Customer Reviews for

The Outlander

Average Rating 4
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

an excellent historical thriller

In 1903, nineteen years old Mary Boulton calmly grabs her husband┬┐s rifle and fires killing him. The widow knows she cannot hang around not because she fears the law, but her abusive brother in laws would enact vengeance in their vicious style.----------------- Mary...
In 1903, nineteen years old Mary Boulton calmly grabs her husband┬┐s rifle and fires killing him. The widow knows she cannot hang around not because she fears the law, but her abusive brother in laws would enact vengeance in their vicious style.----------------- Mary flees across wintry isolated Idaho and Montana while knowing in her composed gut they pursue her. On her trek, she reflects on her unhappy but thankfully short marriage exacerbated by the dead child. As her deep depression enables her to remain eerily unruffled, she meets people along the way. First there is the Frontiersman who admits creeping civilization makes him depressingly feel like an anachronism then there is the Reverend who treats her like an adored daughter. There are others some not as kind towards the itinerant female especially after a mining disaster that the locals feel she caused by being there. However, the worst is coming as the brothers are nearing and the Reverend wants to change their relationship to that of more of equal partners.------------- An allegory of a way of life that seems all but vanished, THE OUTLANDER is an excellent historical thriller starring a strong support cast, a spirited lead female, and a vivid picturesque setting. Readers anticipate High Noon is coming, but it is the trip to the final showdown that makes for a deep look at early twentieth century America in a remote part of the northwest.---------------- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good book club selection

The first part of the book was harder for me to get into, even though the book starts out suspenseful. After the first 4-5 chapters, I thought the story built up really well and then I could not put it down. Really interesting snapshot of the time period, wilderness a...
The first part of the book was harder for me to get into, even though the book starts out suspenseful. After the first 4-5 chapters, I thought the story built up really well and then I could not put it down. Really interesting snapshot of the time period, wilderness and mountain settlements.
Very interesting characters and the choices they make. I think it would make for a good book club discussion.
I think this would also make an interesting film.......

posted by coffee_luvr on October 26, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    an excellent historical thriller

    In 1903, nineteen years old Mary Boulton calmly grabs her husband¿s rifle and fires killing him. The widow knows she cannot hang around not because she fears the law, but her abusive brother in laws would enact vengeance in their vicious style.----------------- Mary flees across wintry isolated Idaho and Montana while knowing in her composed gut they pursue her. On her trek, she reflects on her unhappy but thankfully short marriage exacerbated by the dead child. As her deep depression enables her to remain eerily unruffled, she meets people along the way. First there is the Frontiersman who admits creeping civilization makes him depressingly feel like an anachronism then there is the Reverend who treats her like an adored daughter. There are others some not as kind towards the itinerant female especially after a mining disaster that the locals feel she caused by being there. However, the worst is coming as the brothers are nearing and the Reverend wants to change their relationship to that of more of equal partners.------------- An allegory of a way of life that seems all but vanished, THE OUTLANDER is an excellent historical thriller starring a strong support cast, a spirited lead female, and a vivid picturesque setting. Readers anticipate High Noon is coming, but it is the trip to the final showdown that makes for a deep look at early twentieth century America in a remote part of the northwest.---------------- Harriet Klausner

    10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2008

    Fantastic-A must read

    I began reading on Saturday evening and read until I couldn't keep my eyes open. Finished it Sunday. I is honestly one of the best stories I have read. Keep on writing Gil.

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2009

    A new favorite!

    Without doubt, this is one of the best books I have read in a while. It will definatly be on my list of favorites! From the opening page it grabs you and keeps you hooked until the very end. The characters in this book are so well developed and the plot keeps you wondering what will happen next. I finished reading yesterday and hope to reread it very soon. As I was reading I couldn't help but think what a wonderful movie this book would make...maybe we will see it in theaters soon!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2009

    Pursuit!

    Great story of a woman on the run and her struggles in the great outdoors and inside her own mind.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    Adamson's First Novel Is a Winner!

    Not since I read The Shipping News has a novel so caught my attention. The descriptions of the mountain scenery are beautiful, as is her knowledge of how to survive in the wilderness. The author's descriptions of how Mary interacts with those she meets along the way show her developing strength and will to survive. Please, Gil Adamson, continue to write fiction!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    great story, use of language

    Don't confuse this with the American YA series "Outlander." This is by a Canadian author who writes carefully and with poise. Certain facts like what year is it? what is heroine running from - are revealed slowly, later, so you have to be patient - it's truly worth it. I couldn't put it down. I loved the ending. Go Gil Adamson.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    If you have the intelligence to understand and appreciate highly complex characters accompanied by accurate historical settings, this book will keep you enthralled to the end. I only wish the author would write more books of this genre.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    I loved this book

    fascinating page turner, mentally unstable woman on the run manages to survive against the odds in the wilderness of the Canadian Rockies, with luck & the kindness of strangers, and inner strength, in spite of depression (the cause of which is obvious before the end of the book). and the ending is a surprise.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    A beautiful imagining. As I discovered the reason the widow, Mar

    A beautiful imagining. As I discovered the reason the widow, Mary, killed her husband, I became caught up in her cause and even though she left a man dead, I felt for her. I came to understand the power of the author, Gil Adamson, in convincing this reader of a murderer's goodness and will to live. I learned a great deal about the work conditions and the deprivation of 1903 western miners who had no union, few rights and despite tremendous hardship survived because of many life-saving friendships, enduring love that never dies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 20, 2013

    Great book, Need the next one. This was not a closing!! Gil Ada

    Great book, Need the next one. This was not a closing!! Gil Adamson Please please pen the Sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    The Chase an Adventure Story

    Entertaining,adventure story probably more appealing to a female reader. The story offers unusual characters, realistic atmosphere, a substantial plot and place. Fine reading for a rainy day and a hot toddy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2