Customer Reviews for

The Old Blue Line: A Joanna Brady Novella

Average Rating 4
( 41 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

The characters are the best. Read this book today.

The characters are the best. Read this book today.

posted by 11542737 on June 19, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Save your money

Shorter than I was led to believe. I thought it was going to be an 88 page novella but it's really only about 50 pages. Not really worth the cost. Was under the impression it would be about Joanna Brady but it's actually about her husband Butch, and Joanna makes a very ...
Shorter than I was led to believe. I thought it was going to be an 88 page novella but it's really only about 50 pages. Not really worth the cost. Was under the impression it would be about Joanna Brady but it's actually about her husband Butch, and Joanna makes a very small appearance at the tail end of the story. Save your money...

posted by 8447236 on July 11, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2014

    Good for a Novella

    This is really short but it is also one of the most well-written and engaging short stories I have had the pleasure to read. Stephanie Clanahan

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    The characters are the best. Read this book today.

    The characters are the best. Read this book today.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    A long awaited prequel to answer a ton of questions!!!

    Finally... we learn who Butch Dixon is!! He has been one of my favorite of Lady Jance's characters over the years, but he has only let a little about himself out to the masses. This story lets us see him back before he met Joanna and events leading up to the first meeting. Ms. Jance has always had a wonderful way with words... great descriptions of people, places and things... but she seems to have tightened everything up a bit. Still just as descriptive but here, it seems you know the character she is describing even before you realize she is describing them. And the characters are prefect for this story. Butch is being very carefully framed and old friends and new friends help him to sort the mess out. This is a must read for Joanna Brady fans... and for anyone who enjoys a darn good book!!! I am both... and I enjoyed the dickens out of it!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2014

    great novella

    It is so nice to slip into a comfortable J.A. Jance book. I enjoyed reading more about Butch. She ties up all of her lose ends so well at the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    Highly Recommend

    J.A. Jance just writes a story so good you can't put it down this one is about a man wrongly accused of murder and all the old policemen go to bat for him.i can't wait for her next Joanna a Brady book.This is a must read author!! Love this author

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    Highly recommend

    Really enjoyed- short by gave a little insight on her husband's background!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    HELP ME PLZ!!"" ASAP DONT IGNORE!!!!!!!!!!

    Ok so im about to go into high school and im really scared and nervous so i was just wondering if u guys the ones that are currently in high school or just gratuated high school could give me any tips or advice for a freshman so please help me!!!!!! Asap!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2014

    It's great to have the back story for Butch. It rounds out what

    It's great to have the back story for Butch. It rounds out what we know about the character.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    great read!

    Loved it. Quick read making you want more. Good precursor to the Johanna Brady novels

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Fun Story

    This interesting novella by author J.A. Jance ends all too quickly. It’s an intriguing story you can easily get caught up in. Narrator James Eckhouse does a great job giving the various characters their own unique voice. His interruption of the characters’ emotions and the setting enhances the author’s already captivating story. Butch Dixon, owner of the Roundhouse Bar and Grill, finds himself the prime suspect in his ex-wife’s murder. He hasn’t seen or talk to his ex in quite some time, but evidence is showing a different story. Turning to an old friend for help, Butch soon finds himself being helped by member of the Old Blue Line. He learns the group of retired law enforcement and legal professionals may be old, but they’re tenacious, cunning and a force that gets to the truth. THE OLD BLUE LINE can be listened to/read on its own. For fans of Jance’s Sheriff Joanna Brady series, this will be an added bonus learning a bit of backstory about the sheriff’s husband before they were married. It’s a fast moving story with well-developed characters. The story flows smoothly and the author’s vivid descriptions places you in the middle of the action. FTC Full Disclosure – A copy of this audio book was sent to me by the publisher in hopes I would review it. However, receiving the complimentary copy did not influence my review. The thoughts are completely my own and given honestly and freely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1