Customer Reviews for

The Outlander

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

an excellent historical thriller

In 1903, nineteen years old Mary Boulton calmly grabs her husband┬┐s rifle and fires killing him. The widow knows she cannot hang around not because she fears the law, but her abusive brother in laws would enact vengeance in their vicious style.----------------- Mary...
In 1903, nineteen years old Mary Boulton calmly grabs her husband┬┐s rifle and fires killing him. The widow knows she cannot hang around not because she fears the law, but her abusive brother in laws would enact vengeance in their vicious style.----------------- Mary flees across wintry isolated Idaho and Montana while knowing in her composed gut they pursue her. On her trek, she reflects on her unhappy but thankfully short marriage exacerbated by the dead child. As her deep depression enables her to remain eerily unruffled, she meets people along the way. First there is the Frontiersman who admits creeping civilization makes him depressingly feel like an anachronism then there is the Reverend who treats her like an adored daughter. There are others some not as kind towards the itinerant female especially after a mining disaster that the locals feel she caused by being there. However, the worst is coming as the brothers are nearing and the Reverend wants to change their relationship to that of more of equal partners.------------- An allegory of a way of life that seems all but vanished, THE OUTLANDER is an excellent historical thriller starring a strong support cast, a spirited lead female, and a vivid picturesque setting. Readers anticipate High Noon is coming, but it is the trip to the final showdown that makes for a deep look at early twentieth century America in a remote part of the northwest.---------------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good book club selection

The first part of the book was harder for me to get into, even though the book starts out suspenseful. After the first 4-5 chapters, I thought the story built up really well and then I could not put it down. Really interesting snapshot of the time period, wilderness a...
The first part of the book was harder for me to get into, even though the book starts out suspenseful. After the first 4-5 chapters, I thought the story built up really well and then I could not put it down. Really interesting snapshot of the time period, wilderness and mountain settlements.
Very interesting characters and the choices they make. I think it would make for a good book club discussion.
I think this would also make an interesting film.......

posted by coffee_luvr on October 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    an excellent historical thriller

    In 1903, nineteen years old Mary Boulton calmly grabs her husband¿s rifle and fires killing him. The widow knows she cannot hang around not because she fears the law, but her abusive brother in laws would enact vengeance in their vicious style.----------------- Mary flees across wintry isolated Idaho and Montana while knowing in her composed gut they pursue her. On her trek, she reflects on her unhappy but thankfully short marriage exacerbated by the dead child. As her deep depression enables her to remain eerily unruffled, she meets people along the way. First there is the Frontiersman who admits creeping civilization makes him depressingly feel like an anachronism then there is the Reverend who treats her like an adored daughter. There are others some not as kind towards the itinerant female especially after a mining disaster that the locals feel she caused by being there. However, the worst is coming as the brothers are nearing and the Reverend wants to change their relationship to that of more of equal partners.------------- An allegory of a way of life that seems all but vanished, THE OUTLANDER is an excellent historical thriller starring a strong support cast, a spirited lead female, and a vivid picturesque setting. Readers anticipate High Noon is coming, but it is the trip to the final showdown that makes for a deep look at early twentieth century America in a remote part of the northwest.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    Fantastic-A must read

    I began reading on Saturday evening and read until I couldn't keep my eyes open. Finished it Sunday. I is honestly one of the best stories I have read. Keep on writing Gil.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    A new favorite!

    Without doubt, this is one of the best books I have read in a while. It will definatly be on my list of favorites! From the opening page it grabs you and keeps you hooked until the very end. The characters in this book are so well developed and the plot keeps you wondering what will happen next. I finished reading yesterday and hope to reread it very soon. As I was reading I couldn't help but think what a wonderful movie this book would make...maybe we will see it in theaters soon!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Good book club selection

    The first part of the book was harder for me to get into, even though the book starts out suspenseful. After the first 4-5 chapters, I thought the story built up really well and then I could not put it down. Really interesting snapshot of the time period, wilderness and mountain settlements.
    Very interesting characters and the choices they make. I think it would make for a good book club discussion.
    I think this would also make an interesting film.......

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    Pursuit!

    Great story of a woman on the run and her struggles in the great outdoors and inside her own mind.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What a poorly written book!!

    I really did not like one thing about this book. If I had not been reading it for my book club I would not of finished it. I really do not get the good reviews I read on the website. "?????" What was the point in refering to her as the widow for the whole book? If the author loves writing in a poetry style....stick with that. I would yell from the building tops....don't waste your time, but alas I already have. Want to read something good....read the one below




















    w

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    Adamson's First Novel Is a Winner!

    Not since I read The Shipping News has a novel so caught my attention. The descriptions of the mountain scenery are beautiful, as is her knowledge of how to survive in the wilderness. The author's descriptions of how Mary interacts with those she meets along the way show her developing strength and will to survive. Please, Gil Adamson, continue to write fiction!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2009

    The Kindness of Strangers

    Kept looking for more background story--before Mary "took flight". That was my only real complaint. Nice cast of characters along the way. Need more Canadian historical fiction like this.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    I loved this book!!!

    Wonderful story. Just how long do you trudge along to escape your pursuers, and when is it just easier to give up? A true depiction of the real life characters that settled the west in the early years of our nation's history.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    Not The Page-turner I Thought it Would Be

    The premise of this story sounded really good, but it somehow lost me along the way. I kept hoping for the exciting climax to this book, but never really could get it. The story just sort of fizzled for me and although I liked the characters, it just left me feeling sort of shallow....not really overly thrilled or disappointed one way or the other. Then there was the ending......I felt as though the writer even got tired of the "chases" and "running" and sort of gave up. It just didn't do it for me.....sorry.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2010

    Sweetly Surprised

    After finishing this book I was sweetly surprised. The end of the book took me late into the night before I finally finished it. I thought the plot was well thought out and the characters were striking. When I started the book I was indifferent toward Mary Bulton but by the end I was rooting for her. Good read and interesting content.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Outlander: the unfulfilled plot

    Adamson presents an engaging idea of a widow who kills her husband and sets off into the wilderness to escape the two twin brother's-in-law tracking her to bring her to justice and or kill her. Little is done however, to develop the widow as a character. Nearly a hundred pages into the book one cannot find an explanation as to why she killed her husband, nor does one readily come by the end. It isn't learned until several chapters what her name is. Several hundred pages one knows very little about the main character at all, and has little sympathy for her meanderings, all trivial and forced. One can only guess in the end why the widow killed her husband. Mostly, since the husband is painted very sympathetically, there seems little motivation on the widows part to have done the deed. Secondary characters are given better to full development, like the widow's father, who is mentioned often, enough that one expects to see him, or for there to be a confrontation between him and the widow. Further inconsistencies include the fact the window can't read, but for convenience later she suddenly reads plenty. This is from a lack of development on the author's part, having written herself to a place she couldn't get out of. Overall, the back jacket of the book wooed me, but the book did not come close to living up to it's expectations. It feels as if information was inserted here and there without any pointed direction on the author's part.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Trying too hard

    It's rare for me to become frustrated within the first 30 pages of a book. The author was trying so hard to sound intelligent with over the top description. What point is there if I can't hear the story through all the words? I love any western, but this wasn't my cup of tea.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    great story, use of language

    Don't confuse this with the American YA series "Outlander." This is by a Canadian author who writes carefully and with poise. Certain facts like what year is it? what is heroine running from - are revealed slowly, later, so you have to be patient - it's truly worth it. I couldn't put it down. I loved the ending. Go Gil Adamson.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    If you have the intelligence to understand and appreciate highly complex characters accompanied by accurate historical settings, this book will keep you enthralled to the end. I only wish the author would write more books of this genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2010

    Worth reading...

    This book caught my interest from the beginning. It has a very unusual premise--a woman on the run. It kept me guessing--did she or didn't she kill her husband? If she did, was there a good reason for it? And, if there wasn't a good reason, will I be sorry that I rooted for her? And, what does that say about me? The book is peopled by very interesting characters. The author created an atmosphere that felt authentic, and I would definitely read more by her.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2010

    started out strong

    This story started out very strong & intriguing. Toward the middle it started to sag and I finally skipped to the last chapter to see how it ended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    I loved this book

    fascinating page turner, mentally unstable woman on the run manages to survive against the odds in the wilderness of the Canadian Rockies, with luck & the kindness of strangers, and inner strength, in spite of depression (the cause of which is obvious before the end of the book). and the ending is a surprise.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    A beautiful imagining. As I discovered the reason the widow, Mar

    A beautiful imagining. As I discovered the reason the widow, Mary, killed her husband, I became caught up in her cause and even though she left a man dead, I felt for her. I came to understand the power of the author, Gil Adamson, in convincing this reader of a murderer's goodness and will to live. I learned a great deal about the work conditions and the deprivation of 1903 western miners who had no union, few rights and despite tremendous hardship survived because of many life-saving friendships, enduring love that never dies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    Great book, Need the next one. This was not a closing!! Gil Ada

    Great book, Need the next one. This was not a closing!! Gil Adamson Please please pen the Sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 56 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3