Customer Reviews for

The Omega Project

Average Rating 3.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Alten's best in a long line of great reads. Fast paced and thril

Alten's best in a long line of great reads. Fast paced and thrilling with enough plot twists to keep you guessing the entire ride. Mixing science fiction and science fact so seamlessly you are filled with a need to research for yourself to find out what is real today an...
Alten's best in a long line of great reads. Fast paced and thrilling with enough plot twists to keep you guessing the entire ride. Mixing science fiction and science fact so seamlessly you are filled with a need to research for yourself to find out what is real today and what is a prediction of what may come. The characters are deep and believable enough that you can't help to empathize with them. A strong blend of 2001:A Space Odyssey with H.G. Wells "The Time Machine". An instant classic which ranks right up there with these works of Sci-Fi legend. A must read.

posted by Anonymous on August 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Not his best

I have been reading Mr. Alten's books from the beginning. Love his style and ability to tell a story, except for The Omega Project. I just did not enjoy the story....I feel the idea was great, but the execution of the story left me frustrated and confused.

posted by EBExton on August 20, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Not his best

    I have been reading Mr. Alten's books from the beginning. Love his style and ability to tell a story, except for The Omega Project. I just did not enjoy the story....I feel the idea was great, but the execution of the story left me frustrated and confused.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Alten's best in a long line of great reads. Fast paced and thril

    Alten's best in a long line of great reads. Fast paced and thrilling with enough plot twists to keep you guessing the entire ride. Mixing science fiction and science fact so seamlessly you are filled with a need to research for yourself to find out what is real today and what is a prediction of what may come. The characters are deep and believable enough that you can't help to empathize with them. A strong blend of 2001:A Space Odyssey with H.G. Wells "The Time Machine". An instant classic which ranks right up there with these works of Sci-Fi legend. A must read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2013

    Wow!!!! Mind blown!

    I can barely put into words the pure joy and entertainment I got out of this novel!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2013

    Steve Alten has written another SciFi classic!  This story has l

    Steve Alten has written another SciFi classic!  This story has large scale characters, settings, themes and story telli
    ng!  Heroes such as Robert Ike Eisenbraun who must traverse the world of the future after being frozen for 12 
    million years. (Or is he merely dreaming?)  He is guided by ABE, a computer chip in his brain giving Ike instant access to valuable information.  He is helped by Oscar, a land dwelling cephalopod of the future.  They must
    battle tsunami waves, steep climbs, futuristic reptiles, the AI super computer GOLEM, transhuman hybrids and st
    rrange creatures to survive and set the world back to normal.   We are taken from post Great Die Off earth to fro
    zen Antarctica to the Oceanus Submersable Sphere to future earthnwith giant redwood forests and beach front
    shores pounded by massive tidal waves.  Themes of love, hate, revenge, forgiveness, loyalty and sacrifice are
     intergral parts of the story.  I highly recommend reading this book, then immeadiately reading it again!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Great author

    I can't wait to get this!!!!!!

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2014

    Not belivable

    Seems like it was written by a teenager looking for a movie deal.

    Im a big SF fan, but this book is a candidate for Mystery Science 3000. Giving up on page 137/350.

    Where can i get my 10 bucks back?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    Couldn't get past the sample.

    Poorly written, childish characters and inconsistent butchering of basic physics. Fantasy is fine if that's the intent but to tie into present day as sci-fi for me makes it painful to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Communist garbage

    If you enjoy reading about communists' dream of computer aided mind controlled utopia, quotes by such men as Stalin and Obama and ridiculous far-fetched evolution drivel than this is the book for you. But, if you believe in the freedom of choice, individuality, the dangers of communism, and resent being beaten over the head regarding the dangers of mankind to planet Earth then this book will only serve to piss you off and scare you knowing that there are people who actually believe in such absurdity.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Fantasticc

    Well worth the read. Best book ive read all year

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I¿ve been a fan of Steve Alten for a number of years, since I f


    I’ve been a fan of Steve Alten for a number of years, since I first read MEG, probably in 2005 or so. None of his succeeding books have evoked quite the terror and sheer creepiness that one did but all have had certain qualities that keep me coming back for more and The Omega Project has kept up the tradition.

    A few elements of this book bothered me somewhat, especially the lack of worldbuilding regarding the Great Die-off and the quick jump from one story arc to another. In fact, there may be too many ideas so that none seem to be fully explored but I still enjoyed the overall concept. In particular, I’m always won over by man’s insertion into a world so vastly different from ours and Robert’s finding himself on an Earth of the very distant future was quite engaging. However, I have to say the overdone preachiness left me cold and had me skipping pages.

    I can’t claim to be a hard-core science fiction reader since I find some of it inaccessible because of an overabundance of scientific fact and/or theory that I don’t want or understand well or because it’s too heavy on the military theme. I like the kind that just offers a cracking good story with well-crafted character and plot development and strong worldbuilding. With some reservations, particularly regarding worldbuilding, moralizing and pacing, The Omega Project misses the mark a bit but is still enjoyable. I’ll be interested in seeing where Mr. Alten turns his attention next.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Steve Alten in his new book, ¿The Omega Project¿ published by Fo

    Steve Alten in his new book, “The Omega Project” published by Forge Books  introduces us to Robert Eisenbraun .




    From the back cover:   On the brink of a disaster that could end all human life on earth, tech genius Robert Eisenbraun joins a team of scientists in Antarctica on a mission to Jupiter’s moon Europa to mine a rare ore that would provide for Earth’s long-term energy needs. But as he and the rest of the team train under the ice shelf in preparation for the long journey, trouble erupts, and before they embark Eisenbraun is the odd man out, put into cold sleep against his will….




    When Robert wakes, he finds the ship deserted and not functional. He escapes to the surface of an Earth terribly changed. The plan has gone horribly wrong, but as he adapts to a hostile environment, he realizes that there is still a way to accomplish what his mission had set out to achieve. But he also discovers that he faces a new adversary of the most unlikely sort. For now,  his own survival and that of the woman whose love has sustained him in his darkest hours depend on the defeat of a technological colossus partly of his own making. Confronting a foe that knows him almost as well as he knows himself, he faces the prospect of depending on resources that he has reason to believe will be available on one particular night of a full moon, a night foretold by a mysterious unseen ally to be a pivotal moment for the fate of the earth. The game has changed, and Earth’s future depends on him and him alone.




    Back in the Sixties Author D. F. Jones gave us a trilogy about a supercomputer that took over the world called, “Colossus”.  The late Michael Crichton wrote books about science that no matter the safeguards something went terribly wrong.  Now Steve Alten gives us a story about the future that combines the two.  In the future the Earth is in terrible shape to the point where we have to mine on the moon of Jupiter.  This was decided by Eisenbraun’s computer creation, GOLEM.  So the future astronauts go into training.  When Eisenbraun comes out of deep freeze the world is in worse trouble and only he can save it.  Okay, “The Omega Project” is a very exciting thriller that is well written.  It has twists and turns that will keep you guessing.  It is science fiction mixed with espionage.  What I didn’t like was the language and the sex.  If it were a movie it would be “R” rated.  For me this detracts seriously from the book.  If this is not a problem for you then you will like this book a lot.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Partners In Crime.   I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Highly recommended

    Steve Alten writes science fiction based in facts,thus making this a possible truth in the next fifty to one hundred years. The blend of the global warming, and human relationships,mixed with the possible solution is just a thrilling page turner, could not put this book down!!! Definitely a MUST READ!!!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    Never finished it! Obviously not my genre.

    Just too wired!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2013

    Shoul i runaway?

    My life is ruined. Im only in the third week of school andim failing my classes. My parents treat me like im lower than my pet ginea pigs and never lt me see my birth mom. From Lilly. Tips or descisions arehappily accepted.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2