BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The One & Only

Average Rating 3
( 219 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(55)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(84)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

Emily Giffin's Best Yet! The One and Only

All you faithful fans of best-selling author, Emily Giffin— will be applauding her latest book, THE ONLY AND ONLY.

Yes, she knows how to write chick lit, as I am one of her biggest fans, as have read ALL her books. Yes, Something Borrowed and Something Blue and all ...
All you faithful fans of best-selling author, Emily Giffin— will be applauding her latest book, THE ONLY AND ONLY.

Yes, she knows how to write chick lit, as I am one of her biggest fans, as have read ALL her books. Yes, Something Borrowed and Something Blue and all the others, were totally awesome—yet she tackled a challenging and different type of relationship in THE ONE AND ONLY ---pulling it off as a winning touchdown, with another five star bestseller winner!

THE ONE AND ONLY is her best novel yet, and sure to rise to the top of the charts quickly. Of course, there is much publicity about this book and the controversial nature, however, making it even sexier! (guys will love it)

Every author has to expand their writing; hey, not every book has to be about trendy and chic Manhattan. I thought it was brilliant—who knows go “big or go home, big hair, and football”, better than the South (Texas), and especially Dallas Cowboys? JR would have been proud!

You have funny, sexy, and complicated! This book will make you laugh out loud. Highly recommend the audiobook, as Sofia Willingham was the true Texan with her lazy southern accent and so sexy, pulling you into the story and drama. (Performer for The Stark Trilogy).

Think, funny, sexy, sarcastic, like Jennifer Weiner and controversial topics of sports and domestic abuse, with dynamic highly charged family dynamics of Jodi Picoult style, mixed with a little of football passion of The Blindside, and smart, and genuine Emily Giffin style ---and you have the unique version of The One and Only.

Thirty-three year old Shea Rigsby, a small-town Texan college girl from Walker, Texas who lives for football, especially college football. She works for the local university, which has a strong football team coached by Clive Carr, the father of Shea's best friend Lucy.

As the book opens, Lucy’s mom Connie dies, due to cancer and they are attending the funeral. Connie Carr is the matriarch of the family and the glue holding them all together.

Lucy is more on the conservative type - pearls, and classic Southern belle), married to Neil with daughter, brother, Lawton. Shea is beautiful but not a girls girl – she is more a sports freak and is turned on with football and stats.

Shea’s parents are divorced, so she grew up around the Carr family. . Coach Carr is her role model, as she lives and breathes football. (Literally). Shea is very loyal to her friend.

As she makes decisions about her career and her dating life, (wanting to escape her boring life to do something different). She breaks up with her boyfriend (he wants to maintain the friends with benefit status) NO thanks ----

Shea takes an exciting job working as a sports editor for The Dallas Post—as they are investigating Walker. She also begins dating the high profile Ryan, famous quarterback for the Dallas Cowboys – the guy any woman would fall for. Think Porsche, money, looks, abs, hot body– he has it all, and is in love with Shea . . . A few minor problems: Ryan is violent, and controlling (his ex-wife has already warned her). And, Shea is in love with Coach Carr and cannot stop thinking about him!

As she finally gives up her safety net to set out on an unexpected path, Shea discovers unsettling truths about the people and things she has always trusted most - and is forced to confront her deepest desires, fears, and secrets. The One and Only is a novel about finding your passion, your love, and following y

posted by quaintinns on May 24, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

32 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Terrible

I have read everything by Giffin and usually really enjoy the novels as a fun summer read. This one made me uncomfortable since the main character who was boring and only cared about football falls in love with her father figure. Ew. Not interested in reading a book ...
I have read everything by Giffin and usually really enjoy the novels as a fun summer read. This one made me uncomfortable since the main character who was boring and only cared about football falls in love with her father figure. Ew. Not interested in reading a book about a quasi-incestuous relationship. I really enjoy football (although I cannot relate at all to the Texas football culture or Texas in general) but between the cliche characters and endless football stats and rants about the NCAA this book was terrible. It needs mentioning again, the whole father figure part was AWKWARD and GROSS.

posted by 5948769 on May 24, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 24, 2014

    So, obviously this book has received some pretty harsh (unwarran

    So, obviously this book has received some pretty harsh (unwarranted, IMHO) reviews but I feel the need to defend it as I really enjoyed this novel. A bold plot-line to say the least, but Giffin pulled it off flawlessly. I think she did a great job of portraying a likeable protagonist who is consumed by one single passion (I can relate, mine is books, ha). Without giving anything away here, she didn't dwell on the childhood, which was good I feel like the book portrays real life in that we don't choose who we have chemistry with and who we fall in love with. Other than Something Borrowed, this is prob. my favorite Emily Giffin novel.
    If you like her books, you may also like:
    What Alice Forgot and Three Wishes, by Liane Moriarty, and Beautiful Day by Elin Hilderbrand.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2014

    Maybe I'm in the minority, but I actually really enjoyed this bo

    Maybe I'm in the minority, but I actually really enjoyed this book. The plot may not be typical Giffin, but it was captivating. I'm a huge football fan, so that probably helped. I found myself relating to the main character, Shea. I don't know... the story seemed more realistic than the usual fairytale romance often found in so-called "chick lit" books. Romance isn't always wrapped up with a bow and it's not always PC.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2014

    I really enjoyed the book & I'm pretty shocked so many peopl

    I really enjoyed the book & I'm pretty shocked so many people didn't. I love all of Emily Giffin's work & I loved that this one was so different.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    An Interesting Page-Turner of a Romance That Has Appeal for Both Sexes

    Despite being an Emily Giffin virgin, I was pretty sure that I knew where this story was going before I picked it up...and I was pleasantly surprised that while I was more or less right, it was a couple shades away from what I thought it would be. The talk about football and the laid-back nature of the protagonist was a welcome relief, but as the plot continued to unfold I hoped that the narrative would delve deeper than it ultimately did. Giffin touches on some important topics throughout, but I found myself not necessarily agreeing with her view on all of them; partially due to a lack of fully fleshing out her themes in favor of exploring romance (Then again, that IS kind of the point of this genre, isn't it?). While I did enjoy the story and found it surprisingly relatable and hard to put down, the resolution was shoddy and left me feeling like I wanted my experience with Emily Giffin's writing to remain a somewhat enjoyable one-night stand.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2014

    The One & Only ¿ Emily Giffin I may not know much about foot

    The One & Only – Emily Giffin
    I may not know much about football logistics, but Emily Giffin’s character Shea had me “getting” the game, more than I had in all the years of watching it myself at your typical football party. So, for all of you that may dislike this novel for the mere fact that you do not like football, or “Texas Loving Football fans”; I suggest you read this, because it is not about the football…it is about the way life compares to it. And, you do not need to understand plays, stats or anything else. Shea Rigsby and Coach Clive Carr will tell you all you need to know.
    The book begins with a tragedy that weaves a web throughout the entire book.
    Shea Rigsby is at the core of this story about the circumstances surrounding love and loyalty intersecting. I am sure a lot of people will judge this book for its morale epicenter, but that is exactly why I cherished it. Emily Giffin went out on a ledge to bring us a book that would truly challenge our own personal ethics code. Isn’t that what a good book is all about, anyway! Giving us all something to talk about!
    This is not your typical run-of-the-mill romantic, easy-going, chick-lit novel. She goes beyond that, as I gasped at certain parts because I was so tickled by her story telling. She took turns introducing vivid characters that were unexpected. Until the very last sentence I had no idea what was going to happen. That is enough to keep you turning the page.
    The bottom line is that Shea is a woman who knows what she wants, but; is she willing to lose her best friend, mother, job, and entire family in the process.
    Here’s to watching my next football game!
    As Coach Carr said in the book; “You’re either in our out. No Fair-weather fan’s allowed”
    Isn’t that a lot like life??

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2014

    I lied I luked I thought it was great

    Unlike a lot of the reviews I enjoyed this read. I thought it was a good plot and easily developed into a nice summer read. If you have enjoyed her books in the past i dont understand how this one disappoints. I enjoyed the story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I loved this book! After reading so

    WONDERFUL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    I loved this book! After reading some of the reviews I was unsure if I wanted to read this book but I am soooo glad I went ahead and read it. Being a big SEC fan (Is there any other conference anyway?) And a huge DC Fan (America's team) this book was awesome to me from start to finish. I loved the main character she was loyal through and through to her team and her friend. For people who think her falling for coach Carr was strange no it was not she never said he was a father figure she said he was a great father there is a difference.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Another great read from Ms. Giffin. Did I enjoy this book: I di

    Another great read from Ms. Giffin.

    Did I enjoy this book: I did enjoy this book. It kept me hooked from beginning to end. I didn’t want to put it down.




    Shea Rigsby isn’t your average woman. She is a die-hard Walker Broncos fan. She knows football like most people know the back of their hands. It’s not a “here are a few talking points that I ripped from the headlines” knowledge; it’s a “I memorized every Sports Illustrated article ever written and I could call most of the plays and be right” type of knowledge. I liked Shea from the beginning.




    Lucy kind of rubbed me the wrong way. She is Shea’s best friend, but she’s going through a hard time. She just lost her mom, and she is realizing that she isn’t that close to her dad, the infamous Coach Carr. Lucy also realizes that Shea has a closer relationship with her dad than she does. Coach Carr is your stereotypical good-guy coach. I liked him from the beginning. But I was surprised by a few things. Ryan James — hotshot quarterback for the Cowboys, Walker alum — is back in town and after Shea. He definitely rubbed me the wrong way, but he had some good moments, too. There’s a story there.




    There was only one story line–Shea’s dad, his wife, and their daughter–that seemed like it didn’t really belong. I didn’t quite see how it fit into the big picture. I got the point with Shea’s dad, and he fit in well with the story. But the wife and daughter were distractions in an otherwise great story.




    The One & Only was another great read from Ms. Giffin. I will definitely buy a hard copy of this book to add to her other books sitting on my shelves. The story makes you happy, sad, giddy, excited, stressed, angry, you name it. All of this and great football moments as well. It was as if I were watching the plays instead of reading them. I felt like I was there rooting for the Walker Broncos along with Shea.




    Would I recommend it: Absolutely! Ms. Giffin is an always buy author for me.




    (I received a complimentary copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2014

    AMAZING

    I disagree with alot of the reviews I've read. This book was great. Its different to read about a WOMAN who has such a love & passion for the game of football. All the whilefiguring out what she wants out of life. It was heartfelt & full of great emotion. Amazing...

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2014

    Loved this book! Loved the characters and loved the story. The

    Loved this book! Loved the characters and loved the story. The Texas and football backdrop to the story was a fantastic bonus!

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2014

    First Place

    Great family story, good love story, loyal friend story, ansd sports story. What more could you want?

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2014

    3.5 Stars! ¿Eagerly-awaiting new novel¿ is right! I just lov

    3.5 Stars!




    “Eagerly-awaiting new novel” is right! I just love Emily Giffin. I’ve read every book she’s written, and I’ve loved them all. My first Emily Giffin Book, Something Borrowed, was the very first “chick lit” book I ever read, and it opened to my mind to this whole new genre that I instantly fell in love with. As I don’t much care for romances in the general sense, finding this new genre was like striking gold. These books had characters I could easily relate to, mostly in their late twenties or early thirties, and all going through real-life issues and drama, most of which I have experienced personally either in my own life, or witnessed someone close to me going through. Although I read mostly YA these days, dipping back into the chick lit adult romance pool every now and then is something I really enjoy.




    The One and Only was one of my most anticipated reads this year. Again, I hadn’t read the synopsis in quite some time, so I really didn’t know what I was going to find once I opened the cover. The fact that I was instantly thrown into the world of football really made me smile. There aren’t enough good sports books out there for my taste. Especially with this one being the female MC, Shea (I freakin’ love her name!!!) was into sports herself, rather than it just being the male athlete, as in most that I’ve read. Shea’s one true passion is football. She dreams of being a sports editor some day. Though she’s completely devoted to her hometown of Walker and solely routes for that sports team, football as a whole is in her soul.




    This story starts off rather sad, at a funeral for the beloved mother of her best friend, Lucy, who also happens to be the daughter of the high school football coach, Clive Carr. Shae has always looked up to Coach Carr, and having him as her best friend’s father made it so that they had grown rather close over the years. View Spoiler »




    The romance between Shea and Ryan was fun. Shea remained so down to earth while dating the quarter back of the Dallas Cowboys. I have to admit, it’s always rather weird to me when reading stories about sports teams when they make one character fictional, Ryan, the quarter back, but then refer to real football players such as Tom Brady. It’s similar to when they have fictional characters play the President too, I suppose. Again, I digress. View Spoiler »




    Though this story started off a bit slow, it did pick up about halfway through and I really enjoyed the remainder of the story. There are several sensitive issues in this story (two of which are discussed above and marked as spoilers) and I do tend to like my characters flawed and my stories drama-filled, but I can definitely see how others may not be comfortable with some of these issues. View Spoiler » Overall another enjoyable read from E. Giffin. Definitely not my favorite of hers, but still worth the read.




    Audiobook Impressions:
    Sofia Willingham is a new narrator to me. She really did a great job as Shea. My only complaint was that basically all of the men had a very similar voice. At times I noticed a difference between some, but a majority of time they all sounded the same. Stories like this I always wish there was a way to have two narrators, though only one POV really makes that impossible. Overall, Sofia did a really good job and I would definitely listen to things narrated by her again in the future.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 30 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2