Customer Reviews for

The Oregon Trail: American Settler

Average Rating 3
( 1040 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(388)

4 Star

(149)

3 Star

(119)

2 Star

(64)

1 Star

(320)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2394 out of 2602 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

I love this game i liked it on computer and like it on nook though it could use food that gives you energy Say yes for food that gives you energy

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2526 out of 2770 people found this review helpful.

I AGREE

This is very much like the Facebook game Fronteir Ville WE NEED FREE ENERGY OR AT LEAST 20 ENERGY EVERY THREE MINS TAP YES IF U AGREE!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 16421486 on November 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1040 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 52
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Awesome

    I love this game i liked it on computer and like it on nook though it could use food that gives you energy

    Say yes for food that gives you energy

    2394 out of 2602 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Fuduh

    NEEDS FREE ENERGY

    1626 out of 1837 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2012

    Its very fun

    Its very fun but its annoying and boring that you have to wait for 3 mins later for it to reload and sometimes it wont turn on but it is very fun and addicting i wouuld reccomend it and its free its a good game. Say yes if you agree please

    1072 out of 1253 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Entertaining

    This game is fun for all ages! I dislike that the energy runs out too fast and reloads too slow.

    772 out of 875 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Annonymous

    Why isn't there FREE cash?? Why can't the energy add 10 every three minutes instead of just one?? Why can't we restart the stupid game?? Very confused.... love the game but why, why, why can't this cost money to allow all of these things? I agree so far with everyones comments, y'all should agree with me too!!!!!

    690 out of 817 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2012

    Not working!!!

    ••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
    Why wont it work!!!????
    Every time i try to open it, it closes!
    I tried deleting, archiveing, and it still doesnt work!!!!
    ••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••

    479 out of 739 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Great!

    So far, its playing great! Its a lot like the pioneer game on Facebook. Wonderful graphics and easy to play.

    443 out of 542 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Fun

    IT IS REALLY FUN!!!!!!

    365 out of 473 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Fun; friends and money not required

    I enjoy this game. I have a large, thriving level 69 town and I have not spent any real-world cash on this game, nor have I visited any other towns. So yes, you can play this game without buying cash and without using facebook. Sure there are a few quests that you can't complete without doing so, but not doing quests does not impede you progress.

    You do need to wait for your energy to build up, so this is not a game you can play for long stretches of time. Play for a little bit, turn the game off, and come back later.

    Here are a few pointers: Build multiple workshops and always be crafting something because when you build storage buildings you will need it. Same goes with the infimaries. Also, you start off with a little bit of cash (as opposed to coins, which you collect regularly in the game) and can earn (rarely) more when prospecting. Use that cash to buy a better ax. With the ax that you're given it takes 8 energy to completely take out a tree. With a better ax, only 4 energy is used.

    318 out of 346 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2012

    Great game

    I have to agree with the other review. It is like the pioneer game on fb. I was looking for a game like this. Only problem i had was fishing. It didnt say you have to swipe it to catch the fish. Overall still a good game. Cant tell yet if its one of those ones that you "have" to have friends for.

    307 out of 412 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Needs Improving

    Worked good at first then started to get choppy. The game also lost its fun side after the realization that waiting for energy is annoying...it may be free but they still want your money. I will archive it until I am for sure what to do with it.

    177 out of 225 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    If Ur Game Crashes.....

    •••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••• THIS IS FOR EVERYONE WHOSE GAME CRASHES OR WONT LOAD!!!!!!! READ THIS!!!!!!!

    My game went to the Gameloft screen then back to the Nook homepage. Listen up! You have to remove you memory or SD card to play. It is WORTH IT though!

    But dont remove your card completely.......you will lose it. On the low left side of your Nook (I have a Nook color), open the little flap thing and just press down on your SD card and your Nook will tell you that the card was removed. The game should now work!

    Press yes if this review helped! Thanks!

    ~CB

    162 out of 201 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Wont work

    It closes itself everytime i try to open it

    143 out of 205 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    So slow

    I cant even open it to play. It wont load no matter how long i wait.

    129 out of 193 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Good Game

    I quite liked this game. It provides entartainment for hours.

    127 out of 163 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2012

    Could be better

    It is a good game but could be better.A lot of you are saying it's free but is it really? You also can't move/rotate the buildings. My character froze multiple times too. It doesn't let me visit friends either even when signed into GL. If you agree that every 3 mins you should get 10 energy, push yes.

    112 out of 124 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    I have to pay

    Once you are in the game you start to playing you can build a town grow plants BUILD A TOWN. But Beware parents this game ask you at one piont to buy stuff, my thought " I have alot of coins Ill buy some money." No that is not what it ment, they want you to use a CREDIT CARD to buy money, there is some stuff you have to pay money not just coins, it does not matter how much cions you have they want money. From my gues they use your BARNS AND NOBLES ACCOUNT, so be carful. Whatch your kids other wise you might use money that you weren't expecting to. If you are ready to spend moey go ahead and play, it made me sad I didn't want to spend money so this game is off my list now.

    104 out of 156 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Friends?

    How do i get friends so i can help their farm...im logged into facebook and gameloft but cant figure out how to find friends...other then that i love the game so far just wish you earned more cash and not just coins...anyone read this and would like to add me gameloft is imhisprincess09. Thanks

    94 out of 126 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    WHYWHYWHYWHYWHYWHYWHYWHYWHYWHY

    WHY CANT I PLAY IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    80 out of 140 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2012

    Awful

    I absolutely detest games that require spending REAL cash via credit card just to continue playing! Newsflash....if you have to spend real dollars..it 's not free! Yet another facebook type game requiring a boatload of 'friends' and requiring real cash. No thanks.......now deleted.

    78 out of 139 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1040 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 52