BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Officer and the Bostoner

Average Rating 4
( 80 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(33)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

THE OFFICER AND THE BOSTONER by Rose Gordon is an fast paced Wes

THE OFFICER AND THE BOSTONER by Rose Gordon is an fast paced Western Historical Romance set in 1845 Texas. #1 in the "Officer" series. What a beginning! Filled with passion,misunderstandings,secrets, and love. Join Allison Pierson,a well to do Bostoner,caught ...
THE OFFICER AND THE BOSTONER by Rose Gordon is an fast paced Western Historical Romance set in 1845 Texas. #1 in the "Officer" series. What a beginning! Filled with passion,misunderstandings,secrets, and love. Join Allison Pierson,a well to do Bostoner,caught stranded in a military fort in Indian Territory and Captain Wes Tucker, a Military man from a wealthy Charleston family. Wes insists she must marry in order to stay in the fort,she accepts his proposal to marry him until her true intended comes to rescue her. What follows is a bit of humor and lots of passion. Allison soon learns she is in love with Wes and he with her. But enter her intended,who is only after her money. She will do anything to keep Wes safe and protected from her intended's stronghold. Wes, is wealthy in his own right,but Allison does not know this. If the Indians don't kill them Allison's food just might. For she knows nothing of housekeeping,she was raised as a socialite,enter the fun and laughter. Another hit for Ms. Gordon! She is an awesome storyteller who carries off her plots without a hitch. Her characters are engaging as well as realistic for the era.She has vivid descriptions that make the reader feel they are actually there. An intriguing story with a few twists and turns. Loved it!! If you enjoy historical romance, humor,Western love than "The Officer and the Bostoner" is the one for you to read. You will not regret your choice. Received for an honest review from the author and Net Galley.
RATING: 4.5
HEAT RATING: MILD
REVIEWED BY: AprilR, Review courtesy of My Book Addiction and More

posted by MyBookAddictionandMore on July 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

I loved this book from page 1 or 2.  I love books that completel

I loved this book from page 1 or 2.  I love books that completely catch your interests right from the start.  
This book does that!  I love the characters.  My only regret was that the book wasn't longer.  I love  all of Rosé Gordon's books and their respective characte...
I loved this book from page 1 or 2.  I love books that completely catch your interests right from the start.  
This book does that!  I love the characters.  My only regret was that the book wasn't longer.  I love  all of Rosé Gordon's books and their respective characters.  I can't wait for the next book!,

posted by Nessae on July 1, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    great fun read

    great fun read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Good read

    Not a bad read for a weekend around the house. Plan to buy the rest of the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    Good story

    This is a funny store about a woman that believes in keeping her word even if it means loosing the one she loves. It is also about the man who thought he would never fall for a woman who seems to think of money more than the man she loves. Read it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Good boo

    You people should just read this novel yourselves and write your own review on this book. I really enjoyed reading this novel very much. ShelleyMA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    Nice story!

    I typically do not care for historical western romance, but enjoyed this book. The conflict was just right, not too heavy. I dont read this genre for historical accuracy, but as a pleasant escape from reality. This book was worth my time. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2014

    Nook lovr

    My kind of love story enjoyed very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    Great read

    Great characters, well written story, realistic hardship, laughter and romance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    Enjoyed

    Enjoyed from beginning to end. Good job!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Simply Charming Romance! Allison Tucker is on a lomg stagecoach

    Simply Charming Romance!

    Allison Tucker is on a lomg stagecoach ride to join her fiance. A complication - she gets off the stagecoach at a stop and is left  at a military fort in Indian territory. Captain Wes Tucker sees trouble.  A beautiful single woman who has no way to leave for months and she is not only in Indian territory but she is surrounded my young men who have not seen a lady in a long time. This book will take you from laughing to crying as you are taken in to Ms Gibson's storytelling.  She weaves a story of bravery, honor and courage among soldiers . She brings us a beautiful unselfish romance with twists and turns we would not anticipate.

    Ms. Gibson develops her characters so well you not only want to get to know them you feel a part of their lives.  The plot is great, the pace is good and her writing style is  easy flowing.  You have sit for hours without realizing it.  I lobe the way she describes the fort giving us insight into the time period.  Also it was interesting to read about the relationship between soldiers and Indians. If you enjoy historical fiction and/or romance this just might be for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2014

    Great book

    Good read. Loved the interaction of 2 main characters. Wished it had been longer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2014

    Fun read

    Light hearted story that will even make you laugh. I really enjoyed all three books in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    Great novel

    Loved the historical fiction. The characters were great together. Story line was cute and makes me want to read the sequels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Anonymous

    This was a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    great short read

    I was glad to see something in a western setting. Its a nice change and I well written. Look forward to rest of series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    Very good.

    I would read more books by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Enjoyable reading

    I enjoyed the book -- the characters and the story. It's light reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    Would definitely recommend!

    This is a well written, fairly fast paced (it lags just a bit in the middle) good read. I highly recommend anyone who likes this genre to read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    WONDERFUL

    I LOVE IT MS.G THANK YOU FOR THE WONDERFUL STORY PLEASE READ I PROMISE U WILL LOVE IT. MS.D FROM BRONX, NY

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Cute read

    Awesome a real must buy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I¿ll just start off with how much I enjoyed this awesome read! I

    I’ll just start off with how much I enjoyed this awesome read! I don’t often read western romance or romance set during the American revolution so I was highly surprise at how much I liked this story. But of course I would! I’ve enjoyed Rose Gordon’s works before and this was no different. Sure it was different from her other books-not set in England and their word and speech terms were different- but everything was still as romantic and entertaining as her last series. ~Ah the Bank Brothers~

    Anyways, I really loved this book! I was hooked on it and fascinated by it in the first couple of pages and even more invested when we met the hero! Wes was a very likeable, and I mean like, a lot~, piece of a man! He has humor and the sarcastic teasing jest personality, the hot sexy strong broad shoulders and protective type written all over him. Mmmmmm~ Did I mention he’s an Officer in the American Army? And a Captain! Stationed in hot sweaty Texas, all hot sweaty and tan all over! He sounds and looks good on horse back too! He has a mysterious past and secrets that might help or break him. And He’s willing to give you his name to protect you – from Indians, other soldiers, and even his friends- at all cost! So, what will it be?

    Although at first I was struck at how crazy the heroine acted, it was understandable and tolerable to why she acted the way she did at her first arrival. Heroine, Allison is vulnerable and has lost a lot in her days but being stuck in the middle of nowhere was something uncalled for. She’s from the big city of Boston and have never lived close to being a beggar in her life! So it was quite surprising she could move pass it and live on a Fort! Well, she had no other choice anyways. She’s promised to be married to another man, waiting for her at the end of her supposed trip, but then ended up married to the sexy Officer who’s willing to give his name to protect her virtue. She’s attracted to the offending man and at every turn he makes her heart skip a beat, but she has to stay calm if her intended were to come for her, or risk losing it all.

    I like that Allison’s a determined and strong willed young lady and very adaptable to her new surroundings. Although she did bicker at the beginning about her surrounding she didn’t complain much about the life style afterwards. I loved watching her grow from a vulnerable proper young lady into a strong independent woman comfortable in her skin. There were times in the story that I disliked her because things would have been understood better if she’d just said something! But then it made for very enjoyable moments in the story yet other times brought on “eye-rolls and head-shaking” moments.

    The same thing could be said for Wes too on not saying something during a particular moment but then quite understandable from his position. and made for funny inter actions and eye widening smiles. I liked that he was fairly straight forward in what he wanted to say and was persistent in keeping Allison comfortable even though he, himself wasn’t sure about it. I TOTALLY Love Wes! Everything about him I adore~ Every little thing he said to Allison down to the things he did for her was sweet, romantic, and very thoughtful. He is what I would call me a perfect hero~ Or Husband!

    There was the fact that I didn’t quite enjoy the ending as I would have liked due to some factors but I’ll just move away from that. I thought some things weren’t needed in the book and could have been omitted or left out. While other things could have been presented in a different manor and time, but I’m not the writer so it’s not my place to say but just my opinion. Minor grammar and spelling problems so yeah.

    All in all I very much enjoyed this book and do hope you readers try it out and adore it too. This was a funny, entertaining, sarcastic bickering filled with with-held sexual tensions and sweet intentions to woo your wife into staying kind of read. This will make you smile from ear to ear at every scene between the couple and their secret ogling at each other down to conversations with Wes’ friends. You will have a blast!

    This eARC was provided by the Author through NetGallery.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 33 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2