Customer Reviews for

The One I Left Behind

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

She did it again!

Excellent book. One of my favorite authors. Just when you think you know who the bad guy is....your thrown for another loop. Read this and every one of her books.

posted by Anonymous on January 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It was ooookay

She has a way to make people gasp but I think I expected too much after reading the book summary.

posted by 11301551 on January 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    She did it again!

    Excellent book. One of my favorite authors. Just when you think you know who the bad guy is....your thrown for another loop. Read this and every one of her books.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Oh how to describe a book like this!  Reggie is a quiet girl who

    Oh how to describe a book like this!  Reggie is a quiet girl who is in love with her best friend and believes the world of her mother.  When a serial killer abducts her mother, she not only loses a parent, but she learns many truths about her mother that she was not yet ready to face.  In the midst of tragedy the friends set out to solve the mystery themselves to a disastrous result.  Fast forward twenty-five years and Reggie's mother is found and she must go home to face the demons that she couldn't face as a child.  But with her mother's return comes the return of the serial killer, Neptune.  Once again, Reggie finds that tragedy hits close to home. But this time, is she strong enough to face it?




    This is such an engrossing read that has a bit of everything.  It's a mystery, a coming of age, and story about friendship.  The chapters alternate between the present, the past, and excerpts from a book written about the serial killer, Neptune.  The latter felt like a bonus because it was unique and the voice read so different from that of Reggie.  I felt the middle dragged a little in terms of pacing but the last 150 pages or so had me sitting on the edge of my seat.  I tried to guess the serial killer and was confident in my choice but failed miserably.  I loved how there was a big mystery and a few mini-mysteries that were gradually unveiled throughout the read.  Toward the end my feelings about so many of the characters shifted dramatically.  I thought I knew them, but then a rug was pulled out of my feet and I was left a bit incredulous.  And I loved every minute of it.




    Overall, a great coming of age crime mystery book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Great book!

    This is one of Jennifer McMahon's best boos so far. Great readM

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Wonderful!

    I have been in a slump and couldn't find anything to keep my interest. This book just reached out and grabbed me - I couldn't put it down! New author for me but definitely not the last book I will read. Very excited about her!!"

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Great read that kept me very interested.

    This was a great book that easily moved back and forth from the character's adolescence to current time. The mystery of the Neptune serial murderer kept my interest and surprised me in the end.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Another great book!

    Couldn't put it down. I can't wait for her next book!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Great Book!

    This is the first book I have read by this author and now i'm hooked. Definitely reading all her books now.
    LOVED IT!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Had me from page one. Well written with twists I didn't see coming.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2013

    Ok would not bother reading again

    Ok

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2013

    It was ooookay

    She has a way to make people gasp but I think I expected too much after reading the book summary.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Anonymous

    Book was okay. The idea of the book was good but it got long winded towards the end. Good book to read when there's nothing else.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Suspenseful!

    This was the first book I read by McMahon and I became an instant fan! The story was very interesting and I really like the main chracter Reggie. I loved how McMahon flips from past to present while she unfolds the mysteries of this novel. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ending each chapter in a cliff hanger drove me wild, and kept me

    Ending each chapter in a cliff hanger drove me wild, and kept me up reading into the wee hours of the morning.
    This is a story about 13 year old Reggie, It is the summer of 1985 and there is a serial killer called Neptune on the loose in a small town in Connecticut. He kidnaps and kills women, cuts off their right hand putting it for display out in the open and it isn't until days later that the police find the rest of the victims body.
    Reggie’s wild and beautiful mother Vera is taken and when the police find her right hand, all hope is lost. They never do find her body though…what does this mean? Is she really dead? Is she in
    Cahoots with Neptune? Has her body just not been found?
    When Vera goes missing it throws Reggie’s life in to turmoil and she goes to live with her Aunt Lorraine, Vera’s sister, years later after Reggie has made a new, yet troubled life for herself, her aunt calls her back home to tell her, well… I don’t want to spoil the ending for you. You will just have to read it for yourself to find out what makes Reggie rush home to hear what her aunt has to say.
    The story moves back and forth in time from Reggie as a child to Reggie as a troubled adult.
    The One I Left Behind is full of twists and turns and just when you think you have it figured out, you don’t.
    I had not read anything by Ms. McMahon before, so glad to make her acquaintance and looking Forward to reading more from her in the future

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2013

    Awesome!

    She truly keeps you guessing! I have read all her books and am anxiously awaiting her next, one of my favorite authors! Must read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Worth reading

    Alot of times throughout the story there was too much detail like who cares what color shirt a character is wearing just get to the point but even though it wasn't a fast read it was worth it really good story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Another must read and McMahon does not disappoint.

    I have read and absolutely adored every one of McMahon's novels. THE ONE I LEFT BEHIND did not disappoint in any way or fashion. The plot was flawless, characters that are seemingly true to life and a terrible story in a small town goes awry too fast. It's true; Jennifer McMahon has a signature style when it comes to writing. For me, it's like a breath of fresh air. There's no other story alike and I could try to figure out what is happening...what will be at the end but that would do me no good. McMahon writes a story so intriguing and so absolutely tight at the seams that you will never sum up the end until you intact reach the end. While reading this story about young Reggie you will learn how young friendships influence and have the greatest impact on said friends. Reggie is an only child growing up with a mother that has secrets, not only secrets but an entirely shady life. Everyone involved or close to Vera allows her live this delusional life, the life the way that she sees it. Young Reggie clings to some type of normalcy and seeks out friends Tara and Charlie to try and fill that emptiness. During that crazy summer when Reggie was only thirteen, the small town she lives in inherits a serial killer. This is the biggest thing that has ever happened and everyone is intrigued, then as lady after lady disappears and the reappears dead, the town begins to panic. Reggie and her friends become consumed with the murders and trying to find out who this mysterious serial killer may be until one day the missing woman turns out to be none other than Vera, Reggie's mother. Now all they can do is to wait for Vera's body to turn up just like all the others have. Only this time is different. Vera doesn't show up like the others. She doesn't show up until 25 years later and she is alive.... Now 25 years later and it's Reggie who must go back and try to solve the mysterious identity of the serial killer.. before it's too late.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Eh.,

    Ive read most of this author's books and this was my least favorite. Just seemed all over the place.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2014

    Very good!

    We read this for our book club, Hooters of a Feather, and we all thought it was very good.
    You would think you had it figured out and then it would switch! Very much recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Love it

    Love this book my first book read by jennifer and it was so wonderful I kept reading the rest of her books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Anonymous

    Really enjoyed this book. Great suspense and not had to keep track bouncing back and forth between 25 years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 46 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3