Customer Reviews for

The Opal

Average Rating 3.5
( 53 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Another page turner!!!

Another great read! Once again from the time I picked this up I could hardly put it down. I would force myself to go to bed at 2am.

This author has such a great imagination. A few twists that I did not expect to happen.


Now to patiently wait for the third boo...
Another great read! Once again from the time I picked this up I could hardly put it down. I would force myself to go to bed at 2am.

This author has such a great imagination. A few twists that I did not expect to happen.


Now to patiently wait for the third book.

posted by PrepH on November 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Confusing and very different from "The Dig"

I really enjoyed "The Dig" but there was little similarity in this new novel. Yes, Matthew still had his "gift" but it was really not the center of attention in this novel. Instead it was a series of poorly explained chase scenes which did not seem to have a purpose. Th...
I really enjoyed "The Dig" but there was little similarity in this new novel. Yes, Matthew still had his "gift" but it was really not the center of attention in this novel. Instead it was a series of poorly explained chase scenes which did not seem to have a purpose. The charachters were not well developed and there was little plot except running around more or less aimlessly.

I hate to give the novel such a poor review, but I had much higher hopes for it.

posted by 2344287 on December 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2014

    Another Excellent book

    Love the story line

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2014

    This is a good Syfy Book

    This book is the followup to The Dig. I really enjoyed the first book so I bought this one to see what happened to the characters. The Opal takes up right where the Dig ends. That part is satisfying. His method of introducing to many characters and last minute characters to solve plot issues confuses the story for me. Having said this I consider it minor issue and will be buying his future books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2014

    I liked the Dig, but felt this was a much better book.

    I liked the Dig, but felt this was a much better book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    Not like the first one

    This book was more of the fill in for The Dig, but went the extra step to see him grow up. At the end he know what was important.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2013

    Disappointing

    I had high expectations after reading the first book. This installment degenerated from a good detective/treasure hunt to superfluous murder and torture that was totally unnecessary to the plot. I will not be reading anything from this author again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Whats this abiur bro i mowothin.

    I shawsnanann and lalsn arkitnaw and musow.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2013

    Not as good as the dig but

    Its pretty good

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Disappointed

    I had read Siemsen's The Dig first and thoroughly enjoyed it. I was looking forward to this book, but this book did not hold my attention the way The Dig did; in fact it got rather tedious. Not a complete waste of time, but make me leary of picking up another of Siemsen's books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Great Novel

    This is book two - did not like some of the story lines, but overall, found it compelling. Hope there's another one coming soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    I wanted to read this, since it continues the character in "

    I wanted to read this, since it continues the character in "Dig".  It was hard to stop reading this, and I did read it quickly.  I like the concept of holding an artifact, and seeing "history" through someone's eyes, who had held the artifact in the past.  I just saw a comment that there will be a third book - can't wait!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Don't waste your time

    I really enjoyed The Dig and had high hopes for the Opal but it was a huge dissapointment. Chaotic story line, disliked almost every character and the ones I did had very sad endings and all were hard to empathize with, unnecessary gore, and a horrible ending. Don't waste your time or money

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Hated it

    This writer just doesn't improve. Worse even than the first one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    I loved "The Dig" and was looking forward to spending

    I loved "The Dig" and was looking forward to spending more time getting to know Matt Turner. I've never been so let down by a second book. This was a true waste for time, very disappointing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    not as good as The Dig

    This was OK, not great, and not as good as The Dig.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    Great start....

    ...but rapidly became tedious and boring. My heart sank when I saw I was only 20% through the book, and I didn't finish it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 53 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 3