Customer Reviews for

The Other Boy

Average Rating 4.5
( 103 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Reviewed by Tasha for TeensReadToo.com

Maddy Sinclaire is your typical rich girl. She loves to party the night away, has the perfect gorgeous boyfriend, Brian, and she knows that she's about to have the summer of her life. Her parents are headed up to their newly purchased vineyard up in Napa and they're tru...
Maddy Sinclaire is your typical rich girl. She loves to party the night away, has the perfect gorgeous boyfriend, Brian, and she knows that she's about to have the summer of her life. Her parents are headed up to their newly purchased vineyard up in Napa and they're trusting Maddy at home in the city by herself for the entire summer. The first night her parents are gone she throws the ultimate summer party, but then she gets an unexpected visit from her parents. Apparently, they forget a few important documents and had to turn around and crashed the party.

Not trusting Maddy anymore they bring her back with them to Napa to spend the entire summer helping fix up the vineyard. Maddy is devastated that she has to spend the summer away from her friends and Brian and then, on top of that, she is going to be imprisoned in the middle of nowhere!

When she gets to Napa, though, she unexpectedly meets David, the extremely cute son of her dad's business partner and the boy she's going to work with all summer. Although she hates to admit it, Maddy starts wondering if Brian is really the right guy for her, or if David, who's nothing like she is, might just be worth her time.

This was definitely the perfect summer read. Light, fun, and romance-filled -- what girl could resist? While it was your classic clich├ęd story, I thought it was super-cute and wish that I could be as lucky with guys as Maddy!!! I enjoyed seeing Maddy's character develop from a rich snob to a down-to-earth girl who could appreciate the beauty of nature.

I'm not going to lie, at first I despised Maddy; she was whiny and stuck-up, but as the book progressed she became very likable and relatable. The book was also very funny. The author created a ton of humorous situations where I found myself laughing out loud. For fans of Hailey Abbott's previous books, THE OTHER BOY will not disappoint!

posted by TeensReadToo on November 13, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

not the best

this book definitly has its moments of goodness but most of the time i found it not very interesting and boring. Definitly not what I was expecting from Abbott. I am very sorry to say but the Summer Boys were much better than The Other Boy.

posted by Red-SoxGirl on February 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted November 13, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Tasha for TeensReadToo.com

    Maddy Sinclaire is your typical rich girl. She loves to party the night away, has the perfect gorgeous boyfriend, Brian, and she knows that she's about to have the summer of her life. Her parents are headed up to their newly purchased vineyard up in Napa and they're trusting Maddy at home in the city by herself for the entire summer. The first night her parents are gone she throws the ultimate summer party, but then she gets an unexpected visit from her parents. Apparently, they forget a few important documents and had to turn around and crashed the party. <BR/><BR/>Not trusting Maddy anymore they bring her back with them to Napa to spend the entire summer helping fix up the vineyard. Maddy is devastated that she has to spend the summer away from her friends and Brian and then, on top of that, she is going to be imprisoned in the middle of nowhere! <BR/><BR/>When she gets to Napa, though, she unexpectedly meets David, the extremely cute son of her dad's business partner and the boy she's going to work with all summer. Although she hates to admit it, Maddy starts wondering if Brian is really the right guy for her, or if David, who's nothing like she is, might just be worth her time. <BR/><BR/>This was definitely the perfect summer read. Light, fun, and romance-filled -- what girl could resist? While it was your classic clichéd story, I thought it was super-cute and wish that I could be as lucky with guys as Maddy!!! I enjoyed seeing Maddy's character develop from a rich snob to a down-to-earth girl who could appreciate the beauty of nature. <BR/><BR/>I'm not going to lie, at first I despised Maddy; she was whiny and stuck-up, but as the book progressed she became very likable and relatable. The book was also very funny. The author created a ton of humorous situations where I found myself laughing out loud. For fans of Hailey Abbott's previous books, THE OTHER BOY will not disappoint!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    not the best

    this book definitly has its moments of goodness but most of the time i found it not very interesting and boring. Definitly not what I was expecting from Abbott. I am very sorry to say but the Summer Boys were much better than The Other Boy.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2008

    a fresh summer story!

    I've always liked Hailey Abbott as an author and The Other Boy lives up to her reputation that I have for her books. The Other Boy is a quick, fun, and fresh summer read that I enjoyed thoroughly due to the witty humor and the change the main charactor, Maddy undergoes throughout the story! Overall it's another hit from Abbott!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    I really enjoyed it. Has the best of both worlds.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    such a romantic book!

    This is a great book for those of you who love reading romance books... Its a great summer book as well.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    whoa

    . Your reading my comment
    2. Now your saying/thinking thats a stupid fact.
    4. You didnt notice that i skipped 3.
    5. Your checking it now.
    6. Your smiling.
    7. Your still reading my comment.
    8. You know all you have read is true.
    10. You didnt notice that i skipped 9.
    11. Your checking it now.
    12. You didnt notice there are only 10 facts

    Copy and paste to 1 book, tomorrow will be your best day ever! no matter WHAT!!!!!

    1 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    To below

    I will b your nook friend just give me your email adress!!!! Thx
    ~Christina (cici)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2012

    She was sur blown when her 'Rents came!!!!

    ROFFL! Iwa laughing my big ass off. Thibook is sooooo funny and romtic a cool i swear i would have done the same thing as her. My party would have been at the hamptons tho! I Definitely recomend this book is u want a fun nd flirty read. Oh and CHECK OUT MI FACEBOOK PAGE!!! SUBSCRIBE TO MI UPDATES AT
    Nasya Jackson! FRIEND ME PLEASE!!!!!
    XOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOXOX

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2011

    Very Cute Story

    My Thoughts:

    Madeline Sinclaire¿s parents allow her to stay home while they go to Napa Valley for the summer. Her parents end up coming back early and catch her throwing a party at the house. They are infuriated and sentence her to spend the rest of her summer with them at their vineyard. This means she¿ll be away from her friends and away from her boyfriend, Brian. She¿s reluctant to enjoy the two months there. The place is unlike what she¿s accustomed to in San Francisco.

    She gets commissioned by her father to fix up a wine tasting room with David, his business partner¿s very gorgeous son. David is more enthusiastic about the job that Maddie is. At first they get off on the wrong foot (of course). They go around to other places for ideas on how to decorate and design the place. They spend a lot of time together working. She actually begins to enjoy being up at the vineyard. And she¿s enjoying the time with David. Will summer turn out better than she thought?

    I¿ve read several Hailey Abbott books over the years. They have all been nice light reads. This one was very cute. Very cute. I liked all the characters and the way that Maddie grew along the way. I could go back and read this one again.


    My Rating:

    Very Good... Stay up late

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2010

    Highly Recommended

    I totally love this book, it's amazing the way u fall in love with the story, also it helps you to realize that everything can change in just a moment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Not so good

    I really liked this book at the BEGINING but near the middle and end and just got kind of strange.The ending just left me saying thats it? . I mean come on This is a good romance and everything but it is not true to life what so ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Sweet read

    Maddy was looking forward to spending the summer at home while her parents refurbished their new vineyard. But she decided to throw a party the first night of freedom...and her parents returned home unexpectedly. Now, Maddy's stuck going back with them for the whole summer. She's more of a city girl, than a country girl. Plus she was looking forward to hanging out with her friends and her boyfriend, sleeping to noon, and just having fun. Now her parents have her cleaning the new wine tasting room...and worse working with a guy who see something beneath her city city exterior. Could she actually enjoy this summer and could sparks fly in the country if her heart is still in the city?

    Another fun summer romance from Hailey Abbott. She's one of my favorite teen romance authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    amazing book!!!!!

    this is a list book. I think everyteen and romance should have this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2008

    So good!!!!!!!!!!

    I couldn't put it down! It's very realistic about her changing and just growing up. Plus he's so sweet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2008

    A reviewer

    this book is great.Maddy is a exciting character,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2008

    the other boy

    The Other Boy was a great book! I read it in 3 hours or so? It's 4 a.m. right now, so that must say something. I'd recommend to this book! especially if your into the romantic kinda things.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 103 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6