Customer Reviews for

The Old Man and the Boy

Average Rating 5
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The old man and the boy by Robert Ruark

    In a time when children were supposed to be seen and not heard, one

    " Old Man ", gave his most precious commodity , Time ,to show his

    grandson how to be a man.

    The " Boy " Robert Ruark, grew up to be a world renowned author, and

    newspaper columnist, loved and respected throughout the english speaking

    world.

    This book is a testament to what we owe to each other , Love.

    On a shelf in my den , nestled between leather bound volumes with gilt

    edged pages, are two 55 year old , worn , torn , dirty , paperback

    books taped together into one volume.

    " The old man and the boy "

    " The old mans boy grows older "

    Each little boy who has touched my life has gotten a copy of this

    truly heartwarming story.

    Sons , Grandsons , Honorary Grandsons , and Friends , This book is a

    valuable lesson , lovingly passed on from this " Old Man "

    To all " Boys ".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2009

    The Old Man And Tho Boy

    In my opinion this book is an american clasic. This book can teach yon so much. The way inwhich the author tells you of his memorys is amazeing. This book is worth its weight in gold!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2008

    Truly Amazing

    This is my father's favorite book. He always wanted me to read it, and when I finally did, I was blown away. It is one of the most vivid, moving books I have ever read. It is a true depiction of the unconditional love of family, and a look back at a time when simple things in life were appreciated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2004

    More than a book - it's a pattern:

    I just finished reading this book for the 8th. time. It is more than a book - it is a pattern, to which Grandfathers and Grandsons would be wise to form themselves. It speaks to love, dicipline, gentleness, and values in a way that we would all be wise to listen to! Buy it. I promise you won't regret it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2003

    If you haven't read this book .....

    ... and you have ANY appreciation for history and bygone times, of the people, manners, values, insights and joys of yesteryear, you REALLY need to get this book. I know of no other books, except maybe for 'Tom Sawyer' and 'Huck Finn,' that come close to this one in taking you back many years to a much different time, a much different world, and a much different people than exists today - one that in this case existed in the early 20th century. You'll get a glimpse of people of real value - the kind of people who contributed greatly to making the USA a 'Great Nation' through their toils and tears - a people who weathered the Great Depression and fought the wars of those days, and maybe understand a little about what helped them through their more trying times. Almost as though via osmosis, you'll unwittingly 'absorb' at least SOME of the values, insights, and perspectives of the people of the early 20th century, when game and sport were extraordinarily plentiful and a man's work or his social status didn't define us in quite the way it does today. In this process, you may come to understand something of why we have more of everything today, but enjoy all of it less. I knew and loved many people of that era - mostly relatives, of course - but the people portrayed in this bood are REAL, whether the characters are or not. It was different then - both the people and the country. No matter what any of our pro-modern detractors of these days and times and people may say, please remember that the people portrayed in this book really existed exactly as portrayed, and they were GOOD people and times, even considering the tremendous challenges and trials of the day. By the time you get to the end of this book, you'll get some insight - if you have the prerequisites to comprehend, and (hopefully) appreciate it - into what has been gained and what has been lost in the years intervening between us and the characters in the book. Not many books nor authors can do that today. I recommend this book highly. It will be a True Pleasure for those of us who knew and loved the folks of that period, and in all liklihood, a real learning experience for the younger readers. While tending toward the 'romantic' side, it's nevertheless VERY authentic because, as I said, I knew quite a few people of that era that would fit into these stories easily and perfectly. Oh! It's also very engagingly written, and VERY hard to put down. Enjoy! Mr. Ruark is truly one of our greatest authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2002

    Amazing. You'll be reading it to your grandchildren.

    I cannot stress enough the incredible value of this book. In the top 5 of my favorite books, it is something you will read over and over and will refer to forever to come. I borrowed it from my great grandmother, who wouldn't let me have it, and after I finished it and gave it back to her, I went out and bought my own copy and read it twice more. READ IT. It is golden.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2002

    Lesson's in life and the outdoors

    This is probably the best book I have ever read. I bought my first copy as a teenager. I'm now crowding 60 and over the years have owned several copies that I've 'loaned' to friends and they never seem to make it back to me. I have reread this book more times than I care to count. As a boy growing up in the big city and reading this book, my appetite was whetted for things I had never experienced. I managed to escape the big city a long time ago and I have gained an appreciation for the outdoors that came about from the desires spawned by these stories. Ruark has a remarkable ability to describe detail with simplicity and accuracy. His humor is heart warming and his description of food will leave you famished. This is a wonderful book for children in their early teens or later, as well as adults. There's some good lessons in life that can be learned for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2002

    This Is Good Stuff

    A timeless classic of lessons for a lifetime. Ruark made me feel as though I were part of the stories, and I could see and hear and smell everything he described. This work is full of nastalgia that makes me wish I were there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2000

    Best book I have read in my life!

    My father first gave me this book to read when I was about 12 years old. From the minute I opend the book I couldnt put it down. I live right in the same area that Robert Ruark grew up in and talk's about in his book. I have read this book at least 15 times in the past 6 years and I love it every time. This is a great book for fathers and grandfathers to give thier kids and grandkids. Every time I read this book I think of my father and grandfather. Absolutley a wonderful book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2000

    All around great book

    This is one of my all time favorites. I live in coastal North Carolina and this book vividly describes life around here. Great recounts of adventures. I usually read it at least once a year when I get cabin fever and each time I can't put it down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1