Customer Reviews for

The Ophelia Cut (Dismas Hardy Series #14)

Average Rating 3.5
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Really enjoyed thi

I enjoyed the book, especially the courtroom cenes. I especially like the fa t that the characters seem like real, fallible human beings. I hope their will be more Dismas Hardy books.

posted by 843805 on May 17, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Big Disappointment

I have always loved every book I've read by Lescroart, but this one was slow and boring. Tedious read. I finally gave up and put the book away when I was a little more than halfway through. Too much verbage that accomplished little. Skip this one.

posted by LeeNV on May 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Big Disappointment

    I have always loved every book I've read by Lescroart, but this one was slow and boring. Tedious read. I finally gave up and put the book away when I was a little more than halfway through. Too much verbage that accomplished little. Skip this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 29, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I love books by this author ... except this one. When an author

    I love books by this author ... except this one. When an author ruminates to the extent this one does, you know you're in trouble. Usually, his books are wonderful but not this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    Lousy Book

    I DO NOT RECOMMEND! This books starts slow you have to force yourself to continue and the ending leaves you up in the air. Do not wast your money

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    After waiting four years for another Dismas Hardy book, I was ea

    After waiting four years for another Dismas Hardy book, I was eager to dive into The Ophelia Cut. It enthralled me and kept me up many hours past my bedtime for several nights. Unfortunately I did find some of the plot much less tightly woven than his usual thrilling novels. The ending was extremely disappointing and left me wondering "wait a minute, what just happened here. Did I miss something?" Now I guess I will have to wait another four years to figure out what really happened and by then I will probably have forgotten all of the characters!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Really enjoyed thi

    I enjoyed the book, especially the courtroom cenes. I especially like the fa t that the characters seem like real, fallible human beings. I hope their will be more Dismas Hardy books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2014

    Good quick read!

    If you like Dismas Hardy you will enjoy this book! Dismas is personally involved him this case which makes it even better!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    Great read

    One of the best books I have read in a long time. Linda Lange

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Recommend

    I love all the Dismas Hardy books, but I was a little disappointed with the ending of this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2013

    One of my favourite American writers...

    I've read all his books so the characters are like old friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2013

    Not up to standard

    I am always anxious to read a new John Lescroart novel, but this one let me down a bit. As usual, it was well written, but the plot dragged. Blind alleys are good in suspense novels, but this one kept going back to the same alley. The two cousins were necessary to the story, but too much time was spent on their mixed up love lives. Was the whole thing with the witness protected cop necessary? I had most of it figured before the end, except for the revenge seeking mom. One not familiar with the Dismas Hardy novels could easily get lost in the spider web of relations and relationships.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Great, as always.

    Dismas Hardy has become a family friend. He is always growing and maturing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    John Lescoart's Dismas Hardy/Abe Glitsky legal thrillers are the

    John Lescoart's Dismas Hardy/Abe Glitsky legal thrillers are the best in the genre. Nobody creates characters better than John Lescroat. The Ophelia Cut was a great novel. It was so fun to re-engage with Dismas, Abe, Wyatt, Gina, Frannie and all the great characters from novel's past. As usual the plot was thrilling with some great courtroom drama and challenging dilemmas for the characters. I can't believe people gave this great book a "1" rating. Buy it now. You won't be sorry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2013

    Great writing/superb storyline

    'Dis' Hardy stories are involved, have lots of character conflicts, and twists in the narrative, but are very satisfying as they are well thought out.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    do a movie and have time warner to broad cast it it will do grea

    do a movie and have time warner to broad cast it it will do great....07/01/13

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    Not bad.

    You've gotta love Dismas Hardy. The ending was a bit strange, but a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    Highly recommended, I always reading his books.

    A real good book, plenty of action from the beginning of the book. I always enjoy reading John Lescroart's books. I highly recommend his books to everyone. I give this book a four star rating.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2013

    Highly recommend

    Like all his other Dismas Hardy books, this one was hard to put down. My only disappointment is that there was no closure at the end and you have to come to your own conclusion about who actually did it! Hope I don't have to wait as long for the next Dismas Hardy book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2