Customer Reviews for

The Other Side of Us (Harlequin Super Romance Series #1824)

Average Rating 4
( 259 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(103)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(41)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

14 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

Title:   * The Other Side of Us Author: Sarah Mayberry Series: n

Title:   * The Other Side of Us
Author: Sarah Mayberry
Series: n/a
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Harlequin
Format: ebook, paperback
Date/Year: January 2, 2013
Reviewed by: ElaineReads

*This book was provided to me by the publisher for review.

Summary from the...
Title:   * The Other Side of Us
Author: Sarah Mayberry
Series: n/a
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Harlequin
Format: ebook, paperback
Date/Year: January 2, 2013
Reviewed by: ElaineReads

*This book was provided to me by the publisher for review.

Summary from the publisher: 

The best thing between Oliver Barrett and Mackenzie Williams is a fence. Ever since Oliver's new-neighbor gestures were met with unfriendly responses, he's decided to keep his distance. After all, he's in this seaside town to get his life on track again. That doesn't include working hard to get on Mackenzie's good side--no matter how intriguing she may be.His intentions are put to the test, however, when his dog becomes infatuated with hers. The two crafty canines do their best to break down the barriers between the properties. And where the dogs go...well, the humans must follow! It doesn't take long for a powerful attraction to build between Oliver and Mackenzie. They soon discover that the worst of first impressions can lead to the best possible outcomes....

My Musings: 

The first thing I want to say is this is not the book I thought I was getting.  The publisher's blurb is misleading, although everything it describes is true.  I was looking for a light, funny romance.  That is not this book.

This book is so much more!

The more I read, the more enthralled I became.

Oliver is recovering from a recent divorce caused by his wife's unfaithfulness.  He thought they had a good marriage and had no idea she was cheating on him.  Because of that, he no longer trusts his feelings about the people he meets.

Mackenzie is recovering from a near fatal automobile accident.  She has always been a workaholic and is driving herself to overcome physical injuries, so she can get back to her career.

Neither one of them is an emotional state to begin a relationship.

Enter Mr. Smith, the dachshund, and Strudel, the schnauzer. For them, it is love at first sight.

My description confirms the publisher's blurb.  What it doesn't say is how intense the emotions experienced by both characters are felt.

Both Oliver and Mackenzie are their late thirties, each with a bad marriage behind them.  The relationship that develops between them does not come easily . . . but it does come.  Watching their love grow and their struggle to trust each other was heartrending and heartwarming.

If you are looking for a strong romance between two people with real lives, I highly recommend this book.  It is definitely not fluff, but a solid story that I will remember for a very long time.

REVIEW ORIGINALLY POSTED AT SEDUCTIVE MUSINGS

posted by ElaineReads on January 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

M

I wish you plot spoiling posters would realize that ppl HATE it when you give away the entire book. You may think you are cute, intelligent, smart, whatever, but it just makes you look like an arrogant a$$. Please stop it. Bn, please ban, fine abd put a stop to these ob...
I wish you plot spoiling posters would realize that ppl HATE it when you give away the entire book. You may think you are cute, intelligent, smart, whatever, but it just makes you look like an arrogant a$$. Please stop it. Bn, please ban, fine abd put a stop to these obnoxious posters that reveal the entire book contents. Readers are sick if them.

posted by 8888649 on May 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 259 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2013

    M

    I wish you plot spoiling posters would realize that ppl HATE it when you give away the entire book. You may think you are cute, intelligent, smart, whatever, but it just makes you look like an arrogant a$$. Please stop it. Bn, please ban, fine abd put a stop to these obnoxious posters that reveal the entire book contents. Readers are sick if them.

    24 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2013

    Title:   * The Other Side of Us Author: Sarah Mayberry Series: n

    Title:   * The Other Side of Us
    Author: Sarah Mayberry
    Series: n/a
    Genre: Contemporary Romance
    Publisher: Harlequin
    Format: ebook, paperback
    Date/Year: January 2, 2013
    Reviewed by: ElaineReads

    *This book was provided to me by the publisher for review.

    Summary from the publisher: 

    The best thing between Oliver Barrett and Mackenzie Williams is a fence. Ever since Oliver's new-neighbor gestures were met with unfriendly responses, he's decided to keep his distance. After all, he's in this seaside town to get his life on track again. That doesn't include working hard to get on Mackenzie's good side--no matter how intriguing she may be.His intentions are put to the test, however, when his dog becomes infatuated with hers. The two crafty canines do their best to break down the barriers between the properties. And where the dogs go...well, the humans must follow! It doesn't take long for a powerful attraction to build between Oliver and Mackenzie. They soon discover that the worst of first impressions can lead to the best possible outcomes....

    My Musings: 

    The first thing I want to say is this is not the book I thought I was getting.  The publisher's blurb is misleading, although everything it describes is true.  I was looking for a light, funny romance.  That is not this book.

    This book is so much more!

    The more I read, the more enthralled I became.

    Oliver is recovering from a recent divorce caused by his wife's unfaithfulness.  He thought they had a good marriage and had no idea she was cheating on him.  Because of that, he no longer trusts his feelings about the people he meets.

    Mackenzie is recovering from a near fatal automobile accident.  She has always been a workaholic and is driving herself to overcome physical injuries, so she can get back to her career.

    Neither one of them is an emotional state to begin a relationship.

    Enter Mr. Smith, the dachshund, and Strudel, the schnauzer. For them, it is love at first sight.

    My description confirms the publisher's blurb.  What it doesn't say is how intense the emotions experienced by both characters are felt.

    Both Oliver and Mackenzie are their late thirties, each with a bad marriage behind them.  The relationship that develops between them does not come easily . . . but it does come.  Watching their love grow and their struggle to trust each other was heartrending and heartwarming.

    If you are looking for a strong romance between two people with real lives, I highly recommend this book.  It is definitely not fluff, but a solid story that I will remember for a very long time.

    REVIEW ORIGINALLY POSTED AT SEDUCTIVE MUSINGS

    14 out of 40 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    i really enjoyed this book! it was well written, sweet, funny. i

    i really enjoyed this book! it was well written, sweet, funny. i felt i got a sense of the characters and the way they were feeling and why. a lot of times in some other books,  the love seems to come out of nowhere, but this was written in such a way that you understood it. i really recommend it! 

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    Tmi

    Who needs to read the book when i can just read some of the reviews that pretty much retells the story.......

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    To dude

    Get use to her she will wreck every book she can and thete are plenty but i am going to read it, got to your review before i got to hers, when you see those really long reviews just pass by them it is udually her she is one of the harrietts of the nook,

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 21, 2013

    My first book by Sarah Mayberry now I will read all her books. M

    My first book by Sarah Mayberry now I will read all her books. More authors should offer a free read so people can get to know them. I laughed and I cried. The love scenes were wonderful not there for shock value. One part when Mackenzie said all I ask is that you don't shut me out. Let me walk beside you. Let me be there for you. Let me love you, I lost it , what a wonderful book. Thank you for a good day reading.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2013

    Hi

    STOP THE MADNESS JUST WRITE A ( REVIEV ) IF YOU WANT TELL A STORY ,TELL IT TO YOUR KID'S NOT TO OTHER READER'S.
    I don't NEED to buy it because some #sshole told it all !!!!!!!!!

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2013

    Dude.

    LOL to the person who decided to summarize the entire book in their rate. Hope you didn't want to actually read the book.

    7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 12, 2013

    3 stars This was about 2 people in the middle of personal criss

    3 stars

    This was about 2 people in the middle of personal criss who don't have a good first impression and then they have a lot of sex fast. They are interesting characters mainly just the two of them and their dogs. The plot is good but way too much sex scenes.

    I really like Oliver. He found out his wife of six years has been having affair for almost all of it. He has gone to take care of empting a house is aunt left him and his brother. He plays the guitar and mixes sound at recording studio that he co-owns. He believes in being faithful and really good guy. He has a 18 month old puppy.

    Mackenzie has moved to her beach house so she can be alone and get back in shape faster. She was in a bad accident and is lucky to be alive let alone walking again. She has a long road in front of her still to go. She is worried about being able to keep her job. She produces a soap opera. She is pushing her body to hard. She has a cute dog too.

    Oliver goes next door to say he is staying in his aunt's house to take care of getting it ready to sell it. He doesn't want the only close neighbor to freak when seeing lights after a year of no one living their. Mackenzie has just finshed pushing herself too hard on physical therapy. She is about ready to throw up and needs to lie down when she has Oliver knock. Mackenzie is rude and slams door on him as she runs for bathroom but doesn't make it before throwing up.

    After her dog escapes her yard twice Oliver brings him back over and suggests they talk about fixing the fence. Her phones starts ringing and its her boss that she has been trying to get a hold of for days and slams door on Oliver again.

    That night rain comes down hard and almost gets into her house she tries to clear drain and cant and tries to sweep water away from her house. Oliver sees her out in the storm trying to save her house. Comes out to help her in middle of night. He is able to get the drain open and helps her sweep water away from house. Showing how nice he is to help someone who was rude too him twice.

    They start a better relationship both leaning on each other after hard phone calls. I like that they both are helping each other but than they fall into having sex .

    The dogs are a big part of the story too. Mackenzie has Mr. Smith and Oliver has a girl dog Strudel. I like them a lot.

    I was given this ebook and asked to give honest review of it when finshed by Netgalley.
    Published January 2nd 2013 by Harlequin Super Romance 304 pages ISBN: 0373718241

    7 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Weitd

    You guys write to much just stop dummies

    6 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sarah Mayberry is rapidly becoming one of my "must read&quo

    Sarah Mayberry is rapidly becoming one of my "must read" authors. I really liked this story. Mackenzie and Oliver both have baggage galore, and neither one of them is in any kind of a shape to start a relationship when the book begins. Their romance is therefore slow moving, as it absolutely should be, and ultimately satisfying. It's nudged along by two precarious--but not annoyingly so--dogs. I loved how Oliver and Mackenzie's relationship grew and developed throughout the book--alternating points of view was a great way to show how the actions and words of each was (usually incorrectly, but believable all the same) perceived by the other, especially in the beginning. I didn't want to put it down.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 10, 2013

    Started out great

    Loved the dogs. Same old storyline. Too much sex, too many thoughts, too much angst and drama. Some sub plots never completed. Well edited. Well written. 250 pages. Typical romance with no surprizes and an over abundance of sex. Chick lit. Adults only. Became mundane quickly.

    AD

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2013

    !

    I loved this book! It was funny and romantic, the charatcters were relatable, the conflicts were completely possible, and the love was not "insta-love". Overall, a very good book that i would definitely recommend!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    RECOMMENDED

    VERY INJOYABLE

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Two words

    Very slow but sweet

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    A delight to read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    really good read

    A great story about finding love when you are not looking. Characters are people with real everyday problems that finally get their happily ever after. A really good read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    The other side of us

    It was a nice romance story worth reading. I like how in the end of the story, she took charge and went to him. They ended up together and so did their dogs and that was cute.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Nice!

    Really sweet story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Good read

    Really good book. Held my attention the entire time.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 259 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 13