to not spoil anything. The

    I'm being vague here intentionally as to not spoil anything.
    The story is a little hard to follow at times, and there were a few things that I thought would have been much more of a shock to the main character. He also masters skills (as well as they are described to him at the time, anyway) on the first try. When was the last time anyone learned a new skill instantly? I hope the author has it jump around to give the reader the same sense of constantly figuring out what the heck is happening that the main character must be feeling.
    An enjoyable read, and several things do end up fitting into the story more than they first appear. Hopefully the sequels give more character development.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2013

    Completely enjoyed this book. Made me laugh, smile, want to cry

    Completely enjoyed this book. Made me laugh, smile, want to cry, and cheer.
    Would love to visit this wonderful Estate.
    Immediately bought the Second book as my Book of the Month.
    Loved it!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Good book

    A great page turner, couldn't put it down. Really liked the story line .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2013

    This book was so much fun!  Just finished it and got on line to

    This book was so much fun!  Just finished it and got on line to buy the next two in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Just the right amount of drama, comedy, and mayhem :)

    Just the right amount of drama, comedy, and mayhem :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1