BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Other Side of Me

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ??? Country

    never heard of her, took a chance and loved it...easy listening.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Broadway Artist Explores New Territory. (Country/Pop)

    Linda Eder has a solid fan base for her confident Broadway stylings. In "The Other Side of Me" she branches out into new territory. It's a bit of country, a bit of pop, a bit of jazz & a bit of folk. <BR/><BR/>I find her voice particularly suited to country singing. It's strong & melodic, very beautiful & easy to listen to. She covers songs by a wide variety of artists, giving fresh interpretations of Joni Mitchell's "Both Sides Now" & "Ghost" by Emily Saliers. Listening to Eder, I hear these songs in a whole new way.<BR/><BR/>My favourite cut is "They Are the Roses," in which children are seen as roses & our hope for the future. "Make Today Beautiful" is also uplifting. "No matter what I face, I'm going to make today beautiful" is a great song to listen to at the end of a long day. <BR/><BR/>The only song penned by Eder is "Waiting for the Fall." It's a gutsy statement by a woman choosing to make changes in a bad relationship - fastpaced & empowering for anyone who's been in a similar situation. I enjoy Eder's covers of work by other artists, but she has a talent for songwriting herself. I hope we'll hear more of this side of her on her next album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Strong, Inspirational and Flowing - Pure Enjoyment

    I have just discovered Linda Eder, who has worked on Broadway, and has now released her 10th cd - a mix of pop/country music! I have really enjoyed this cd. It is great for listening around the house, in the car, and generally trying to have some "me" time (I find I don't listen to music as much when others are in the house as we don't always enjoy the same music). <BR/><BR/>I can honestly say I don't dislike any of the songs on the cd - which I generally don't say. Now and again, Linda Eder's voice has qualities that remind me of early Barbara Streisand - just a hint now and again, but for certain notes - it's there. If You Believe (The Way I Do) is my favorite song because it just washes over me in and pulls me along with the melody, and my next favorite is Lifted because she speaks of our soldiers coming home. Makes me smile!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Perfect timing.

    I recently got Linda Eder¿s new album ¿The other side of me¿ and have been listening to it non stop. With all the stress factors in the news like the economy and the election. Not to mention all the things that go on with my kids¿. Her music lifts me up and calms me down. Just the right note count to make you slow down and appreciate those neglected thoughts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Strong and Soothing

    Linda Eder has a wonderful and strong voice. Her music is very soft and relaxing to anyone who has not heard her before. I would recommend this cd to anyone who likes a new age sound with a mix of Jazz and Country. Highly recommend if you are looking for some relaxing "you" time music in the bath or other places. I will say how ever that listening to the cd from start to finish is a little slow and can be dry, so I have a list of favorites I like to hit.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Very nice and easy to listen to!

    After receiving the new Linda Eder CD in the mail, I popped it in the CD player right away. I was not familiar with Linda and was curious to see what she had to offer. What a pleasant surprise!<BR/><BR/>The Other Side Of Me has 12 tracks. The first song "Pieces" had a very pleasant and comforting sound that caught my attention. From there we are led to her 2nd song and I liked that one even better. "If you Believe (The Way I Do) shows the beautiful vocals that Linda Eder has to offer.<BR/><BR/>I enjoyed the sound of banjo and mandolin on many of her tracks. The title track "The Other Side of Me" is the 6th on the CD and it really hits home. Linda sings with a passion that makes the listener feel her words. The CD is put together well and I recommend it. It is one of those CD's that will get played often.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Finding Her Own Voice

    When I listened to "The Other Side of Me", I thought that Eder sounded like a cross between Barbra Streisand and Carrie Underwood. Doing a bit of research, I found out that Eder was born in Tucson, AZ in 1961, and that, in fact, Streisand and Judy Garland were early inspirations of hers. I went back to listen to some of her previous work which<BR/>included mainly Broadway and pop standards.<BR/><BR/>In speaking about her new album, her 10th and her debut with Verve, Eder has said, "This isn't so much a departure as it is me getting back to who I really am." She has explained that before she felt she was playing a role, albeit a good one, but that now she was going back to her roots and what moved her when she was just a kid and picked up her first guitar and began writing music. This first love is rekindled in "The Other Side of Me" with its country-pop flavor.<BR/><BR/>For me, some of these songs still sound like pop standards and, in fact, the middle of the cd songs seem to blend together, however there are truly some that stand out for me and make this cd powerful and enjoyable. Eder has a gorgeous voice and a broad vocal range. The songs deal with a range of emotions and form a tapestry of life and love. There are soaring melodies and the overall tone is extremely uplifting and optimistic. I love the instruments used on this cd and its beautiful harmonies. There are banjo, fiddle, mandolin, mandola, cello and acoustic/electric guitar and piano included.<BR/><BR/>"Pieces" is easily one of my favorites. It is about a woman who has to pick up the pieces all the time while her man finds another lover for the good times. It really is feisty and quite catchy while not cliche. It starts out, "She slams the door and you come running", and continues with "I've always been the one who puts you back together; She gets the best of you and I get your stormy weather." The message is that "I need some sunshine of my own." What I love about this song is that it is simple and packs a punch while being extremely melodic and showcasing Eder's beautiful vocals. It really has a country feel and I am in love with Antoine Silverman's fiddle which acccents throughout and ends the song.<BR/><BR/>My favorite is "Waiting for The Fall". This really galvanizes the entire cd for me with its sexy grooving electric guitars. It almost feels like it has a rockabilly feel and seems more alive and exciting than some of the others. This to me seems the epitome of Eder finding her own voice. It sounds modern and fresh even integrates a rap by Strange Cranium which fits perfectly. This song is a departure from some of the others that still sound pop/Broadway to me. Eder wrote this piece and it shows. I really hope she produces more of her own music.<BR/><BR/>I also like "Prayer For Love" which is full of country-tinged hopefulness.<BR/><BR/>"They are the Roses" speaks of the dreams that grow in the heart of a child and the hope for future generations. It is enhanced by the sweet voices of a children's choir.<BR/><BR/>"Both Sides Now" is a cover of one of Joni Mitchell's famous anthems. It's very relaxing like a lot of this cd. There is a lot of pleasant music that is great for mellowing out.<BR/><BR/>I have been a fan of the Indigo Girls for ages and have seen them in concert. I think their writing is brilliant, so it was like finding an old friend to find a cover of Emily Salier's "Ghost" here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Making today and everyday beautiful!

    Linda Eder's new album "The Other Side of Me" is beautiful. Her voice is stupendous. The album is full of gems. From "If I Could" which is my favorite, to the sweet "If You Believe", the uplifting and hopeful "They are the Roses", the country flavored "Pieces" and "Waiting for the Fall", and a very nice cover of my favorite Joni Mitchell song "Both Sides Now". Linda's voice and album will continue to make not only today beautiful, but everyday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Great new CD, highly recommended

    I must say that I love Linda Eder's The Other Side of Me CD. I put it in not knowing quite what to expect and am pleasantly surprised. She has crafted a new CD with new songs that is easy to listen to and very soul-searching. The songs are fabulous, well-written and upbeat. 5 Stars from me! My favorite songs are Pieces & Ghosts.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Great Stuff

    I was at the kickoff of this CD . Anyone who is a Linda fan will love her new sound. This CD will also have broad appeal as she steps out of her &amp quot broadway&amp quot shoes into what she says is her more natural cowboy boots and blue jeans style. And who knew she could write songs and play the guitar.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1