BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Other End of the Leash: Why We Do What We Do Around Dogs

Average Rating 4.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted July 17, 2012

    Patricia McConnell is to dogs what Jesus is to humans. A savior.

    I don't have a lot of time to read, so when I do, it's important that the reading be intelligent, pertinent, applicable and well worth my time. This book is all of that. Hardly able to put it down, I would read at night until my eyes closed. I became a fan of Dr. McConnell's after reading some of her books that the shelter loaned me after I adopted my puppy from them. Highly, highly recommend her books, especially this one.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 31, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A must read for anyone wanting to train a dog

    This book is guarenteed to help you understand and communicate better with your dog.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2004

    Extremely Insightful

    With this book, I learned not only why my dogs respond to things the way they do, but why I respond to things the way I do. I also learned how I SHOULD respond to my dogs in certain situations. This book is not condescending or snobbish. The Author relates her own personal experiences and 'Duh' moments throughout the book, which gives insight into her ideas. A definite must-read for people who want to know how to communicate better with their canine family members.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2012

    very good book

    We have a new highly reactive dog and the material in this book fits nicely with the classes that we are taking.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2003

    * * * REQUIRED READING!!! * * *

    A MUST HAVE for anyone who has - or is considering getting - a canine companion. My understanding and enjoyment of my little, yappy terrier has improved tremendously because of this book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2010

    Just Incredible

    McConnell gave me a new understanding of my relationship with my dog, not only from what my dog may be thinking, but what she may be interpreting from my actions. The title appropriately describes this book ... an examination of the emotions and actions of the individuals on both ends of the leash and how each causes action and reaction by the other.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2008

    Dogs are great but they are still an Animal

    This is a great book to read to understand the <BR/>responsibility of owning ananimal (dog/cat etc.).<BR/>The understanding of their world and how it translates <BR/>to us. Insightful and honest. This will definitely <BR/>teach you more about owning an animal and how WE need <BR/>to learn their languages. It's like owning a car but <BR/>not understanding the basics of how to use it and what <BR/>it can do for you. Not just as simple as putting gas in <BR/>and going...."other things" make it work and "other things" <BR/>can make it break down. From minor issues to huge ones...all <BR/>the while with us unknowningly putting the wrong gas in <BR/>and trying to doing something with the car that it just <BR/>doesn't know how to do or simply can't. The car can't <BR/>hear and doesn't understand our language. Great education <BR/>in understanding what we NEED to learn about their world. It's fascinating, educational, and heartwarming! Enjoy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2008

    A very insightful book on dog behaviors

    McConnell shares her expertise and experience in dog training and behavior modification. A good book on understanding our canine friends and our relationship with them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2003

    Amazingly Insightful

    The other end of the Leash is a fascinating look into the canine/primate relationship. The book is a pleasure to read as well as offering a greater understanding about your dog and your own behavior around your dog. I talk about this book all the time, it's the best book I've read on dogs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2