Customer Reviews for

The One I Left Behind

Average Rating 4.5
( 46 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

She did it again!

Excellent book. One of my favorite authors. Just when you think you know who the bad guy is....your thrown for another loop. Read this and every one of her books.

posted by Anonymous on January 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

It was ooookay

She has a way to make people gasp but I think I expected too much after reading the book summary.

posted by 11301551 on January 18, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 24, 2013

    Oh how to describe a book like this!  Reggie is a quiet girl who

    Oh how to describe a book like this!  Reggie is a quiet girl who is in love with her best friend and believes the world of her mother.  When a serial killer abducts her mother, she not only loses a parent, but she learns many truths about her mother that she was not yet ready to face.  In the midst of tragedy the friends set out to solve the mystery themselves to a disastrous result.  Fast forward twenty-five years and Reggie's mother is found and she must go home to face the demons that she couldn't face as a child.  But with her mother's return comes the return of the serial killer, Neptune.  Once again, Reggie finds that tragedy hits close to home. But this time, is she strong enough to face it?




    This is such an engrossing read that has a bit of everything.  It's a mystery, a coming of age, and story about friendship.  The chapters alternate between the present, the past, and excerpts from a book written about the serial killer, Neptune.  The latter felt like a bonus because it was unique and the voice read so different from that of Reggie.  I felt the middle dragged a little in terms of pacing but the last 150 pages or so had me sitting on the edge of my seat.  I tried to guess the serial killer and was confident in my choice but failed miserably.  I loved how there was a big mystery and a few mini-mysteries that were gradually unveiled throughout the read.  Toward the end my feelings about so many of the characters shifted dramatically.  I thought I knew them, but then a rug was pulled out of my feet and I was left a bit incredulous.  And I loved every minute of it.




    Overall, a great coming of age crime mystery book.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Suspenseful!

    This was the first book I read by McMahon and I became an instant fan! The story was very interesting and I really like the main chracter Reggie. I loved how McMahon flips from past to present while she unfolds the mysteries of this novel. I highly recommend this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Ending each chapter in a cliff hanger drove me wild, and kept me

    Ending each chapter in a cliff hanger drove me wild, and kept me up reading into the wee hours of the morning.
    This is a story about 13 year old Reggie, It is the summer of 1985 and there is a serial killer called Neptune on the loose in a small town in Connecticut. He kidnaps and kills women, cuts off their right hand putting it for display out in the open and it isn't until days later that the police find the rest of the victims body.
    Reggie’s wild and beautiful mother Vera is taken and when the police find her right hand, all hope is lost. They never do find her body though…what does this mean? Is she really dead? Is she in
    Cahoots with Neptune? Has her body just not been found?
    When Vera goes missing it throws Reggie’s life in to turmoil and she goes to live with her Aunt Lorraine, Vera’s sister, years later after Reggie has made a new, yet troubled life for herself, her aunt calls her back home to tell her, well… I don’t want to spoil the ending for you. You will just have to read it for yourself to find out what makes Reggie rush home to hear what her aunt has to say.
    The story moves back and forth in time from Reggie as a child to Reggie as a troubled adult.
    The One I Left Behind is full of twists and turns and just when you think you have it figured out, you don’t.
    I had not read anything by Ms. McMahon before, so glad to make her acquaintance and looking Forward to reading more from her in the future

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Worth reading

    Alot of times throughout the story there was too much detail like who cares what color shirt a character is wearing just get to the point but even though it wasn't a fast read it was worth it really good story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2014

    Anonymous

    Really enjoyed this book. Great suspense and not had to keep track bouncing back and forth between 25 years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    Seems good i dont know if i want to read it

    Any syggestions?

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1