Customer Reviews for

Oracle Glass

Average Rating 4
( 88 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

Five stars is not enough!

I borrowed this book from the library and ended up with so much overdue fines and worse I had to pay for the book cause I refused to return it. It was that good! This book has EVERYTHING. A great historical theme,a strong and brilliant heroine, an intellectual and lovab...
I borrowed this book from the library and ended up with so much overdue fines and worse I had to pay for the book cause I refused to return it. It was that good! This book has EVERYTHING. A great historical theme,a strong and brilliant heroine, an intellectual and lovable hero and a delicious lovestory. Who could ask for more? One more thing, I always love Ms Riley's thorough and very realistic approach to historical settings. She does the best research and puts them into pen and paper with just enough breath to make them oh so alive for her readers. This one in particular is her best work ever! This is a must read!

posted by Anonymous on April 5, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Interesting

Like some other reviews, I found the story a little slow. But that it was based on facts made it an interesting read. I purchased either as a Free Friday or a Daily Deal and thank B&N for the selection. My friends that enjoy occult, witchcraft will enjoy this 1600's sto...
Like some other reviews, I found the story a little slow. But that it was based on facts made it an interesting read. I purchased either as a Free Friday or a Daily Deal and thank B&N for the selection. My friends that enjoy occult, witchcraft will enjoy this 1600's story.

posted by Jamie31OH on June 11, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2004

    Five stars is not enough!

    I borrowed this book from the library and ended up with so much overdue fines and worse I had to pay for the book cause I refused to return it. It was that good! This book has EVERYTHING. A great historical theme,a strong and brilliant heroine, an intellectual and lovable hero and a delicious lovestory. Who could ask for more? One more thing, I always love Ms Riley's thorough and very realistic approach to historical settings. She does the best research and puts them into pen and paper with just enough breath to make them oh so alive for her readers. This one in particular is her best work ever! This is a must read!

    24 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2000

    Absolutely Incredible!!!

    i can't say enough wonderful things about this book. as an avid reader of eveything from romance, to Star Wars, to nonfictional world history, i would still have to say that its one of the best books i have ever read, if not the best. Ms. Reily has presented a marvelous, well-written story, full of unforgetteable charaters, and just the right mix of romance, intrigue, magic,betrayal, and emotion. Any collection is empty without it.

    18 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2000

    Who needs TV with Books like this!!!!

    Strictly picky about my reading choices, I was turned onto JMR by another author. Riley has a mastery of detail and history that makes not only the fictional characters life like but the true ones too!!! A beautiful blend of Parisian history, sorcery, romance and adventure. The story turns like a serpents head but never leads you far from your path. A must for the historical novel reader! I recomend it so much I've already given my copy away to a friend.

    14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2000

    A Great Book!

    I loved this book and read it diligently from the moment I found it. The characters are well written and realistic, the plot really lets you know where the book is going, and it's a wonderful ride the whole way through. I loved the Marquise de Morville, otherwise known as Genevieve Pasquier. It is well worth the read. If you enjoy tales of sorcery, you'll be learning about seventeeth century Paris while you read as well!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2005

    Amazing!!!

    I love this book. The characters are rich, the details are accurate, and the story is inspiring. JMR is a genius, and I love all her books. I loved all the characters, especially Astaroth/Sylvie. They are so hilarious and vivid.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    Interesting

    Like some other reviews, I found the story a little slow. But that it was based on facts made it an interesting read. I purchased either as a Free Friday or a Daily Deal and thank B&N for the selection. My friends that enjoy occult, witchcraft will enjoy this 1600's story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    Book Review: The Oracle Glass June 1, 2013 Rating: **** Title:

    Book Review: The Oracle Glass
    June 1, 2013

    Rating: ****

    Title: The Oracle Glass

    Author: Judith Merkle Riley

    Genre: historical fiction

    Review:
    Enjoy reading historical fiction with a dash of magic? This book is for you!
     
    The novel takes place in France during the rule of the Sun King (Louis XIV).  There is a sharp contrast between the poor and the rich.  
    During this time, many Enlightment ideas and philosophies are being spread across the country, despite the government’s attempt to
    keep such radical ideas muffled.  As far as I could tell, the details of 17th century France are all accurate.
     
    The main character, Geneviève, is introduced to be a wily young lady who is sick of constantly being overshadowed by her sister’s
    beauty.  Born with a twisted foot, her mother dismisses her as a good-for-nothing daughter.  Luckily, Geneviève has her father to go
    to for comfort.  From her father, she learns all about the philosophies of the ancient Greeks and Romans. 
     
    One day, Geneviève meets Florent d’Urbec, a radical Enlightment thinker who is one of the few who can challenge Geneviève in
    a game of wits without humiliating oneself.  d’Urbec nicknames Geneviève “Athena”, after the goddess of wisdom due to the fact
    she was extremely smart for a time when most women weren’t well educated.
     
    However, tragedy strikes Geneviève when her father—her sole protector in a harsh world—dies.  Her mother and uncle are
    convinced that he had left Geneviève a hidden fortune because she had always been his favorite child; in truth, he had left her nothing.
     However, her uncle doesn’t believe Geneviève when she tells him that she wasn’t hiding any money from him; as a result, he begins
     to abuse her.  One day, Geneviève decided she’s had enough and plans on committing suicide.  Right before she jumps into the river
    to drown herself though, she is saved by La Voisin, a fortuneteller and the Shadow Queen of France.
     
    La Voisin see potential in Geneviève and decide to taker her under her wing.  Geneviève can’t help but feel that there is something
    sinister about the Shadow Queen, however, her desire for revenge for her uncle’s mistreatment wins out her gut instincts.  The Shadow
    Queen promises Geneviève great power and the ability to extract revenge on her uncle if she agrees to work with/for her.
     
    The Shadow Queen fakes Geneviève’s death so that she may begin a new life.  Taking the disguise of Marquise de Morville,
    a supposedly one-hundred-plus year old lady who had the body of young woman due to alchemy, she quickly rises up the social ranks.
     
    In the meantime, Desgrez, an honest and intelligent police officer, can’t help but be suspicious that there is an underground
    network of assassins, spies, criminals and poison-providers going on in France right beneath his nose.  Eventually, his suspicions
     lead him to Geneviève.  Genevive must make a choice: should she betray the woman who gave her a new life or should put the lives
    of others in danger.


    Likes:
            *very descriptive details that really allow me to paint a picture in my mind
            *accurate facts


    Dislikes:
            *the pacing was on the slow side--would've enjoyed if the author had either cut some scenes of sped up the actions

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Great read

    best book I have read in a long time

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Incredibly good

    Lobve the story the characters the plot lines the writing....altogether profound and delightful

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Great read

    Great read

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2013

    Intriguing and beguiling

    I really enjoyed reading this book. The main character's struggle to figure out who she is at such a young age is very interesting to read. The book followed her character through adulthood and maintained her character's personality. It far exceeded my expectations, which were admittedly rather low considering the subject.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Your phrophecy

    You shall go to the cabin of hermes-res two
    And uncoverthe traiter, the unclaimed, and the past,-too
    You shall discover, that though jewels are wondrous to behold;
    A curse can be found in the heart of gold.

    Not my best phrophecy. Report to camp at half god result one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Tedious

    I'd give it two and a half stars if I could but gave it three as I couldn't split the difference.

    The book is a good concept but could have been written in half the number of pages. At times it is a wearying read and 3/4 through, I was ready to just forget it and go to another book. The writer just pounds her nails too deeply in wandering inner reflections so the book seems to at many times suffocate itself. I love history and long books (Stephen King's 1000+ pager the Stand for example) don't bother me at all. This one just seemed to get tiring.

    Interesting characters, some not very realistic, and in real life, a lot doesn't just work out as it did in this book. It tries hard but doesn't really be what it tries to be if that makes any sense. It's a bit fantasy guised under fiction clothed in attempt at being "real life" and shrouded in unlikely connections and scenarios. It's ok as a read but not going on my shelf as one of my better books or Nook Book which this one is.

    Hope this helps someone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Excellent, engrossing, and beautifully written!

    Excellent, engrossing, and beautifully written!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2013

    Historical fiction with a dash of magic

    Likes: details are well written
    Dislikes: plot pace too slow

    The novel takes place in France during the rule of Louis XIV. As far as I could tell,the details provided of this time period were all accurate in this book. The main character, Genevieve, is introduced to be a wilu young lady who is sick of being overshadowed by her sister. Born with a twisted foor, her mother dismisses Gen to be a good for nothing daughter. Lucily, Gen has her father to ive hrr comfort in an unfiendly world.
    From her faher,Gen learns about many Enlightmnt ideas by studying the works of the Greeks and Romans. Tragedy strikes Gen wheb her father es, though. Her mother an unce is convinced her father has left behind a hidden fortunre to Gen becuase she had aways been her father's favorite child. Her uncle doesnt believe her when she tells him he want hiding money frm him. As a result, he abuses her.

    Tired of her life, Gen tries to drown herself but is saved by La Vosn, also known as the Shadow Queen. Under the care of the Shadow Queen, Ge beomes one of the most sought after water readers in France however, she cant help but think tere is somethinng sinister about the Shadow Queen....somehing that could end the lives of many people.

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2013

    Awesome read!

    Took me 24 hrs to read and I just wanted it to go on!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Prim

    Ok......

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2014

    Ryas

    What

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Violette

    L-lets g-go b-back t-then..........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Cyrus

    Kay *flies off*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5