Customer Reviews for

The Oregon Trail: American Settler

Average Rating 3
( 1033 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(385)

4 Star

(149)

3 Star

(116)

2 Star

(64)

1 Star

(319)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2339 out of 2537 people found this review helpful.

Awesome

I love this game i liked it on computer and like it on nook though it could use food that gives you energy Say yes for food that gives you energy

posted by Anonymous on September 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2526 out of 2770 people found this review helpful.

I AGREE

This is very much like the Facebook game Fronteir Ville WE NEED FREE ENERGY OR AT LEAST 20 ENERGY EVERY THREE MINS TAP YES IF U AGREE!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by 16421486 on November 8, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 385 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2012

    Fuduh

    NEEDS FREE ENERGY

    1594 out of 1796 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Annonymous

    Why isn't there FREE cash?? Why can't the energy add 10 every three minutes instead of just one?? Why can't we restart the stupid game?? Very confused.... love the game but why, why, why can't this cost money to allow all of these things? I agree so far with everyones comments, y'all should agree with me too!!!!!

    677 out of 797 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Fun

    IT IS REALLY FUN!!!!!!

    348 out of 452 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    If Ur Game Crashes.....

    •••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••• THIS IS FOR EVERYONE WHOSE GAME CRASHES OR WONT LOAD!!!!!!! READ THIS!!!!!!!

    My game went to the Gameloft screen then back to the Nook homepage. Listen up! You have to remove you memory or SD card to play. It is WORTH IT though!

    But dont remove your card completely.......you will lose it. On the low left side of your Nook (I have a Nook color), open the little flap thing and just press down on your SD card and your Nook will tell you that the card was removed. The game should now work!

    Press yes if this review helped! Thanks!

    ~CB

    159 out of 196 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Good Game

    I quite liked this game. It provides entartainment for hours.

    124 out of 160 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Friends?

    How do i get friends so i can help their farm...im logged into facebook and gameloft but cant figure out how to find friends...other then that i love the game so far just wish you earned more cash and not just coins...anyone read this and would like to add me gameloft is imhisprincess09. Thanks

    91 out of 121 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Herbs

    To get herbs get an infirmary, and then click it.
    After that a menu will pop up.
    Then, click herbs, and you're done!
    (You have to wait for it to be made though).

    55 out of 75 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Great

    This app is like the one on Facebook. A few things different but very fun!

    50 out of 71 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2012

    Amazing

    Ok for all of you people out there that dont lke it you can have your own opinion but i think that its absolutly amzing.what i do is i have alot of free aps on my nook and im constantly on this one i use up all my energy points then i play my other apps then when my energys full it pops ip on my notifications bar and thats auyomatic.but if you do get this game i would get the oregen trail by game loft it will help you understand this game better the only cin to doing that is that it is not free so over all if i could id give it a 100000000000000000 stars

    32 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    So much fun!! (And glitch fixed!)

    This game is addicting and I play it every day on my Nook Color! The graphics are great and the characters are a bit comical. The tutorial is very helpful and I was able to expand my settlement gradually over several weeks. I didn't spend a single cent of real money on this game! You have to be patient and think about what resources you are using and how you are using them. There are ways to gain extra energy, lumber and food and also bonuses every day. As you grow and get to higher levels you can also get more storage. If you run out of energy it renews every 3 minutes. You can leave the game and come back later when you have more stored up. It's meant to be played long term not solved quickly.
    I did have a problem last week where the game wouldn't fully load and would just return to my home screen. I tried archiving then reinstalling it, then I tried deleting and reinstalling it but nothing worked. I saw on line that other people were having similar problems so I went to Gameloft's site and found the Q&A section for this game. I think it said an update caused a problem and you may need to disconnect your WIFI and try again. It worked! I do have to disconnect every time I want to play but that's easy. I also lost my last game (and I was close to level 50) but I didn't mind starting over. I changed some things this time and have some good pointers that I learned last time (I used the free cash to buy an ax that cuts trees twice as fast. So far so good!). I really enjoy this game and can't believe it's free! I'm also a big fan of Ice Age so keep making these games please!

    29 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Great game

    Great game,vary egeacashinal,fun. I am8

    14 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Great game

    Im on a nook tablet and it runs well. I am not a facebook or twitter user and am still able to play thus game. The energy takes long to build but if you just exit the game and busy yourself elsewhere it continues to build up. Also the game was free and you gotta love that. I imagine that if I did use FB with this game I would be well past lvl17. When you level up the energy meter fills completly. If you cannot wait for these occurences then you should continue your window licking and stop leaving negative reviews.

    11 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    The oregon trail american settler

    I like this game, but i cant figure out how to get herbs!!!!

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2012

    To the complainers ...

    For those of you complaining about hidden charges .. stop it now. This game is absolutely free and IF you decide you want to get extra energy or buy special items, then yes you have to pay for it BUT basically once we build our homes, shops and cut down trees we use up all of our energy, sit back turn the game off and do something else while your energy builds up! This is called "Patience" and we should all use it. It is FREE and FUN .. do you want everything done in a second? Really people stop complaining ... it is FREE .. use common sense. Thank you to the creators, for making this a free and cute game to play on my nook tablet!

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2013

    The game

    I think that the game does needs to at lest to get at lest 21 free dollers if you play the game for a week straet so we can buy other things you guys arrey click the yes if you agrreythe yes at the bottom of the screen

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    KYZER

    THIS GAME IS AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Its nice...

    If you like this app, try Ice Age Village.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Wont work

    First this started on my cell phone. It would work for a while then once I got to a high level around level 40 it would just stop working. now I have it on my tablet and now it won't work again. It just started today and this game is one of my favorites and I complained about this problem before and gameloft did nothing about it. Gameloft,you guys can see that I'm not the only one that complained about this game not working. Please fix this or gameloft is going to lose a fan.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2013

    Great game!

    This game is great. I love it.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2013

    Stupid game

    I tried opening up this game but it says that the connection failed and it asks me to eather retry or cancel and when i hit cancel it exits me out of the game. Hit yes if you agree.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 385 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 20