Customer Reviews for

The Onion

Average Rating 3.5
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(28)

3 Star

(23)

2 Star

(15)

1 Star

(18)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

News As It Is

May the irreverence continue to reign, become more tacky, and as it does so, the more it becomes relevant. Thank you Onion!!!!

posted by Tweedledee on April 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Content might make you laugh, but the format will make you cry!

I bought a nook tablet in December 2011 and The Onion was one of the first subscriptions I bought. The format of this on the nook is very disappointing. I mean really, REALLY bad. Almost unusable.

After six months of forgetting to unsubscribe, I finally cancelled my...
I bought a nook tablet in December 2011 and The Onion was one of the first subscriptions I bought. The format of this on the nook is very disappointing. I mean really, REALLY bad. Almost unusable.

After six months of forgetting to unsubscribe, I finally cancelled my subscription today. It looks nothing like the newspaper icon it is presented with. The content was ok most of the time, but you can get it for free online. I was hoping for a unique "nook experience" with this, but was sadly disappointed overall and feel like it was a waste of money.

posted by 10231981 on June 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2012

    Content might make you laugh, but the format will make you cry!

    I bought a nook tablet in December 2011 and The Onion was one of the first subscriptions I bought. The format of this on the nook is very disappointing. I mean really, REALLY bad. Almost unusable.

    After six months of forgetting to unsubscribe, I finally cancelled my subscription today. It looks nothing like the newspaper icon it is presented with. The content was ok most of the time, but you can get it for free online. I was hoping for a unique "nook experience" with this, but was sadly disappointed overall and feel like it was a waste of money.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    News As It Is

    May the irreverence continue to reign, become more tacky, and as it does so, the more it becomes relevant. Thank you Onion!!!!

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    ...I love how B&N is charging for a free newspaper.

    ...I love how B&N is charging for a free newspaper.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    pay for something that is free?

    no thanks

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    not worth the money

    I was really disappointed. The first issue had pages of descriptions of new TV shows.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    time waster

    obtuse oversophistcated humor about nothings--especially the a.v. section.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Free trial subscriptioj

    This is a joke. I got the headlines and part of the first sentence for articles that were nearly a week old

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    poorly written

    The onion is poorly written and not funny at all

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Funny

    It's worth the subscription.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    Love it

    The only paper worth reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2013

    Repulsive Newspaper

    The Onion is repulsive and insults my intelligence and sense of right and wrong.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    needs more transparency

    I got a trial subscription and apparently the paid subscription started without confirmation or even notification. I really like The Onion and this doesn't have anything to do with content. However I will NEVER get anything from Nook on a trial basis again.I don't trust you.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Cvjbjhnhmhkjjjh


    Xgjghcfbrgjvgfyglgfhfd gfhgcgffghgvjgvhgcurxgfdhryfdhffhdhgsggvvvghlghphbjkjh.hkm

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    Great !

    Almost too much sarcasm, still awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    not good

    I like to get a few laughs here and there, but when writing funny news, dont use profanity two thumbs down for me...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Doesn't work on HD+

    I enjoy reading the Onion, I find it very amusing, however it doesn't work on the HD+ nook. If you try to refer back the paper it comes up blank.

    I hope the publisher or Barnes and Noble fix the problem cause I would like to subscribe again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    az A It. U It is a aa It is a ass

    Ass

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Wk. Ddpz /0 g y.v. h b f si.apk.lp ha

    G
    E
    P
    S1
    Vzl
    E u f,
    M.
    K.p
    E
    $l
    H,
    K.g h gw! Hq,
    ;# c x c yi.s bp
    P
    Gi a fa

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    False Advertising

    I 'accidently' subscribed to this piece of trash thinking it was going to contain legitimate news stories. After reading a couple of articles I quicly realized that this just a lot of Saturday Night Live type of sarcastic and cynical nonsense. It is not real news. With all that is going on the world, I did not find any of it in any humorous or even very good. This rag is a waste of time.

    0 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    looking for good read

    not worth the time to open up

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 140 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7