Customer Reviews for

The Oregon Trail: American Settler

Average Rating 3
( 1035 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(384)

4 Star

(149)

3 Star

(118)

2 Star

(64)

1 Star

(320)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2350 out of 2553 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

I love this game i liked it on computer and like it on nook though it could use food that gives you energy Say yes for food that gives you energy

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2526 out of 2770 people found this review helpful.

I AGREE

This is very much like the Facebook game Fronteir Ville WE NEED FREE ENERGY OR AT LEAST 20 ENERGY EVERY THREE MINS TAP YES IF U AGREE!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 16421486 on November 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    I have to pay

    Once you are in the game you start to playing you can build a town grow plants BUILD A TOWN. But Beware parents this game ask you at one piont to buy stuff, my thought " I have alot of coins Ill buy some money." No that is not what it ment, they want you to use a CREDIT CARD to buy money, there is some stuff you have to pay money not just coins, it does not matter how much cions you have they want money. From my gues they use your BARNS AND NOBLES ACCOUNT, so be carful. Whatch your kids other wise you might use money that you weren't expecting to. If you are ready to spend moey go ahead and play, it made me sad I didn't want to spend money so this game is off my list now.

    104 out of 154 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2012

    Why?

    I have deleted & reinstalled this game dozens of time & it keeps doing the same freaking thing. Shutting down on it own freezing on the regular. At one point it let me get to level 14 but not with out problems now i cant even getpast level 4. I really liked this game too but i guess with nook free isnt worth crap. I was going to buy the other trail game but its not even the same type from what i can tell from the screen shots. Soooo disappointed.

    42 out of 63 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    Well....

    The game seems intresting but as soon as I open the app it immediately closes out before I can do anything. I have a nook tablet.

    22 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Ubdate crash

    I updated the game on my nook and now it will not open please fix

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    :(

    Really wanted this game as it was free, but it wont open....it just goes to the blue screen then closes out. Please fix! Would really like to be able to play this game!

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    ?????

    It wont open! I have deleted it and re dounloaded it a couple of times!???? It only worked for a couple of days...what do i do???...

    5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    Wont work

    I click it it will show the gameloft screen then go back to the homescreen! Why wont it work?

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2012

    What happened?

    It was a great game until it stopped working. It won't open and I checked for updates to see if there is a fix and there is nothing.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2014

    Fun game... at first

    The game starts out fun and exciting and keeps you coming back for more... unfortunately after a little while all the people in your town start to get sick and all you're doing is making them remedies to get them better and wasting energy on that. And if your townsfolk aren't getting sick your town is getting hit by natural disasters with is better than trying to make 32 medicines to make 3 mortar to make 3 needles because there are 2 townsfolk dying and one of them needs 2 needles and a bandage and the other needs 1 needle and a stint. And don't even get me started on what it takes to make a stint! And as soon as you finished fixing one person there are 3 more that got sick while you were making all those medicines!!! AHHH! It's frustrating... But I'm working it out with my therapist. She says I'm doing great. ;)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2013

    Ugh!

    After the nook update, the game didn't work. I moved it to cloud and re installed it, now I have to start all over! Thank goodness I didn't pay any real money into this thing :/

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2012

    Good program, but slow to play

    This program is fun! That being said, it also plays very slow. You can not gain energy except by waiting and then it uses up very fast. The buildings take $ and that is not free. you can get $ by visiting friends on Facebook or another similar site, but if you do not have an account with any you are out of luck. Non the less it is a fun game.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2013

    Why

    After about 4 months of me playing it stopped and wouldn't let me play but it was a good game

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2013

    Y?

    I did care for it.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    Well...

    I played it for quite some time and I loved it. Easily one of my favorites. However, now everytime I try to play it, it goes back to my nook screen. It won't play. I'm very annoyed with it now.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2013

    The game

    Dont get this game

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2013

    Oregon Trail

    I had a thriving city amd boom one day all my data is gone.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Wth

    Nit fixed yet gameloft! Wth is up?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Updated now crashes when opening

    ^^^^^^^^^^

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2012

    Closes

    Everytime i try and open the games it closes.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2012

    Doesn't update.

    This game doesn't update itself (Nook Tab-Color). It will ask you but then it says the connection failed do you want to retry. There is nothing wrong with my connection. It also deleted my game after I passed around level 110. Got in contact with the company and they said give them a screenshot. Kinda hard to send a screenshot for something I don't have. On top of that Itq started a new game and they wanted a screenshot of the new game I don't know how that will help with the game I lost. I don't have a camera or cell phone (both were stolen) so I'm kinda screwed. I guess I'll hit level 100 and know that soon it will erase itself becuse it doesn't update. P.s you can't go into apps and update it there either. :( There is nothing but problem with game.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 64 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4