Customer Reviews for

The Opal

Average Rating 3.5
( 49 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Another page turner!!!

Another great read! Once again from the time I picked this up I could hardly put it down. I would force myself to go to bed at 2am.

This author has such a great imagination. A few twists that I did not expect to happen.


Now to patiently wait for the third boo...
Another great read! Once again from the time I picked this up I could hardly put it down. I would force myself to go to bed at 2am.

This author has such a great imagination. A few twists that I did not expect to happen.


Now to patiently wait for the third book.

posted by PrepH on November 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Confusing and very different from "The Dig"

I really enjoyed "The Dig" but there was little similarity in this new novel. Yes, Matthew still had his "gift" but it was really not the center of attention in this novel. Instead it was a series of poorly explained chase scenes which did not seem to have a purpose. Th...
I really enjoyed "The Dig" but there was little similarity in this new novel. Yes, Matthew still had his "gift" but it was really not the center of attention in this novel. Instead it was a series of poorly explained chase scenes which did not seem to have a purpose. The charachters were not well developed and there was little plot except running around more or less aimlessly.

I hate to give the novel such a poor review, but I had much higher hopes for it.

posted by 2344287 on December 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Another page turner!!!

    Another great read! Once again from the time I picked this up I could hardly put it down. I would force myself to go to bed at 2am.

    This author has such a great imagination. A few twists that I did not expect to happen.


    Now to patiently wait for the third book.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I was anxiously awaiting this book! I was on pins and needles a

    I was anxiously awaiting this book! I was on pins and needles and the edge of my seat and every other cliche that you can think of!! I HOUNDED Michael Siemsen on Facebook (actually I think it might have been more of a semi-stalking thing) about it. I was so excited for this book and I can tell you, it was worth the wait! I liked how the story progressed and I really hope that Mr Siemsen revisits Matthew Turner as his story is very intriguing and unique. The book hints at maybe the series is over, but you never know. There could be some prequels!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Confusing and very different from "The Dig"

    I really enjoyed "The Dig" but there was little similarity in this new novel. Yes, Matthew still had his "gift" but it was really not the center of attention in this novel. Instead it was a series of poorly explained chase scenes which did not seem to have a purpose. The charachters were not well developed and there was little plot except running around more or less aimlessly.

    I hate to give the novel such a poor review, but I had much higher hopes for it.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Every so often a new author will hit the scene that grabs your a

    Every so often a new author will hit the scene that grabs your attention. Michael Siemsen did with his first offering of The Dig. Now we are treated us with his second offerring -- The Opal, and I have definitely decided that he will be on my permanent reading list.
    The proponent in The Opal, Matt Turner, put a whole new twist on psychics. Matthew cannot communicate with the dead, he can "read" the actual lives of any person who has come in contact with an object --- while they were in contact with that object. This is not just another "who dun it" book, but, instead Michael Siemsen has successfully melded historical fiction and the criminal thriller outside the Romance genre. The plot was ingenious. We had the criminal thriller story that kept me turning the pages happening at a rapid pace in the present plane, while Matt (the hero) kept being hurled back into the past to encounter the enthralling and violent history of the Opal that was the central focus of the book. Each story could have easily stood alone and been a fascinating novel, but the weaving of the two made for a level of reading enjoyment you don't expect from a new author.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Stunk

    A shame. After The Dig I expected a decent read but The Opal truely stunk. Cant even finish...

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2013

    Very good.

    Nice follow up to THE DIG. It will definitely keep your attention. I was a bit dissapointed at the ending. It was great , just not how i'd i wanted it to end. Thats just me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2013

    Not great Very disappointing

    I really enjoyed The Dig and looked forward to this sequal. Unfortunately, I found this book confusing with different stories and characters going on all over the place. I agree with another reviewer that said this book seemed to be written by a different author than The Dig it seemed a totally different voice narrating the story By the time I finished this book i didn't particularly care about any of the characters and was just glad to finish it and it definately didn't leave me wanting more. The premise of the book of being able touch an object and live it's different owners experiences back through history is such a great idea and could be expanded into an awesome series of treasure adventures and discoveries (like The Dig was) but too many unlikeable characters in too many different eras and places at once with storylines jumping all over the place between past and present just became confusing. None of the characters had many redeeming qualities and there was a lot of excess bloody violence and gore that really added nothing to the story. I don't think I will be taking any more trips into the past or present with Matt. Sorry

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    Michael Siemsen has crafted a wonderful story line that was int

    Michael Siemsen has crafted a wonderful story line that was interesting, informative and just plain enjoyable. Mystery and history combined perfectly. Now I can't wait for the next adventure with Michael whether it is with Matt Turner or a new character.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    If you're looking for something different, this is the book!

    Although sometimes difficult to follow, this book was a very different mystery. I especially liked the fact that I was totally wrong about how the book would end - something I'm usually pretty good at. I will be sure to read another of Mr. Siemsen books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2012

    Fantastic read - you have to check it out!!!

    The continued story of young Matt and his ability to read objects is put through more suspence and intrigue and a trip around the globe while he has been abducted to aide his abductors in their pursuit of wealth!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Shocked, yes. Disappointed, definitely not. Love these character

    Shocked, yes. Disappointed, definitely not. Love these characters, and now officially love this author. [secretly hoping the Ukrainian billionaire man appears in future story]

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Definitely grittier than The Dig, deeper characters, more meanin

    Definitely grittier than The Dig, deeper characters, more meaning, higher stakes. Hope the next book has more historical stuff, but I liked the second story in this (what there was of it). Do not go into this book expecting The Dig Part 2!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2012

    Not In League wth The Dig

    Let me preface this review by saying that I was completely enchanted with The Dig. That being said, I just wanted this book to end. The focus completely got away from Matthew and his gift. It was about his abduction and ridiculously long rescue/escape. The feel is completely different from the first in the series, almost as if authored by someone else completely. The characters had no depth or imagination whatsoever. I am not sure what the goal of the author was, except maybe that Matthew's gift cost him dearly this time around. I do not recommend.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2012

    Continued the first story without missing a beat. Fast paced and

    Continued the first story without missing a beat. Fast paced and kept your interest all the way to the end. Enjoyed the read as much the first one. Looking forward to see what this author turns out next.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2012

    This book was great , keep me on the edge of my seat. Can't wai

    This book was great , keep me on the edge of my seat. Can't wait for another.....

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    I waited patiently, okay. maybe I wasn't that patient, for this

    I waited patiently, okay. maybe I wasn't that patient, for this book to be released and I wasn't disappointed. I love how Michael Siesmsen weaves the stories together. I can't wait for thoreopipere 3rd book to see what happens to Matt Turner next.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 21, 2012

    Outstanding! A Must Read!

    When I ran across Michael Siemsen’s first book, ‘The Dig’, I became entranced by the premise and was rewarded by the execution. For a first time novelist, Michael has a rare talent to draw you into the story and hold you captive until the end.

    I was eager to read his second book 'The Opal' and when it became available I immediately snapped it up. I was not disappointed. Although ‘The Opal’ is a continuation of the characters and events from ‘The Dig’, I found the storyline much deeper and sometimes darker. The background on each character played out wonderfully and gave more depth and understanding to the storyline. I will anxiously await the next installment and see what the future holds for Matt Turner.

    If you are looking for a breakthrough novelist, I highly recommend anything written by Michael Siemsen.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    Not what i was expecting

    The Dig was a great book. This book was a fail*in my opinion*. Seems that author was trying to get an action movie deal out of this.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Another Excellent book

    Love the story line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    This is a good Syfy Book

    This book is the followup to The Dig. I really enjoyed the first book so I bought this one to see what happened to the characters. The Opal takes up right where the Dig ends. That part is satisfying. His method of introducing to many characters and last minute characters to solve plot issues confuses the story for me. Having said this I consider it minor issue and will be buying his future books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3