BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Originals

Average Rating 4
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(6)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Just

    This book was just great

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    Good from begining to end!

    This book was great. Easy read. Just the right amount of sci fi. I definitly recomend this for a quick read.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Imagine growing up thinking that you and your sisters are triple

    Imagine growing up thinking that you and your sisters are triplets, then being woken up in the middle of the night by your mother to flee in the cover of darkness.  Now imagine being told the truth…that you and your sister are clones of a baby that had died long ago.

    That is exactly happened to Lizzie, Ella, and Betsey.  After being told that they can no longer act as triplets but must now play a part in a single life…one of Elizabeth Best.  The sisters are allotted a third of a day to exist in the real word.  Lizzie has the morning, Ella has the afternoon, and Betsey has the evenings.  So far, things had been going well.  Lizzie would go to morning classes, rush home at lunch to swap places with Ella who would then finish the afternoon classes and go to cheerleading practice.  For the evening, Betsey would go to night school in preparation for college.  While one of the sisters is at school, the other two are home schooled with the same subject and information.  The sisters would all learn the jazz dance moves, and the cheerleading cheers so that all three lives run seamlessly as one.

    That is, until Lizzie pretty much fails a math quiz which, as their mother would say, would draw too much attention to them.  So what’s the way to solve that?  Switch time.  Now Ella must do the morning routine, and Lizzie is now responsible for the afternoon schedule.  But Lizzie didn’t expect to start falling for Sean Kelly.  A guy who makes her want to be an individual, to have her own life so that she can date him.  But of course that complicates things, as Ella has also found a crush of her very own.  How can three girls pretending to be one girl manage to date?  Easy!  Mom will decide who the lucky guy will be.  Too bad for Lizzie that mommy dearest has decided to go with Ella’s crush.

    But that doesn’t stop Lizzie from going for what she wants.  And because of her stubborn, go-get-em attitude, Lizzie discovers that her mother has her own secrets.  One that Lizzie is determined to unravel, especially if the light at the end of tunnel resembles freedom for her and her sisters.

    I couldn’t stop reading The Originals by Cat Patrick.  It was one of those books that I had a hard time putting down, squeezing in spare minutes here and there to continue the story that was unfolding before my eyes.

    There were various moments in the book where my heart pounded like crazy, fearing that Lizzie and her sisters would get busted!  I fell in love with author, Cat Patrick’s book Forgotten, and was extremely excited to read another one of her works.  Her writing is one that is so addictive and captivates the attention of the reader.  With the multiple twists and turns in the book, there was always the moments where I was left wondering what could happen next!  It totally opened up my eyes to the idea of cloning and wondering just how close science is to cloning humans, or on the flip side…if things have progressed as far as it has in this book, and there are clones being hidden in the world and living right under our noses.

    I loved all the characters in this book.  Even the crazy obsessive OCD mother.  She was the “is she a villain” character that kept you guessing, and had you loathing her how she forces her girls to live.  Lizzie, Ella, and Betsey (even though they are clones) all have their own personalities that you can’t help but love.  And because of their own personalities and the understanding of what their life is like, I couldn’t help but wish that they will find what they are looking for and have what they want the most…their own individual lives.

    I absolutely recommend this read to readers everywhere.  Those who are fascinated in science and the possibility of cloning will really enjoy The Originals by Cat Patrick.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    The originals

    The oringinals was a great book that i happened to come upon. The three girls have to learn how to get their life back while their mom is very protective.
    I love how this book has a very big plot twist that makes me never want to put the book down.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    ............

    ..........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2014

    Enjoyable

    I love all of Cat Patrick's books :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2014

    Great

    Pulls you in so you don't want to put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    A Great Time-Passer

    It was a captivating book that basically saved my life on a cross-state road trip. Though one of the sisters, Betsey, could have been a bit more developed, the book was great.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2013

    Please help!! Could someone

    Someone please lenf me this book? Thak you! Oh please reply to SUZZY. Thanks again!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2013

    Fast read

    Fast read. The ending kept going and going though

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    The Originals

    Cat Patrick is by far my favorite author. I read Forgotten and Revived and I fell in love! This book was also amazing, an dit was on a cool topic. Amazing job Cat...I can't wait until your next book!
    P.S. I hope one day you make a series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    The Originals is the first book I have read by Cat Patrick, and

    The Originals is the first book I have read by Cat Patrick, and it will also not be the last. In this book, Lizzie, Ella, and Betsey take shifts impersonating Elizabeth. See they are identical in how they look, however they are not identical triplets but clones, from an original. Their mother, a genetic scientist, implanted them in her womb and ran away with them. Now, almost 17 years later, they have been at this for several years. You all wonder why they don't just act as triplets? it is because the top secret project that is them was actually leaked and triplets are looked at with a bit too much interest by the government. This book, if it wasn't for the whole cloning, would have been marked as a contemporary. All three girls divide the day three way, Lizze and Ellie divide their school time halfway while Betsey goes to their part time job and night class at the local college. I loved the high school setting, since this is told from Lizzie's POV only, and also that there is none of the cliche high schooler plots, evil cheerleaders or douchey jocks. Actually, "Elizabeth" is part of the cheerleading squad! The story really kicks off when Lizze and Ellie start liking two different guys and have to find a way to be able to date them, even though in everyone else's eyes, they are just one person. Because the girls started becoming impatient and fed up with the way they're living, and also due to a coincidence, they find out that their mother has been lying to them, and hiding a few things that could change their lives. Lizzie starts snooping, while at the same time trying to see Sean without him seeing Ellie with her guy and thinking it's her. I loved the contemporary elements intertwined with the science fiction ones. We have a mystery of what really happened to make their mother leave her work and hide as well as for how long is she planning on keeping them on lockdown. I loved that the girls had the best friendship together, they each were so different and had their own unique personality. I really enjoyed that. The plot was pretty fast paced, The Originals is around 300 pages but it felt so short because I was flipping the pages like crazy. Sean isn't just a love interest here but he actually was a big supporter for Lizzie. I appreciated the progression of their relationship and how it didn't feel insta love for me. The plot twist was actually very surprising for me and the ending was even more shocking. It was bittersweet but also very heartbreaking, an ending that made me close the book and just think about it for a minute or two. I would definitely recommend The Originals to Contemporary and Sci-Fi fans, as well as fans of Cat Patrick.  

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 17 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1