BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Oregon Trail: American Settler

Average Rating 3
( 1048 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(392)

4 Star

(151)

3 Star

(119)

2 Star

(65)

1 Star

(321)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2415 out of 2626 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

I love this game i liked it on computer and like it on nook though it could use food that gives you energy Say yes for food that gives you energy

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2526 out of 2770 people found this review helpful.

I AGREE

This is very much like the Facebook game Fronteir Ville WE NEED FREE ENERGY OR AT LEAST 20 ENERGY EVERY THREE MINS TAP YES IF U AGREE!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 16421486 on November 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 151 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 8
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    It's a fun game

    This game is some much fun but I don't like that the energy runs out quickly and you need it for a lot of things so if they're going to do that it needs to be free and so does the cash.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2013

    Very entertaining way to spend some time.

    Very entertaining way to spend some time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2013

    Won't update

    The day I got this game it would not load. It doesn't list the game as an app that needs updating. Very disappointing.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Good

    U need to have 200 energy every minute!but its a good game...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    Best Game EverTruly

    Truly Fun for Everyone

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2013

    Anonymous

    Its awesome because u could collect money , food and other great ,grand ,and wonderful things from different things and places.Thenn u could make ur place the best place in the west

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2013

    Cute game. Occasional connection mode.

    At the end of the Oregon trail, the settler begins building a town. Start with a couple of shacks and a chicken, chop some lumber, shoot a few rabbits, and before you know it, you have a thriving city.

    I like that Oregon Trail has limited actions,meaning you can log in, do your activities, and be done with it. That makes the game suitable when I have a few minutes free (rebooting computer) without compelling me to spend hours developing characters.

    I would have liked to see a little more by way of strategy. In O.T., you basically build housing, which pay rent, and businesses, which convert food into money. There isn't a lot of sense of what businesses work together (are we building an industrial city or a residential suburb), no sense of layout (you can just build roads wherever), and no sense of zoning (want your pigs right next to your water supply, no problem). Of course, what for me is a drawback is probably an advantage to the casual gamer who just wants to play a little.

    Despite the drawbacks, I'm still playing, so obviously something in O.T. hooked me.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2013

    It needs more animals

    Needs more energy i got to levle 70 and it shut down and i had to wate for amoth and it opened back up

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    Addicting

    It is only getting four stars, because I can not restart it. Not on my profile, or when creating another one. Other than that.....very fun. Fantastic time killer.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    In epic game

    A must have for gamers

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2013

    It is nice...sometimes

    The game is addicting. Energy is on a short supply, but I do not mind. Sometimes is does not load, so I have to archive & unarchive the game, which causes me to start over. That is my only complaint. In other words, it works great.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2013

    Very addictive!

    Haven't been able to put my nook down since I got this game. It's fun to build your town and watch it grow. It also provides a bit of nostalgia since it is an older game.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Fun, Educational

    My seven year old son enjoys this game. He's not only having fun, but he's learning without knowing that he is. He often shares with us what he has learned, is asking questions, and shows genuine interest. This is a win-win video game.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2013

    ........

    This game is fun and entertaining, but why do you have to wait hours for more energy!?!?!?!?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Wanting minecraft

    We need minecraft pe! Lite,demo, or even full version! JUST GIVE IT TO US AND YOU WILL BE RICH!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2013

    Confused on how to catch fish, can anyone assist? i have lost a

    Confused on how to catch fish, can anyone assist? i have lost a million worms!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2013

    Boss

    Only thing i dont like is u run out off energy WAY to quickly

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Update!

    I love this game, but for some reason my wife bought the same game and it was an upgraded version. I'm curious why mine won't update to that version.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Love it, but it has a glitch

    Most the time when I try to open it, it immediately closes on me. It gets annoying so I stop playing it for a while. The unfortunate thing is, is its one of those games where you need to keep up with it or your people die off and nothing gets done. I hate that issue. I want it to open everytime. I tried to see if I could update it, but it doesn't allow me that option. Please fix the problem.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    B.B.

    The game is amazing, but I do not like how you get tired a lot and can not do anything while you are tired.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 151 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 8