Customer Reviews for

The Old One

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Okay

    It's a decent read. Some parts could have been better. Like towards the end, where all the action starts to build up, it wasn't too "action-y" or interesting. The beginning was a little slow and it got a little boring 3/4 of the way through. Otherwise, it was a nice quick read. Since it was free, I wouldn't judge it too harshly...

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Loved it! Recommend

    Goldylox

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Loved it.

    Wish he would write a part two to this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    Great story

    Highly recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2014

    A good read

    A good story, it helped pass the time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Enjoyed it

    Pretty goood read for a short story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2013

    Fiction


    ??

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2013

    Good Read For Free

    Considering this is a free offering, its a pretty good read. A lot better than one that I refuse to even name that was only 8 pages long and read as if penned by a first grader with ADHD that I paid for! This however, while there was room for a bit more plot and character developement, was over a hundred pages; enough to build into a decent tale. Plus its free so you can't really go wrong regardless of if you like or don't like it as it cost nothing more than your time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    An original story.

    A good, fast read. It kind of reminded me of the Rock of Ages in the television miniseries Merlin and the fighting mountains in the 2012 movie The Hobbit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Great story.

    Recommend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    WHEW!!!

    Read it...think about it...then realize how terribly frightening this really is!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Nice taut horror novella. Our intrepid hero, David, is out of wo

    Nice taut horror novella. Our intrepid hero, David, is out of work and stuck in the small town of Myrtle. After a run in with the town oddity, David learns there is something in the woods something big, dangerous and very old. Fun story and and a great way to spend time in the sun

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Terrific bit of horror - recommended

    A small town in the Pacific Northwest, just 20 miles from the sea, has been cut off from the world by mudslides. David was just passing through, trying to find a town in which to settle and start a new life when he is stranded in Myrtle. While sitting in the roadhouse that first night, he is accosted by a strange, red-headed man who claims that David is ¿the one¿ ¿ while questioning other townsfolk, David learns about a disturbing local legend ¿ there is a monster in the woods, and there is a bell, and if that bell is rung, the monster will awaken and destroy the world ¿ What David learns in that small town will change his life ¿ forever¿

    This was a wonderfully perverse novella, a great little horror story. I¿ve love to see more of Brabander¿s work ¿ he has a truly gifted sense of the macabre and horrific. If you enjoy good horror, you will adore ¿The Old One.¿ Check it out!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    How would you picture The Old One?

    The Old One holds a town captive as well as the readers of this book by Todd Brabander. Let your imagine picture what is keeping this town and passers-by captive and continue staying in this small northwestern town. The locals know who The Old One is and why they stay away, but do the passers-by? As one man who is passing through town learns the secret of The Old One, the reader will live the horror along with the town.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT BOOK!!

    I really enjoyed this book! I read it in an afternoon! Had to!! It kind of had a Twlight Zone feel to it. getting stuck in a small town where everyone and everything is just a little off but no one really wants to talk about it! The way it slowly but persistently builds to the end. then it's more intense than any TZ I've ever seen, and I've seen a lot of them! Todd does a great job of describing the area, the weather, the people. the monster!!! It was easy to feel for these characters and be interested in what was happening to them! The monster was awesome! So different, but I could easily picture what I thought it would look like. It's something I could have read more about because I found myself saying "wait. where did it come from and why. what would happen if they.??"(oops... can't give too much away!) but it lets your imagination run wild which is really interesting and fun too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    If you like Stephen King or Unsolved Mysteries, You will like this book!

    really was captivated by this story. The pace was slow, however that is what made you want to keep reading. So much that I couldn't put it down. The plot was very interesting and certainly something different from what's out there. With each passing page I kept wondering what was going to happen next? What would this monster do? What was it capable of? Very fascinating. The characters were well developed and I could easily visualize them in this story. I like how there wasn't a happy or resolved ending because it adds to the mysteriousness of the story. On a deeper level the plot opens the mind up to the thought "what's really out there?" Another undertone was that there are some things in life in general that just can't be reckoned with so it's best to heed the warnings, learn from the mistakes of others and leave those things alone. But that's not the nature of man. We do it anyway. The end result is that we end up with our own story to tell, just like the main character had his own story to share at the end of the book. Very good work of fiction. A page turner. If you like the works of Stephen King, you will enjoy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2