Customer Reviews for

The Other Side of Us

Average Rating 4
( 245 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(96)

4 Star

(90)

3 Star

(37)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

13 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

Title:   * The Other Side of Us Author: Sarah Mayberry Series: n

Title:   * The Other Side of Us
Author: Sarah Mayberry
Series: n/a
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Harlequin
Format: ebook, paperback
Date/Year: January 2, 2013
Reviewed by: ElaineReads

*This book was provided to me by the publisher for review.

Summary from the...
Title:   * The Other Side of Us
Author: Sarah Mayberry
Series: n/a
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Publisher: Harlequin
Format: ebook, paperback
Date/Year: January 2, 2013
Reviewed by: ElaineReads

*This book was provided to me by the publisher for review.

Summary from the publisher: 

The best thing between Oliver Barrett and Mackenzie Williams is a fence. Ever since Oliver's new-neighbor gestures were met with unfriendly responses, he's decided to keep his distance. After all, he's in this seaside town to get his life on track again. That doesn't include working hard to get on Mackenzie's good side--no matter how intriguing she may be.His intentions are put to the test, however, when his dog becomes infatuated with hers. The two crafty canines do their best to break down the barriers between the properties. And where the dogs go...well, the humans must follow! It doesn't take long for a powerful attraction to build between Oliver and Mackenzie. They soon discover that the worst of first impressions can lead to the best possible outcomes....

My Musings: 

The first thing I want to say is this is not the book I thought I was getting.  The publisher's blurb is misleading, although everything it describes is true.  I was looking for a light, funny romance.  That is not this book.

This book is so much more!

The more I read, the more enthralled I became.

Oliver is recovering from a recent divorce caused by his wife's unfaithfulness.  He thought they had a good marriage and had no idea she was cheating on him.  Because of that, he no longer trusts his feelings about the people he meets.

Mackenzie is recovering from a near fatal automobile accident.  She has always been a workaholic and is driving herself to overcome physical injuries, so she can get back to her career.

Neither one of them is an emotional state to begin a relationship.

Enter Mr. Smith, the dachshund, and Strudel, the schnauzer. For them, it is love at first sight.

My description confirms the publisher's blurb.  What it doesn't say is how intense the emotions experienced by both characters are felt.

Both Oliver and Mackenzie are their late thirties, each with a bad marriage behind them.  The relationship that develops between them does not come easily . . . but it does come.  Watching their love grow and their struggle to trust each other was heartrending and heartwarming.

If you are looking for a strong romance between two people with real lives, I highly recommend this book.  It is definitely not fluff, but a solid story that I will remember for a very long time.

REVIEW ORIGINALLY POSTED AT SEDUCTIVE MUSINGS

posted by ElaineReads on January 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

24 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

M

I wish you plot spoiling posters would realize that ppl HATE it when you give away the entire book. You may think you are cute, intelligent, smart, whatever, but it just makes you look like an arrogant a$$. Please stop it. Bn, please ban, fine abd put a stop to these ob...
I wish you plot spoiling posters would realize that ppl HATE it when you give away the entire book. You may think you are cute, intelligent, smart, whatever, but it just makes you look like an arrogant a$$. Please stop it. Bn, please ban, fine abd put a stop to these obnoxious posters that reveal the entire book contents. Readers are sick if them.

posted by 8888649 on May 19, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 96 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    Excellent read!!!'

    I enjoyed the interaction between the characters

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    i really like it!

    this was a great story, you really got into what the characters where feeling. from the bring your rooting for them, and hoping the find away to make it. you will really enjoy this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Great read

    Heartwarming story about overcoming the obstacles of life

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2013

    Wonderfully touching

    Everytime I come across a story by Ms Mayberry, I know I'm in for a treat. The Other Side of Us is just another example. As a divorcee myself, I was easily able to identify with Oliver and MacKenzie. The ups and downs of emotional aswell as physical injuries are well known. Showing the difficulties and raising above them bravely is a gift of insight. Thank you Ms Mayberry for this book of hope.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    This is nice

    I like it very much

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Highly Recomend

    Was really great to read! and very addictive

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2013

    Beautiful

    This is what true romance is all about. This is an exploration and a celebration of finding your "life partner" between two people who are in the midst of hard crossroads in their lives.
    Six months ago Oliver found out his wife of six years has been cheating on him for most of the years. He comes to Melbourne to close his deceased aunt's house and to lick his wounds and get his head back on. He meets Mackenzie who is recuperating from a severe car accident. She is in an ugly place mentally because she is fighting to get her life back but physically she is not there. They don't hit it off at first but their dogs have other plans to bring them all together. They slowly help each other and fall in love.
    Thus is a beautifully written love story. I highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2013

    This book was great. Even better that it was free

    This book was great. Even better that it was free

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2013

    Loved it!

    This was a wonderful book. The characters were very real and someone you want to get to know. The storyline flowed so well I didn't want to put the book down. I cried and laughed right along with the main characters. I loved this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Great great read!!!

    This book is so good. I couldnt put it down!!! Very few grammar/spelling errors but its free so, worth the read! Most definitely. : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    Excellent story of two people who have been hurt deeply and their struggles to regain who they were before the deep loss. About building a trust in each other and .... read the story. Well worth the 255 pages.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    One of my top ten reads since I received my Nook! Liked the wri

    One of my top ten reads since I received my Nook! Liked the writing style, crazy about both Oliver and MacKenzie and couldn't stop reading their story!
    Don't let the beginning put you off.... read on and get to know the characters and won't want to put it down either!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2013

    Very good book

    I love this book. Very well written and keeps you reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Highly recommend

    This is a very good book love the main characters and their love story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2013

    Great read!

    Excellent romance novel. Though some of the terminology was confusing to an American; the human aspect of it was universal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2013

    Anonymous

    This was a great story. A must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Such a cute book!

    This book could definitely be better if Mackenzie and Oliver had children together... but I still immensely loved each page that I swiped across my screen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2013

    This really is a book you don't want to put down!!

    This really is a book you don't want to put down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Loved!

    Got this book cause it was free and it blew me away. I wasn't expecting a free book to be so good. I love nicholas sparks and this reminded me of his writing. Very well done! Will read more from this author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2013

    Charming book, kept me interested throughout. The interactions b

    Charming book, kept me interested throughout. The interactions between the lead characters are realistic, the exes, not so much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 96 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 5