Customer Reviews for

The Open Door

Average Rating 4.5
( 116 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(79)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    But it! But it NOW!!

    LOVED LOVED LOVED!!!! Loved it--every song!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Wicked Awsome!!

    I love Amy lee's voice!! shes awsome and beautiful!! MUST GET IT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A gothic paridise and more all in one CD

    It's so good there are know words for it. just go and get it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing!

    Awesome music! The lyrics have alot of meaning and the instrumentals are great. I love Amy Lee's voice. This CD is worth buying.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Evanescense

    I think that this CD is amazing! It's definitely worth buying. I love the use of all the beautiful, different instruments in it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The open door or Fallen

    I love Evanescence!!! There 2 cd's are fantastic!! If someone made me choose though between the 2, I think I would have the open door having a very, very slight edge over Fallen, but not by much. The reason why is because she's not afraid anymore of the person she is writing about, instead of being scared. They both rock though!!! Evanescence 4 life!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    There are six great songs on here

    I think "Like You" will be their next single. It's a beautiful song. It's track #7 on the CD, not #8. There are six great songs here. The first four to begin with. Then "Like You" and "Good Enough." The rest of the songs are all right. There are about four songs that sound similar. Amy better be careful in the future on the arrangements. I think Amy has one of the best voices ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    An Overlooked Masterpiece

    While credited by most critics as well-done though not as great as the first, the album in my opinion was one of the greatest I have ever had the pleasure of listening to. Unique in style, sound, and instruments, Evanescence has continued its grand journey into the history of music and pop culture with one of their most astounding works yet. Tracks that struck me as the best done and most emotionally striking were 'Call Me When You're Sober', 'Lacrymosa', 'Like You', 'Lose Control', 'The Only One', and 'Good Enough', as well as the unreleased except on pre-ordered copies 'The Last Song I'm Wasting on You'. So difficult to find is a band that mixes heavy guitar riffs and screaming vocals and then can go as calm as a piano solo. The Open Door is truly a masterpiece that has been well overlooked. I eagerly anticipate their third album which will most likely be released "if the time difference between Fallen and ToD serves as any indication" in three years. Much to long too wait in my opinion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    This band can do no wrong. Amy has an amazing voice which sounds even better live.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awesome

    Then please "jim john, a daryll", do cease to exist, cause you have NO taste in music. Amy Lee's voice combined with her classicaly trained past creates a number of great songs that have become smash hits, such as "Call Me When You're Sober" and "Lithium". My favorite is "Good Enough", because she went out of her sad and dark shell and wrote a happy song with an interesting blend of chords. Overall, Evanescence is not going away, this album is JUST as good as Fallen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    if you like amy lee on vocals check out lucuna coils new album

    amy lee has been with her band for more than one year now and yes amy lees vocals have matured and yes i beileve she could front lucuna coil and yes this album is a must have for metal fans and none metal fans alike

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best one yet!

    While most sophomore efforts pale in comparison to an artist's first release, I really have to say that this release is better than "Fallen". The song Lithium is phenomenal...as is Lacrymosa. Actually, the single that's been released so far (Call Me When You're Sober) isn't the best song on the album. If you liked "Fallen", you should like this disc even better -- buy it now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Spooky, emotional rock

    With her haunting voice, Amy Lee does it again with the new follow-up album "The Open Door". The unique music is comepletely different from their previous album "Fallen".

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    must spin

    i was so excited when i heard there was a new album by evanescence...i was waiting for so long for the album and now i got it i think everyone must have this album because it's far better,take a listen to "like you",at the end of the song amy lee really was given such an amazing voice ever...the band was far better than any other band especially my chemical romance who did a really sucks song!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Amazing

    I own every cd evanescence has done (even origin) and I love this cd. Amy Lee came out strong. Her songs are deeply personalized and emotive. I really don't understand why some of these people are saying negative things. If you are an Evanescence fan, you will love this cd. It's original, and it's a different sound (what were you expecting? Amy kind of had to start from scratch) but it is so amazing. Amy Lee is a great artist and probably the voice of this generation. Buy this album. My one complaint is that it is in a cardboard case. I prefer the plastic, because it stays better-looking for longer, but I love the design and layout of it, the lyrics are amazing, and let's face it: Evanescence rocks!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ....

    i must say the open door is a bit different from Fallen so it does take some time to getting used to. in my opinion i believe this album is more heavier than the last considering that almost every track has heavy guitar riffs, even if some of the tracks start off slow at first. in some ways its better than Fallen because some of the songs sound more angrier and to me its easier to listen to and it seems as if Amy is becoming much more confident in her writing abilities, especially since Ben Moody is no longer with her considering all the recent drama the band has gone through. most of the tracks are listenable but my faves besides call me when you're sober are snow white queen, lithium, lacrymosa, cloud nine, like you, and others which i cant name right now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awsome

    I love this cd. it's one of my favs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great

    The album is very different sound from the first but definately worth buying. It might take a few more listens than normal but once you understand the meaning of the songs and understand how deep the lyrics are you'll definately fall in love with this album. Best way to approach this album is to not comapare it to the first one and give it a chance b/c the sound has chnage.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Indescribable!

    I have waited three years for this album. It wasn't what I expected or had in mind.. it was even better! Amy Lee succeeded in creating a new style that is darker and way more diverse than the other albums. In "Lacrymosa" alone, the music jumps from classical to rock, it's really amazing! And Amy Lee's voice.. Wow! She has always managed to charm me by its uniqueness, and that shows the most in "Sweet Sacrifice". Moreover, the lyrics are really great and direct, no metaphores like in "Fallen" which shows real growth! I love you Evanescence :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    awsome cd

    i love this cd its way better than fallen. i listen to that cd every day. when im going to school or just at home washing the dishes. i always listen to it. sometimes when i listen to it i get great ideas for my stories. its the best cd ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4