Customer Reviews for

The One (B&N Exclusive Edition) (Selection Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 365 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(285)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(22)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

101 out of 116 people found this review helpful.

MaxMerca (MaxMer for short)

Yeah! So excited!!! MaxMerca for the win! I honestly cannot wait to see how this suspenseful romance novel will end. Cass's books keep you waiting in pure self torture of what will happen next. Will America get caught with Aspen, will America decide (finally), or will ...
Yeah! So excited!!! MaxMerca for the win! I honestly cannot wait to see how this suspenseful romance novel will end. Cass's books keep you waiting in pure self torture of what will happen next. Will America get caught with Aspen, will America decide (finally), or will it be herself for the win. Who knows. Her books are definately a top pick for any romace lover, and also good for ones who likes some sass. Pick these books up, I dare you.

posted by Anonymous on January 1, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I cant read this book

This book will not load whatsoever.

posted by 17979178 on May 24, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 365 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    MaxMerca (MaxMer for short)

    Yeah! So excited!!! MaxMerca for the win! I honestly cannot wait to see how this suspenseful romance novel will end. Cass's books keep you waiting in pure self torture of what will happen next. Will America get caught with Aspen, will America decide (finally), or will it be herself for the win. Who knows. Her books are definately a top pick for any romace lover, and also good for ones who likes some sass. Pick these books up, I dare you.

    101 out of 116 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Its a great read.

    The first two were absolutly amazing i really encourage you to read them if not read all ready. I am really excited.

    49 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2013

    Excited

    I am thrilled to see Cass's final novel and how things will turn out for America. This series is a pleasure to read.

    43 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Can't wait

    My friend made me read the selection and I loved it! Then I read the elite and I can't wait for the one! Definatly recememd the selection and the elite!

    40 out of 54 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    A wonderful series

    The first book I read of this series. I was hook

    33 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    One of the best series ive ever read

    They are amazingly good booky you should read

    31 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    READ NOW.

    AHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH. That is really All. I. Can. Say. after reading this. This series is so amazing... I started this yesterday and read for an hour or two. I finished the book at exactly 8:47 tonight. And let me just say one thing, I LOVE YOU MAXON SCHREAVE. Oh and maybe one more thing.... If you have not already, pick up the Selection and stay up all night reading if you must, read the Elite, and finally READ THE ONE!!!!
    Read. Ok why are you still reading this review instead of reading this series? I thought I had made myself perfectly clear.
    You. Are. Still. Here.
    READ.
    Ok that's it I'm done writing now so that I am no longer distracting for those of you who would rather read my review on the most amazing books ever than actuay READING the most amazing books ever.

    GO AND READ ALREADY.
    NOW.

    29 out of 32 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    Smashing Finale Whew...what a read!  I don't want to give too m

    Smashing Finale

    Whew...what a read!  I don't want to give too much away but for those of you who are romantics like I am, who also love twists and turns, and of course love our feisty America and moral compass, The One (The Selection #3) by Kiera Cass will not disappoint!  Cass wraps up her trilogy masterfully and gives readers a sense of hope in our constantly dysfunctional world.

    Let me just start by saying, I have absolutely not idea how writers keep everything straight!  Like all the little details...it's incredible.  Cass will pull something out from The Selection (The Selection #1) or The Elite (The Selection #2) and makes readers stop and think, "oh right, that happened."  Master of her cart that Cass.  So beyond her impeccable attention to detail Cass was able to write a clear and loud voice for America that stayed relatively steady throughout the series.  

    America has got to be one of my favorite leading ladies if only for her flair for the dramatics and her clever ways to get around King Clarkson time and time again.  I can feel her struggle and confusion around Prince Maxon and Aspen.  One one hand she has familiarity of a boy she thought she had a forever with and on the other hand she has a prince who snuck in unexpectedly and turned her world and heart upside-down.  So who will she choose?  

    The world building continues in The One and I loved how it really showcases the differences between life in the palace and life beyond with the rebels and how that line is becoming more and more blurred as the conflict starts to seep within the walls of Illea. It's a good social/political discussion and makes us all pause to think about the differences between classes and how that either empowers people or disenfranchises and that unbalance can lead to unrest and that unrest to rebellion.  

    The overlying plot, however, is mainly centered around the selection process and the growing relationship between America and Prince Maxon.  Can either ever fully trust the other?  Would you?  I have always wondered how those girls of The Bachelorette do it, knowing that every night he's cuddling with other girls.  That is of course America's concern as well.  How does she know that she can trust Maxon when he could very well be doing the exact same things and saying the same words to the remaining ladies?  On Maxon's side too, he know's America has a past and has loved, and can someone really love him for him despite all the chains and responsibilities of palace life?  Will they both be able to open their hearts fully to another or does a certain soldier *cough* Aspen *cough* still hold the key to America's heart?

    All in all, a really wonderful read and wrap up to the series.  I could not have ended it better in my head.  I for one, was complete happy and at peace for how Cass closed up The Selection Series.  Bravo!  I can't wait to see what the future holds for this talented author.

    24 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    LOVE THE SERIES

    My friend told me about the series and i just had read it. I love this series now. The book needs to hurry up and come out already!

    23 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    .....oh my

    I have no clue how to describe this book. It was so amazing and heart stopping. I cried, and laughed. I really enjoyed this series. Kiera, PLEASE, PLEASE continue making books.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    WHO WILL WIN? (GO MAXON!!!!)

    Got up at 5:30 this morning, jumped out of bed, just to get the book. Thank you kiera cass. MAXON HAS TO WIN!!!

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Co.

    H

    9 out of 111 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    Great Book, Horrible Ending

    I love this book more than I could express to you guys.! But I also hate the ending. I was totally disappointed when I reached the ending. Please, Kiera, write another book! We need to know what happens! Or, please write a sequel series. Just please, with all my heart I say this, tell us what happens. I will need Aspen, America, Maxon, Mary, Lucy, Anne, and whoever else I left out, in my life through these amazing books for a little while longer. So please, don't leave me hanging.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Couldn't put it down!

    Such a a wonderful book to end this amazing story, I actually read the whole book in about 5 hours. It was definetly worth the wait! My only side note is that I felt the ending was a little rushed. I would have liked to see 20 or so more pages about the aftermath of the climax. Other than that, I highly recommend the book!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    I cant read this book

    This book will not load whatsoever.

    7 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Oh Hello

    Oh Hello! Dont mind me i'm just a comment passing through, carry on! :)











    Did I at least get a small smile out of you?

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Loved it!

    Read it all through the night when it was released, finshed it in 8 hours. Could NOT put it down. I would recommend this series to my best friend and my worst enemy just so they can see what i got to experience! Lol.

    Trust me read it. And now that they are all released you dont have wait to read the next book, like me. Keep going till the end - then again you wont have choice because the story wont let you put it down.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2014

    READ THIS;

    Celeste gets shot. And dies.
    Maxon dissolves the cas system.
    America marries maxon and becomes queen.

    5 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2014

    Wow. I feel as if I just lost a friend, after following this ser

    Wow. I feel as if I just lost a friend, after following this series from the beginning. What an absolutely gorgeous way to end the series. I couldn't have asked for anything better. Mrs. Cass definitely left me with a feeling of completeness and had me on the edge of my seat the whole book. You will cry. You will laugh. And you'll fall even more in love with the characters you already know. This book is amazing, and now that it's all over...I don't know what to do.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2014

    If only there weren't others...

    While I enjoyed the series, I think that the fact I've read so many distopian teen books ruined it somewhat. It was the same protagonist female main character in the future when the United States (and other democracies) have fallen. In place of the "ruined" form of government came a monarchy, oligarchy, communist rule, etc. Then this average girl (who is usually poor, deeply believes in whats right, loves her family, and has somehow escaped inheriting the blindness of her society) worms her way into a position to take down said government and decide which boy she wants to marry. They go on this life-changing adventure and gain/loose friends and enemies along the way and bring down the government. This happens in Divergent, Matched, The Hunger Games, The Selection Series, and probably a lot more books. While this form of writing shows the worries and ideas of teen fiction writers, its getting a bit stale. If I hadn't read things like the Hunger Games and Matched, it would've recieved 5 stars from me because of the intricate love triangle of the three and the look into the complexities of a monarchy. :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 365 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 19