Customer Reviews for

The One & Only

Average Rating 3
( 209 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(78)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

20 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

Emily Giffin's Best Yet! The One and Only

All you faithful fans of best-selling author, Emily Giffin— will be applauding her latest book, THE ONLY AND ONLY.

Yes, she knows how to write chick lit, as I am one of her biggest fans, as have read ALL her books. Yes, Something Borrowed and Something Blue and all ...
All you faithful fans of best-selling author, Emily Giffin— will be applauding her latest book, THE ONLY AND ONLY.

Yes, she knows how to write chick lit, as I am one of her biggest fans, as have read ALL her books. Yes, Something Borrowed and Something Blue and all the others, were totally awesome—yet she tackled a challenging and different type of relationship in THE ONE AND ONLY ---pulling it off as a winning touchdown, with another five star bestseller winner!

THE ONE AND ONLY is her best novel yet, and sure to rise to the top of the charts quickly. Of course, there is much publicity about this book and the controversial nature, however, making it even sexier! (guys will love it)

Every author has to expand their writing; hey, not every book has to be about trendy and chic Manhattan. I thought it was brilliant—who knows go “big or go home, big hair, and football”, better than the South (Texas), and especially Dallas Cowboys? JR would have been proud!

You have funny, sexy, and complicated! This book will make you laugh out loud. Highly recommend the audiobook, as Sofia Willingham was the true Texan with her lazy southern accent and so sexy, pulling you into the story and drama. (Performer for The Stark Trilogy).

Think, funny, sexy, sarcastic, like Jennifer Weiner and controversial topics of sports and domestic abuse, with dynamic highly charged family dynamics of Jodi Picoult style, mixed with a little of football passion of The Blindside, and smart, and genuine Emily Giffin style ---and you have the unique version of The One and Only.

Thirty-three year old Shea Rigsby, a small-town Texan college girl from Walker, Texas who lives for football, especially college football. She works for the local university, which has a strong football team coached by Clive Carr, the father of Shea's best friend Lucy.

As the book opens, Lucy’s mom Connie dies, due to cancer and they are attending the funeral. Connie Carr is the matriarch of the family and the glue holding them all together.

Lucy is more on the conservative type - pearls, and classic Southern belle), married to Neil with daughter, brother, Lawton. Shea is beautiful but not a girls girl – she is more a sports freak and is turned on with football and stats.

Shea’s parents are divorced, so she grew up around the Carr family. . Coach Carr is her role model, as she lives and breathes football. (Literally). Shea is very loyal to her friend.

As she makes decisions about her career and her dating life, (wanting to escape her boring life to do something different). She breaks up with her boyfriend (he wants to maintain the friends with benefit status) NO thanks ----

Shea takes an exciting job working as a sports editor for The Dallas Post—as they are investigating Walker. She also begins dating the high profile Ryan, famous quarterback for the Dallas Cowboys – the guy any woman would fall for. Think Porsche, money, looks, abs, hot body– he has it all, and is in love with Shea . . . A few minor problems: Ryan is violent, and controlling (his ex-wife has already warned her). And, Shea is in love with Coach Carr and cannot stop thinking about him!

As she finally gives up her safety net to set out on an unexpected path, Shea discovers unsettling truths about the people and things she has always trusted most - and is forced to confront her deepest desires, fears, and secrets. The One and Only is a novel about finding your passion, your love, and following y

posted by quaintinns on May 24, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

31 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Terrible

I have read everything by Giffin and usually really enjoy the novels as a fun summer read. This one made me uncomfortable since the main character who was boring and only cared about football falls in love with her father figure. Ew. Not interested in reading a book ...
I have read everything by Giffin and usually really enjoy the novels as a fun summer read. This one made me uncomfortable since the main character who was boring and only cared about football falls in love with her father figure. Ew. Not interested in reading a book about a quasi-incestuous relationship. I really enjoy football (although I cannot relate at all to the Texas football culture or Texas in general) but between the cliche characters and endless football stats and rants about the NCAA this book was terrible. It needs mentioning again, the whole father figure part was AWKWARD and GROSS.

posted by 5948769 on May 24, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Not my favorite

    I have read all the other Emily Griffin books and usually enjoy her characters and writing style.

    I this book I really struggled with the overpowering reference to football - which I thought as a theme I'd enjoy because I do love football. However, the main character's obsession with it is one thing, but almost all the dialogue between the characters revolves around football - current team, historical players, etc... I found myself skipping page after page of dialogue.

    Spoiler alert if you don't want to know the main twist of the book!
    I found it sort of creepy her "evolving" love interest with the coach. I mean, the wife is dead a few months and she starts having feelings for a guy she's known as a father figure since she was 5 - the father of her best friend her entire life?? The age difference really wasn't an issue for me, it was the fact her relationship with this man started as a very young child and he was a mentor, father figure, hero to her all the while she was growing up. I have a hard time believing you would have romantic feelings for a man that you've known since you were 5, and all of a sudden at 32 you find you want to jump his bones.

    Just an odd book.

    16 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2014

    This is not Emily Giffins's best work. The book is boring and ve

    This is not Emily Giffins's best work. The book is boring and very predictable. It would have been more interestinghad she wrote more about the hidden relationship of Shea and Clive, instead of how muchShea worshipped him.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    ....

    Hisses. Looks at snakestar what was that for? *Snowclaw*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    One and Only

    I've read all of her books and I just didn't enjoy this one. It seemed at times that the author was more intent on making it clear that her knowledge of football..... plays, calls, stats, and records were of utmost importance. Way too much rambling of football and not enough story line. It just didn't come across as a story. I've loved all her other books so I'm hoping her next work will be as page-turning as her previous novels.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    XQwypq

    Afqqra rlqeQyadCqzqcbBBZaqXbutqqealprqaadX

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    It is always a delight to run into Emily Giffin each year she ha

    It is always a delight to run into Emily Giffin each year she has a new novel come out. This year with The One and Only she has a new publisher Random House and a different direction in her writing. I am always excited to read or listen to her novel and can’t wait to share this one!
    Synopsis:
    Shea has grown up with Walker Football and Coach Carr and his family. Her best friend is Lucy Carr. Shea is a Sports Information assistant at Walker. It keeps her close to her first love Walker football. After the death of Connie Carr the coach’s wife circumstances begin to change between Shea and Coach Carr. He encourages her to take a job with the Dallas Post and gets to date the quarterback of the Dallas Cowboys Ryan James. Is this truly enough? Shea finds that her thoughts often turning to the coach. While dating Ryan a tragedy occurs that shakes Shea’s foundation to the core. Will she be able to let go of the past?
    My Thoughts:
    A new direction has brought a different path in Emily’s writing which has led to the world of sports. I know that she is a big fan of college sports. I am surprised that this novel was not set in Winston Salem at Wake Forest where she went to school. Texas works very well in this story especially about football. It is huge in Texas so a very appropriate setting.
    When I was in college I was persuing a degree in Athletic Training. I was exposed to this career in high school prior to this I was very interested in Shea’s position as a Sport’s Information Assistant. I very much identified with the story. The tragedy mentioned is accurate to what can happen with athletes. I loved that Emily had her character stand up for what is right. The only problem for me was Shea’s relationship with coach Carr which borders on obsessive. I loved the narration by Sofia Willingham.
    I look forward to the next novel from Emily! by Jencey Gortney/ Writer's Corner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 27, 2014

    I am a HUGE Emily fan and have read all her books. It was alrigh

    I am a HUGE Emily fan and have read all her books. It was alright, was a little disappointed but still a easy read.
    Looking forward to another by Emily.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Probably the best part of this book is the reference to one of E

    Probably the best part of this book is the reference to one of Emily's previous stories "Heart of the
    Matter."  That book left a lot of loose ends so it was a pleasant surprise when she made mention
    of Charlie (the little boy who was burned) and his "Daddy" Lion.  I love the way Emily refers back to
    previous characters.  Maybe her next book will enlighten us about what happened to Nick, Tessa and
    Valerie.  

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    Quick read

    It was okay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Giffin fan

    I have read all of Emily Giffin's books & couldn't wait to read this one. However, I feel it was lacking in character & relationship development. The romance between Coach Carr & Shea seemed rushed, more on his end. I finished the book and still enjoyed Gifffin's humor, especially Shea's druken calls to Coach. Hopefully there is more to come, maybe a sequel like with Something Blue, to give us more on these characters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2014

    Not bad, not overly impressed

    The book wasn't bad. It was a quick easy ready and held my interest. More of a summer beach read...there wasn't too much substance to it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I personally enjoyed the book.  However, I did not read it with

    I personally enjoyed the book.  However, I did not read it with the thought in mind that it was a "typical love story"  This book is about relationships.  The main character's father hadn't been there in her life.  Any time she spends with him is always with the whole NEW family included.  I can understand why she feels the love that she does for the coach, he loves football as does she, has always been there for her too.  The thing I don't like is the fact that the coach knew her since he was a baby!!  Ewww...  Shea's feelings I could understand.  His never!!  Kind of disgusting that a man would fall in love with a woman who he has known his entire life, could have even changed her diaper.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2014

    This book is average thus the 3 stars. I personally enjoyed it. 

    This book is average thus the 3 stars. I personally enjoyed it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    Pretty disappointed

    I love Emily Giffin's writing and have read all her books. I was really looking forward to this one but was very disappointed. It could have been so much more interesting. It was just so shallow. Sorry, Emily.




    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    It was not Emilys It was not her best work.

    The ending leaves you wondering what happens next. Nothing felt wrapped up.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    Anonymous

    Good••Heart of the Matter still my favorite!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2