Customer Reviews for

The Orchid House: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 64 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(24)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

You must read this!

There just isn't anything bad I could say about 'The Orchid House'. As a reader, I was sent on a wonderful journey of discovery with dark secrets and many twists. I don't want to give any of the story away, however, I will say that the main setting is Wharton Park, a la...
There just isn't anything bad I could say about 'The Orchid House'. As a reader, I was sent on a wonderful journey of discovery with dark secrets and many twists. I don't want to give any of the story away, however, I will say that the main setting is Wharton Park, a large estate which has been in the family for centuries. In the present, the estate has been left to Kit Crawford but unfortunately has to sell it as the expense is too high to keep it. In the past, Wharton Park is at the centre of Harry and Olivia's relationship, pulled through the 2nd World War and and its future is changed for ever. This is a story of love, hope and what the war did to Wharton Park and its residents. It resembles Downton Abbey which is probably why I loved it so much. You must read this!!

posted by Lily-loo on February 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lacked believable interesting characters

Characters were not interesting and seemed unnatural in there reactions. Some gushy dialog just did not ring true. Glsd to be finished with story.

posted by 622650 on April 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    You must read this!

    There just isn't anything bad I could say about 'The Orchid House'. As a reader, I was sent on a wonderful journey of discovery with dark secrets and many twists. I don't want to give any of the story away, however, I will say that the main setting is Wharton Park, a large estate which has been in the family for centuries. In the present, the estate has been left to Kit Crawford but unfortunately has to sell it as the expense is too high to keep it. In the past, Wharton Park is at the centre of Harry and Olivia's relationship, pulled through the 2nd World War and and its future is changed for ever. This is a story of love, hope and what the war did to Wharton Park and its residents. It resembles Downton Abbey which is probably why I loved it so much. You must read this!!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Different

    Many twists and turns. Some parts I wish the main character had made different decisions but overall good book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2012

    Great Book Club Book..

    I enjoyed this past and present revolving story with it's fairytale opening about the Prince of Siam, and its belief in the power of love. Author Lucinda Riley does a great job of leading us, and our present day protagonist Julia Forrester, a famous concert pianist, on a journey through past and present to discover just how powerful love really is. The book begins with Julia dealing with her own demons, unable to play piano because of a recent personal tragedy. We see Julia pushing family and friends aside to the extreme and only a trip to Wharton Park Estate, now set for an estate sale, sparks any kind of life in the listless Julia. Julia fondly remembers the estate as a peaceful place where her grandparents worked as servants, tending the exqusite gardens and which she often visted as a child. Here is where she runs into Kit Crawford,a cousin who is the living heir to the estate and someone Julia remembered from her childhood. A friendship begins when the two are reuinted. Kit unable to finance the large estate is staying at The Cottage, Julia's grandparents old home. In the process of doing some remodeling, he discovers the diary of a POW in Thailand from WWII hidden in the cottage. Believing it to be the diary of Julia's grandfather he gives it to her, only to discover it was Lord Harry Crawford's. As Julia begins to read the dairy we the reader are transported back in time and the historical fiction storylines are so good, I can't spoil them here. An array of characters Olivia, Harry, Elsie, Bill and more come to life and I for one couldn't be happier. Fans of Downton Abbey this is for you. Book clubs.... put this one on your list! flag

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This novel truly took you back to the days of WW II. The characters were well developed and the story was very believable. I would highly recommend this novel for someone who likes to sit back on a rainy afternoon and immerse themselves in another time and other people's lives.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 31, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Every so often a book comes along that is so lyrically and beaut

    Every so often a book comes along that is so lyrically and beautifully written, that it changes you a bit. The Orchid House by Lucinda Riley is one of those novels. Taking the reader on an unforgettable journey through England, Thailand, and France, The Orchid House will make readers question how far they’d be willing to go for true love.

    World renowned pianist Julia Forrester has returned to her home in England to mourn the loss of her young son and husband in a tragic car accident. While home she visits Wharton Park, the estate in which her grandparents worked as servants in the 1930′s. While visiting, she is reintroduced to Kit Crawford, the current Lord of the manor, and long ago childhood friend. During Kit’s renovations of her grandparents cottage on the estate, he finds a diary that chronicles time spent in the Changi POW camp in Singapore during World War II. When Julia approaches her grandmother to find out whether or not the diary belonged to her grandfather, she is treated to a tale of love, betrayal, deceit, and loss that in its own way helps to begin her own healing process.
    We come to find out the diary belongs to Harry Crawford, former heir to Wharton Park. Julia’s grandmother tells her his story, stuck in a world of responsibility and expectations that he never wanted to be a part of. Throw into this his wife Olivia and her unfortunate plight of being married to a man who doesn’t love her, as well as Lydia, the beguiling woman he meets in Thailand, and you’re in for the story of a lifetime.

    I’m completely blown away that this is Riley’s debut novel. Her writing is so fluid and beautiful that it reads like the work of a seasoned author. She intricately and expertly weaves a plot filled with mystery and intrigue over three generations. She unveils secret after secret in perfect succession, adding to the stratagem of her storytelling. Riley’s characters are mesmerizing and captivating and are each put through their own form of hell to test what they are truly able to face. Not everyone is given happy endings, which adds a realistic feel to the story. As I said earlier, The Orchid House will definitely question how much you would be willing to give up for the love of a lifetime. Not only that, but how far and how long does the feeling of true love last in the face of a lifetime of despair?

    The Orchid House’s main heroine Julia is one of the most relatable characters I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading. Her life has been filled with many tragedies that she’s let cast shadows on the relationships she holds with her family. She’s also allowed the recent tragedies of her husband and young son’s deaths darken her life into one that she doesn’t think is worth living. She lives in a constant state of pause – not moving forward, not moving backward. It’s a state that most who have lost love ones can relate too. Not only this, but she feels guilt at the thought of moving forward and at loving and living again. Julia’s story has made me realize (more than I already did) that life is precious, a gift that can be taken away at any time. Not only has Julia’s story taught me this, but Lidia’s, Harry’s, and Olivia’s stories as well, all speak to this simple teaching.

    I cannot recommend this book enough, especially for fans of the hauntingly beautiful gothic writing styles of Kate Morton’s The House at Riverton, Daphne du Maurier’s Rebecca, and Rachel Hore’s A Gathering Storm.

    (Reflections of a Book Addict)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Fascinating saga

    Loved this book! Too wordy in the middle, but really worth the read. Quite a surprise near the end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Wonderful Read, Could Not Put Down

    Great Book and something that I have not done in a long time, read through and not put down. At times seemed a bit slow, but the secrets were throught provoking and kept you guessing.
    Recommend for someone who likes family sagas and things that resonate throught the years.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    Very good book!

    I loved this book. Orchids, travel, life, death, and love....and a surprise ending. I couldn't put it down. Highly recommend!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 1, 2013

    I absolutely loved this book, couldn't put it down! I highly re

    I absolutely loved this book, couldn't put it down! I highly recommend it, especially if you like historical fiction. And just when you think you have it all figured out, the author throws in a plot twist that keeps you wanting more. I was looking for an author that would compare to Kate Morton. If you like Kate Morton books you will love this book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2013

    Lacked believable interesting characters

    Characters were not interesting and seemed unnatural in there reactions. Some gushy dialog just did not ring true. Glsd to be finished with story.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Didn't want it to end

    This book started off a little slowly, but then picked up very nicely. I thought it was very well written, with lots of intertwining plots and characters. I especially liked the parts that were in Thailand. I felt like I was right there with the characters. It had a wonderfully, rich feel to it and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Would highly recommend it to anyone.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2013

    Easy Read

    I enjoyed "The Orchid House". The characters were interesting and I especially liked the flash backs to another era.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2014

    Loved this book

    Beautiful story. Well written good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2014

    So lame

    This book is contrived and disappointing. I managed to get through half of it before I decided I had to stop reading because I felt like I was getting dumber.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2014

    This was an awesome read! I was immersed in the story of Kit &am

    This was an awesome read! I was immersed in the story of Kit & Julia! I could even picture myself at Wharton
    Park & in Thailand as their story unfolded! I loved the way the author weaved this story in with the past.
    The story itself kept me on my toes which is admittedly a hard thing to do. I could feel the anger, love,
    sadness & forgiveness of the characters. Amazing read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2013

    Great Historical Fiction

    This books spans many generations. It's about healing the deepest heartache and growing from it. Uplifting and interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2013

    Twilightflower

    Goes to camp

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2013

    Iightscree

    (XD) He sighs softly and pulls out of her. Laying down next to twilightflower.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Review

    Very predictable and unrealistic.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    A wonderful surprise!

    I loved this book! I think I probably got it on sale even. It gripped me from the start and I love being surprised by plot twists, so each time one happened I loved it. It spans the years, but I could easily visualize each scene. I totally recommend this book. I read it on vacation and ended up leaving it with a lady who was sitting next to me at the pool. I was so enthralled she asked me about the book, so I finished it and gave it to her to read.

    The only caution -- the love match was a little too easy for me. It didn't affect my opinion of the book in it's entirety though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4