Customer Reviews for

The Other Side of the Sky: A Memoir

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    best book ever

    best book ever

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2010

    Eye-opening and truly Inspirational

    The other Side of the Sky is a truly inspirational story. The book is about the trials and tribulations that a young Afghan girl, Farah, goes through. The way she overcomes the obstacles placed in front of her is admirable and inspires the reader to do the same. I personally have not dealt nor have I met many people with any difficulties that come close to what this brave young woman had to deal with and overcame. That is why her story is so inspirational. The story, however, is still very sad. It is sad because of the events that shook this girl's life. What's sadder is that these type of unfortunate events are commonplace is certain parts of the world. I highly recommend this book not only because it is a page turner, but because it opens your eyes to the way things are in certain parts of the world.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great memoir

    one of my favorite memoirs that I have read. I got mine from a library and its so good that i'm gonna buy it for my bookshelf to reread.
    It really is an unforgettable story about this girl in afghanistan and how she loses her leg and most of her family but is still determined to achieve and accomplish her goals(going to america).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2009

    Great Book

    ...Wonderful and interesting. Farah Ahmedi and Tamim Ansary's book was very detailed and touching. I am speechless.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2008

    A reviewer

    this book is very sad in some parts but, it shows you all the hardships an Afghan girl'like Farah' goes through everyday.it also show you a different perspective of a war from their eyes. i would recommend it to people who like biographies or who are interested in the Afghan culture.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2015

    I chose this book because it looked sad and i caid of like sad b

    I chose this book because it looked sad and i caid of like sad books but sometimes i don't like them because sometimes they make me sad so and only from the front cover it seams i was going to like it and i did like it so much and so i did like it so the books seas she used to live with here hole entire family but know she lives with here mom and the y live Utah because and the last place they lived they had a lot of battle and fight so her and here mom moved to Utah were they said of like it  and i did enjoy this book a lot because it was sad and it was happy too at the same time and it was fun to read and fun to toke about and she is about 13 years old or 12 i don't member and yes i will give this book a five because it was a lot of fun  and she was sad because she did not live with here family and never saw here friend ever again that is my story    

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2014

    Very Compelling In this book you have a girl, a child, who suffe

    Very Compelling
    In this book you have a girl, a child, who suffered her own disability and the loss of her family and her homeland. She takes care of her aging mother and adapting to this new culture. She comes across many obstacles that she knows how to face because the way she overcomes them  makes you want to admire her and feel inspired by her actions. She herself narrowly escapes death when she steps on a land mine.The wars going on force her to flee, first over the mountains to refugee camps across the border, and finally to America. She's a very smart girl for her age. This book has a wonderful quality of survival and is most compelling. It's as if Farah was a tower of strength. She proves that even in the direst circumstances, not only one human heart can thrive. Farah Ahmedi inspires us all. Inspiring book. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2014

    The other Side of the Sky by Farah Ahmedi is a truly inspiration

    The other Side of the Sky by Farah Ahmedi is a truly inspirational story that can really open the hearts of many. The book is about the hardships and experiences that a young Afghan girl, Farah, has to go through. This story really portrays Farah’s girlhood in her home country Afghanistan. With her country at war, Farah is forced to endure all the difficulties such as the constant sights of falling bombs. All these events have worked together and contributed to make her the grown up person she is now. The way she overcomes the obstacles placed in front of her is admirable and inspires the reader to face their own problems with such serenity. I personally have not had to cope with any difficulties that come close to what this heroic individual has had to deal with. With the details of each event written so vividly we feel as if we were on this remarkable journey along with her. That is why her story is so inspirational. The story, however, is still very sad. What really breaks your heart is the fact that these type of unfortunate events are commonplace in certain parts of the world. I believe that by reading this book others are going to become aware of the struggles that others are facing from a different part of the world. Hopefully this book will bring awareness to these problems and bring an end to not only the war occurring in Afghanistan but to many of the other wars that other countries are facing. I would recommend this book to young adults and older (12 & up) just because the content of the book includes events that may be gruesome and frightening. However, anyone who's open minded and willing to go through an emotional ride is welcome to read it. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2009

    The other side of the sky

    This book was intersting. the reader was able to see what life was like for this girl in Afghanistan. A different perspective than many of us know about. It was interesting to see how she lived and the experineces that she had living in a world so different than ours. It was interesting to see what her experience was like when she got to the United States. the fear and uncertainty and all the others things that goes with moving to antother country where you do not speak the language and you do not know what is going. The struggle to learn that new language that the desire to really live in that culture, yet not beinga ablt to is sad and makes a person think. This was a pretty good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1